Close this search box.



Board Meeting

Joy Blankenship
Commission Chair

About the Commission Board

The Commission is comprised of nine (9) Commissioners appointed by the Governor of Arkansas. Each Commissioner is appointed to serve seven (7) year terms.

One (1) Commissioner is appointed from each of the four (4) Congressional Districts of the State and five (5) members of the Commission, including the consumer and the representative of the elderly, are appointed from the state at large. Four (4) members of the Commission are licensees or are qualified as licensees at the time of their appointment. Five (5) members of the Commission are appointed from the public at large, including the consumer representatives and the representative of the elderly.

No more than four (4) members of the Commission will be licensees under this chapter or have any financial interest in, or be an officer or an employee of, a licensee of this chapter, and at least one (1) of them will be licensed as a dealer of franchise motorcycles.

Commissioners appointed to the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission are:

Chair: Joy Blankenship, a consumer representative, Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Vice Chair:
Commissioners: Mr. Duane Neal, a consumer representative, Bentonville, AR
Mr. Jimmy Jones, a consumer representative, Fordyce, Arkansas
Mr. Clay Maxey, a dealer representative, Mountain Home, Arkansas
Vacant – consumer representative, Arkansas
Mr. Jerel Saeler, a consumer representative, Fordyce, Arkansas
Mr. Michael Johnson, a dealer representative, Russellville, Arkansas
Mr. Michael Moix, a dealer representative, Conway, Arkansas
Mr. Scott Wood, a dealer representative, Batesville, Arkansas

The Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission is a fully self supported government office. The revenue collected is not generated by General Revenue Funding, but by the license fees and any civil penalties that may be assessed. The Commission office is comprised of seven (7) employees. The Commission office is charged with the responsibility of issuing certificate of license to approximately 6,500 individuals or businesses. The license issued is subject to certain regulations and rules as well as certain business practices. The license is issued on an annual basis and may be suspended or revoked with due cause, after a proper administrative hearing has been conducted.