State of Arkansas
CONTRACTORS LICENSING
BOARD

Residential Remodeler
New Application

$50.00 Filing Fee - NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE
MAIL TO:

CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD
4100 RICHARDS ROAD

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117
Main Phone Number (501) 372-4661
Web Site: www.arkansas.gov/clb

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS (pages 3 & 4)
BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Effective Date 02/2024 (Resid Remodeler New App) 1.



RESIDENTIAL REMODELER

NEW APPLICATION
TYPE OF LICENSE

You can apply for a Limited license or an Unlimited license.

With a Limited license you can ONLY do residential home improvement projects that are less
than $50,000, including, but not limited to, labor and material.

With an Unlimited license you can do residential home improvement projects of any size.

Please v the box for the license being applied for....

Limited License
(Limited license means you can ONLY do residential

home improvement projects that are less than $50,000
including, but not limited to, labor and material.

See page 3 for instructions)

Unlimited License

(Unlimited license means you can do residential home
improvement projects of any size.

See page 4 for instructions)
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Limited
Residential Remodeler
Instructions/Checklist

The completed application must be in this office three (3) weeks prior to a committee meeting to
be reviewed. For a list of meeting dates, check our website at www.arkansas.gov/clb. Once the
application is received in our office, it must be complete by 90 days. After 90 days, another
application and filing fee, etc. will be required.

If applying for a Commercial or Residential Builders contractor license: STOP HERE!!
Download the Commercial New Application or the Residential Builders New
Application and follow the instructions. The web address is:
www.arkansas.gov/clb.

-_—

Complete the Application- Pages 2, 5, 9, 10 (if applicable), 11, and 12.

2. $50.00 filing fee made payable to the Contractors Licensing Board. (NON-REFUNDABLE /
NON-TRANSFERABLE)

3. Three (3) references on forms provided (pages 6, 7, and 8). The references should not be
from a supplier or banker unless they have observed your work and can describe it. The
references must show two (2) years appropriate experience in construction. The
experience must justify the issuance of a Residential Remodeler’s license. THE
INDIVIDUALS GIVING THE REFERENCES, NOT THE PERSON APPLYING FOR THE
LICENSE, MUST COMPLETE THE REFERENCE FORMS. We cannot accept
references that are more than 90 days old.

4, Copy of the Arkansas Business and Law passing test score. Please refer to page 13 & 14
for more information about the test. The license can be approved but not released
without this passing test score unless the same entity currently has a license with
our office.

5. If applying as a Corporation, LLC, LP, or LLP, attach a copy of the Articles/Filings from the

entity’s Secretary of State’s Office. If a fictitious name has been registered for this
company, attach a copy of the fictitious name registration.
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UNLIMITED
RESIDENTIAL REMODELER

Instructions/Checklist

The completed application must be in this office three (3) weeks prior to a committee meeting to
be reviewed. For a list of meeting dates, check our website at www.arkansas.gov/clb. Once the
application is received in our office, it must be complete by 90 days. After 90 days, another
application and filing fee, etc. will be required.

If applying for a Commercial or Residential Builders contractor license: STOP HERE!! pownload
the Commercial New Application or the Residential Builders New Application and follow the
instructions. The web address is: ww.arkansas.gov/clb

—_

Complete the Application- Pages 2, 5, 9, 10 (if applicable), 11, and 12.

2. $50.00 filing fee made payable to the Contractors Licensing Board. (NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-
TRANSFERABLE)
3. Three (3) references on forms provided (pages 6, 7, and 8). The references should not be from a

supplier or banker unless they have observed your work and can describe it. The references
must show two (2) years appropriate experience in construction. The experience must
justify the issuance of a Residential Remodeler’s license. THE INDIVIDUALS GIVING THE
REFERENCES, NOT THE PERSON APPLYING FOR THE LICENSE, MUST COMPLETE THE
REFERENCE FORMS. We cannot accept references that are more than 90 days old.

4, Copy of the Arkansas Business and Law passing test score. Please refer to page 13 & 14 for more
information about the test. The license can be approved but not released without this passing
test score unless the same entity currently has a license with our office.

5. CURRENT compiled balance sheet less than one (1) year old. A blank balance sheet can be
printed off at www.arkansas.gov/clb; Forms; Balance Sheet. The balance sheet must be in the
name of the applicant obtaining the license. Only Sole Proprietorships can submit a personal
balance sheet, excluding your personal residence and any retirement accounts includes stocks
and bonds and cash value of life insurance. All balance sheet statements must show POSITIVE
NET WORTH. A Schedule L from your corporation tax return may also be used. (No other tax
forms will be accepted other than the Schedule L). DO NOT SEND INCOME STATEMENTS.

6. If applying as a Corporation, LLC, LP, or LLP, attach a copy of the Articles/Filings from your entity’s
Secretary of State’s Office. If a fictitious name has been registered for this company, attach a copy
of the fictitious name registration.

7. If the applicant has one or more employees: You must have Worker's Compensation insurance
coverage. Provide us with a current certificate of insurance verifying Worker's Compensation
insurance coverage. The license can be approved but not released without this Worker’s
Compensation insurance certificate unless the same entity currently has a lower-class
license.
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Do not write in this space - CLB OFFICAL USE ONLY

Filing Fee: $ ID#:
Type of License: [ ] Limited [ Unlimited

RESIDENTIAL REMODELER
New Application

PRINT NAME OF COMPANY OR NAME (IF APPLYING AS A SOLE PROPERIORSHIP) AS YOU
WISH FOR IT TO APPEAR ON LICENSE. IF APPLYING AS A CORPORATION, LLC, ORLLP,IT
MUST READ EXACTLY AS REGISTERED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OFFICE.
APPLICANTS MUST CONDUCT / CONTRACT BUSINESS UNDER THE EXACT NAME SHOWN
UPON THE LICENSE.

ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS

Indicate the type of entity seeking a license by circling one of the choices below:
SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP CORPORATION LLC PARTNERSHIP LP LLP

List Corporation Name, LLC Name, Partnership Name, LP Name, LLP Name, or Sole Proprietorship

Name as applying for License:

IF Applicable, list Fictitious Name / D/B/A Name:

List the Federal ID#/ EIN

Mailing Address City
State Zip Code County/Parish
Company Phone Fax

E-mail Address

Name and Phone # for person to Contact with any Questions regarding this application request:

Complete the following with information for the person that will take or has taken the
Business & Law Exam

Name Social Security #

How long has this individual been with this company?
Position held with this company, check one: Sole Owner
Full time paid employee
Officer, member, or partner of the company and is
actively involved in the day-to-day operations
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Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72117
Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor’s License,
must complete this form and complete it legibly. )

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application (GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS)
THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY
WORK EXPERIENCE, NOT CREDIT HISTORY.

1. Yes ___ No___ Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees?
If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. STOP!!!

2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are
verifying work experience for:

3. To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work
listed in this reference?

4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)

5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of
the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).

6. Yes ___ No___ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes,
explain.

7. In your own words describe this company or individual’s overall performance and ability to meet the customers’

needs.

8. Yes___ No__ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please
explain.

9. Yes___ No___ Areyou aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials,

failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, | swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any
attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)

Signature

Date

Phone No.
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Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72117
Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor’s License,
must complete this form and complete it legibly. )

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application (GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS)
THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY
WORK EXPERIENCE, NOT CREDIT HISTORY.

1. Yes ___ No___ Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees?
If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. STOP!!!

2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are
verifying work experience for:

3. To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work
listed in this reference?

4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)

5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of
the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).

6. Yes ___ No___ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes,
explain.

7. In your own words describe this company or individual’s overall performance and ability to meet the customers’

needs.

8. Yes___ No__ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please
explain.

9. Yes___ No___ Areyou aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials,

failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, | swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any
attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)

Signature

Date

Phone No.
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Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72117
Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor’s License,
must complete this form and complete it legibly. )

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application (GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS)
THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY
WORK EXPERIENCE, NOT CREDIT HISTORY.

1. Yes ___ No___ Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees?
If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. STOP!!!

2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are
verifying work experience for:

3. To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work
listed in this reference?

4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)

5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please
state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of
the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).

6. Yes ___ No___ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes,
explain.

7. In your own words describe this company or individual’s overall performance and ability to meet the customers’

needs.

8. Yes___ No__ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please
explain.

9. Yes___ No___ Areyou aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials,

failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, | swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any
attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)

Signature

Date

Phone No.
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APPLICANT INFORMATION

Note: For the following questions 1-17, You/Your means, this organization, any officer, the
qualifier of this company, you, or anyone who owns 10% or more of the entity.

Yes No 1. Have you ever had a contractor license or been associated with a contractor license in this state or any

other state? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach separately a list of those that apply.

Yes___ No___ 2. Do you knowingly employ any individual(s), or hire workers as independent contractors, who do not have
legal authority to work in the United States of America? (See definition of you above)

Yes___ No___ 3. Areyou legally authorized to work in the United States of America? (See definition of you above)

Yes___ No___ 4. Do you understand that the failure to comply with the Federal law on the hiring, as employees or as
subcontractors of workers without legal authority to work in the United States of America can lead to the
revocation of the contractor license in the State of Arkansas? (See definition of you above)

Yes____ No___ 5. Does this applicant have one or more employees?

Yes____ No___ 6. Does the applicant have Workers Compensation Insurance?

Answering yes to any of the following questions WILL NOT AUTOMATICALLY
DISQUALITY you for a contractor license.

Yes___ No___ 7. Have you, or any construction related entity in which you were an investor, partner, officer, ever failed to

complete a project awarded to you? If yes, attach separately a statement of circumstance, the name of
the individual, other organization, and reason for failure.

Yes No___ 8. Have you filed bankruptcy or were you a part of any other organization that has filed bankruptcy within the

last ten (10) years? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach a written explanation as to why
bankruptcy had to be filed, along with a copy of the document prepared by your attorney listing the
creditors that shows the amounts owed to each creditor and a copy of the bankruptcy discharge.

Yes No___ 9. Have you ever pleaded guilty, no contest, nolo contendere, been convicted, found guilty, or been sentenced

Yes_  No___
Yes__ No____

Yes No__

10.

11.

12.

for any felony or misdemeanor, other than traffic violations? (See definition of you above) If yes,
complete the Criminal Background Information form (page 10) for each offense.

Are you required to register on the sex offender registry in this state or any other state? (See definition of
you above) If yes, please attach separately a written explanation as to what occurred and when this
occurred.

Do you or any construction related entity in which you own 10% or more, have any outstanding liens,
judgments, or pending litigation? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach separately details and an
explanation.

Have you ever had a license revoked or suspended, been penalized, or disciplined, by the Arkansas
Contractors Licensing Board, the Arkansas Residential Committee, or any other state? (See definition of
you above) If yes, attach separately details and an explanation.

Yes_  No___
Yes__ No____
Yes__ No____
Yes_  No___

Yes No__

ONLY COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS IF APPLYING AS A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP

13

14.

15.

16.

17.

. Are you on Active Duty in the United States Military?
Is your spouse on Active Duty in the United States Military?
Are you a former member of the United States Military who has NOT been dishonorably discharged?

Is your spouse a former member of the United States Military who has NOT been dishonorably
discharged?

If you answered yes to questions 13, 14, 15, or 16, do you hold a current state contractor license (not
registration) issued by another state? If yes, provide a copy of your current contractor license issued by
another State. If yes, you do not have to take the Arkansas Business and Law exam and you do not have
to submit reference forms (pages 6, 7 and 8 of this application) to obtain a license with same classification
as you have in the other State.
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Complete this form ONLY if yves was answered to question #9 on page 9........

Criminal Background Information

State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

IN CASES OF MULTIPLE OFFENSES, MAKE A COPY OF THIS FORM TO SHOW
INFORMATION FOR EACH OFFENSE......

1. Offender’s legal name:

2. Offender’s SSN:

3. The crime in question:

4. The date of the conviction:

5. The jurisdiction (State, County, and City):

6. The sentence:

7. If you were incarcerated, the date of your release:

8. If you were placed on probation or parole, the date of release from probation or parole:
9. Has the offense been sealed by the Court, pardoned, or expunged? If so, which one?:
10. Written explanation as to what occurred:
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Corporation, LLC Partnership, LP, LLP,
or Sole Proprietorship Data

If applying as a Sole Proprietorship, list full name (w/ middle initial):

Individual SSN

If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, you may qualify for an initial fee waiver under the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021. To see
if you qualify visit our website at www.arkansas.gov/clb. Click on the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021 link to see the list of waiver requirements
and waiver form. If you do qualify, please complete the form and return it with your completed application packet.

Date the Company registered with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office (501-682-3409):

Please list full name (w/ middle initial) of the following:

President SSN
Vice-President SSN
Secretary SSN
Treasurer SSN
FOR ALL:

List anyone who owns 10% or more interest in the entity requesting a license.
= If an individual, please print the full legal name and their SSN.
= |f a corporation or LLC, please list the legal company/LLC name and the Federal ID#.

Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
Name SSN
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AFFIDAVIT FOR COMPANY

(Corporation, LLC, Partnership, LP, LLP, Sole Proprietorship)

l, , being duly sworn/affirmed, state under oath:
(Name of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor)

That | am of
(Position held) (Company Name, If Applicable)

Further, that the foregoing statement of experience and all statements contained within this application,
including attachments are true and correct; Further, that | am familiar with the books and records of the
above mentioned company showing its financial condition; that the financial statement(s) and any
accompanying financial data attached hereto (or submitted separately) are taken from the books and
records of said company and form a true and accurate statement of the financial condition of said
company as of the date shown; Further, that the foregoing statements of experience and financial
condition are submitted to the Contractors Licensing Board or the Residential Contractors Committee for
the express purpose of inducing the Board or Committee to license the applicant as a contractor in the
State of Arkansas, and that any depository, vendor or state agency is hereby authorized to supply such
Board or Committee with any information necessary to verify these statements. Any agency of the State
of Arkansas is authorized to release to the Contractors Licensing Board, or its representative, or the
Residential Contractors Committee, or its representative, any information necessary to show proper
compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-101 et seq., or A.C.A. § 17-25-501 et seq., including the obtaining and
reviewing of a criminal background check.

(Signature of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor)
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Arkansas Business & Law Test
(Instructions)

The test is given by an independent testing company (P.S.I). If you have questions about the test or need more
information beyond what is furnished here, please call them at 855-257-1620.

Examination Fee: $84.00

Examination fees are not refundable or transferable

Registration Instructions:

By Phone: P.S.I. at 1-855-257-1620
Payment methods: VISA, Mastercard, American Express or Discover
Schedule the following: Arkansas Contractor Business and Law Exam
Registering Online: https://test-takers.psiexams.com/arconst
Follow these instructions:
1. Go to the above website.
2. Click on Tests
3. You will be asked to select the examination.
a. Select the following: _AR Business and Law Examination (Onsite -Test Center)
b. Click on Login/Register
c. Click on Create Account if you need to register, otherwise sign in if you are already registered.
d. After registered, click on Login.
**Make sure when registering you use the EXACT information you will have on your photo ID
the day of taking your test.
e. Click on Continue Booking
f.  Enter all required information and click NEXT
g. Enter information to find your nearest test center and click Find
h. Click on the testing facility you wish to test at
i.  Click Date & time you wish to test and click NEXT
j-  Enter payment information and click continue
3. Testing is held Monday - Saturday at most sites. Hours are determined at each site.
4. The test is open book, multiple choice, and 50 questions, with a 2-hour time limit.
5. You can order the book by calling the publisher directly at (623) 587-9519.
Order the following:
Arkansas Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management
6. You may highlight, underline, annotate, and or tab with permanent tabs prior to the exam session.
However, reference material may not be written in during the exam session.
7. Permanent tabs are permitted.
(Permanent tabs are defined as tabs that would tear the page if removed)
8. Temporary tabs are NOT permitted.
(Temporary tabs are defined as post-it notes or other tabs that may be removed without tearing the page)
9. Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination should request

for alternative arrangements by calling P.S.I at 855-257-1620.

10. On the day of your examination, you must arrive at the P.S.I. Center 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment to
complete the admission procedures required before your test begins. You must bring the following  with you: One
official government issued photo identification such as a driver’s license, passport, etc., and your Contractors Guide to
Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition.

PLEASE BE ADVISED:

a) You will only be tested from the Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition.
b) Verify your exam before you take the test to make sure it is the

_AR Business and Law Examination (Onsite -Test Center)

¢) P.S.I will give you your results immediately. You can also have P.S.I. send the results directly to you. It is your
responsible to get the passing test score to our office by fax 501-372-2247 or regular mail. If you request your
results be sent to our offices it could take several weeks to get to us, which could postpone the approval and release of
your license.
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NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF STATE
CONTRACTORS LICENSING AGENCIES

NASCLACONTRACTORS GUIDE TO BUSINESS,LAW AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT,ARKANSAS EDITION
ORDER FORM

To order a copy of the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition, Tabs Bundle
Pak, you can visit the NASCLA website bookstore at www.nascla.org. You can also order by mailing a copy of this order form
to the address below with credit card information.

NASCLA
23309 N. 17t Drive, Suite 110
Phoenix, Arizona 85027
Phone (623) 587-9354 Fax (623) 587-9625 or
Online @ www.nascla.org

The NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Tabs Bundle Pak offers our permanent reference
tabs that will help you navigate quickly through this publication. Please note that these tabs are self-adhesive and must be
added at least one day prior for sufficient adhesive power.

SHIP TO:

Name

Company

Mailing Address

City State Zip

Telephone ( ) - Fax ( ) -

Email Address

METHOD OF PAYMENT (Due to possible added sales tax, checks are not accepted):
[0 Visa[d MasterCard [l American Express [ Discover

Card Number Exp. Date / cvc
Name on Card Signature
PLEASE SEND:
Copy(ies) of the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business,
Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition Tabs Bundle Pak @ $87.99 S
Copy(ies) of the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business,
Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition (book only) @ $78.00 S

SHIPPING & HANDLING:
$ 15.95 USPS for one book ($6.00 for each additional book) S

SALES TAX: Additional State Sales Tax Rates could apply.
TOTAL S
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