BEFORE THE ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
IN THE MATTER OF: H# 14-012
LAURA FOWLER
VS,

CRAIN HYUNDAI OF BENTONVILLE

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER

The Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission (hereinafter “Commission”) held a
hearing on November 19, 2014, to determine whether Crain Hyundai of Bentonville
(hereinafter “Crain”) violated the disclosure of damage prior to sale statute pursuant to
the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-101 et seq., and
Commission Rule 2 regarding hearings and appeals. The charge before the Commission
concerned whether Crain violated Commission statutes when they failed to disclose

damage prior to sale.

Laura Fowler and Kenny Fowler appeared and provided testimony as the
complainant.

Attorney Jamie Jones with Friday Eldredge Clark represented Crain as legal
counsel and testimony was heard from General Manager Stephen Hawkins.

Having heard testimony from the above refcrenced parties, Director Greg
Kirkpatrick, and having reviewed the exhibits admitted into evidence, the Commission
makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F1. Crain is located at 3000 SE Moberly Lane, Bentonville, AR 72712.



F2.  Mrs. Laura A. Fowler filed a notarized complaint with the Commission on May 1,

2014, alleging the following:

a. On November 29, 2013, Mrs. Laura A. Fowler visited Crain, purchased a
new 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport AWD for the cash price of $28,999.00,

and traded-in her 2012 Hyundai Tucson.

b. The new Hyundai Santa Fe was damaged prior to the sale to Ms. Fowler in
the amount estimated at $10,000 to $15,000.
c. This damage prior to sale by Crain was not disclosed.
F3.  On September 12, 2014, the Commission issued a Notice of Violation, AP# 14-
003, in which the Ad Hoc Committee recommended a fine of two thousand five
hundred dollars ($2,500.00). On September 18, 2014, Crain contested the

allegations set forth in the Notice of Violation.

F4.  Paragraphs F1 through F3 were established as true through testimony and

evidence.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Commission makes the following

Conclusions of Law:

Cl.  Motor vehicle dealers are required to conform their conduct to the Motor Vehicle
Commission Act, Ark. Code Act § 23-112-101, ef seq. and the Rules promulgated
by the Commission pursuant to Ark. Code Act § 23-112-204.

C2.  Failure to comply with any provision of the AMVC Act may lead to revocation or

suspension of the license as per Ark. Code Amn. § 23-112-308(a)(4). The



C3.

C4.

Commission may issue a monetary penalty in lieu of revocation or suspension as
per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-309.

In accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-706 (a), whenever a motor vehicle
is damaged after delivery to the dealer by the manufacturer or distributor but
before sale by the dealer to the consumer, and the occurrence and extent of such
damage is in excess of six percent (6%) of the sticker price of the vehicle, it must
be disclosed by the dealer to the consumer prior to the sale, and upon repair of the
damage sustained, or replacement of parts or accessories damaged, the dealer
must certify to the consumer that this motor vehicle has been repaired or
remanufactured according to the manufacturer's standards, and (b) upon such
certification, liability for any concealed damages then remaining with the motor
vehicle shall lie with the dealer.

Respondent Crain violated Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-706 when it failed to notify

Mrs. Fowler of the damages prior to sale.



ORDER

The Commission finds the violation of Commission statutes and rules by Crain
warrant a suspension of Respondent’s license for failure to comply with provisions of the
Commission Act and Rules promulgated by the Commission as per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-
112-308(a)(4).

The Commission finds that in lieu of a suspension of Crain’s license the public
interest would not be impaired and the payment of a penalty will achieve the desired
disciplinary result by issuing a monetary penalty against Crain in accordance with Ark.
Code Ann. § 23-112-309 in the amount of five hundred dollars ($500.00) per day for five
(5) days for an aggregate amount of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500.00).

This is a final Order of the Commission and as such is subject to judicial review

pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-212.
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