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224-25-1 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION

(@)  All Contractors licenses or Registrations will be issued under the name and
address listed on the front of the application form. The use of any other name may
constitute a violation. It is the responsibility of the contractor to inform the Contractors
Licensing Board in writing of any name, address, ownership or any other change
relating to said license or Registration within 15 days of such change.

(b)(1) All applications for a Contractors license or Registration in the State of Arkansas
must be filed as either: (1) individual, (2) partnership, (3) corporation, (4) limited liability
company or (5) any other business organization recognized by the Arkansas Secretary
of State’s Office.

(2) Each application for a license must be supported by a qualifying party, who has
satisfactorily completed such examination as may be required by the Board, prior to
being issued a license to engage in contracting in the State of Arkansas. Anyone failing
to pass such examination may be re-examined at any regular examination period, upon
payment of proper fee. Should the qualifying party (business and law or trade) leave a
licensed entity, written notice shall be given within fifteen (15) days to the Contractors
Licensing Board. The notice shall state the name and position of the individual leaving
and the name and position of the individual who will replace the departing qualifier. The
replacement qualifier must be fully qualified within thirty (30) days of the departure of
the previous qualifier. Any license not renewed within two years of expiration shall be
required to re-qualify by examination process, as may be required at the time.

224-25-2 LICENSE OR REGISTRATION EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration. All licenses_and registrations to engage in the business of contracting
in the State of Arkansas shall expire at midnight of the date of its expiration. However,
a license or registration held by an active duty service person, or their spouse, who is
on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following
their return to the State.

(b) Renewal.

(1 Renewal notices will be mailed approximately 60 days prior to the expiration of a
license or registration. However, it shall be the responsibility of the holder of the
Contractors License or registration to renew said license or registration. Failure to
receive a renewal notice shall not excuse the failure to timely renew. A renewal
application will be considered timely filed if a completed application is received by the
Board by the expiration date.




(2) License renewal Renewal applications received by the Board prior to the
expiration date of the license shall be accompanied by a renewal fee of $50.00 and the
licensee may continue to use the license until the next meeting of the Board following
the expiration date of the license.

(3) License renewal Renewal applications received within thirty (30) days of the
expiration of the license shall be accompanied by a $100.00 renewal fee. Upon the
receipt of the application the license shall be deemed to be reinstated until the Board
has met and acted upon the renewal. The reinstatement of a license does not reinstate
the license for the time period between the expiration of the license and the receipt of
the application by the Board.

(4)  Any license renewal application received more than thirty (30) days after the
expiration of the license shall be accompanied by a $100.00 fee and may be reviewed
by the Board at its next available meeting. The applicant shall not have a valid license
until said application is approved by the Board. A license may be renewed up until two
(2) years after its expiration date. Any license expired two (2) years or more may apply
for reinstatement.

(5) Any license renewal application not meeting the requirements of the Board at its’
initial review, but being placed in an “improve status” will constitute an extension of the
existing license until the next available board meeting, at which time the license will
expire if a new license is not issued unless it is again placed in “improve” status.

224-25-3 LICENSE AND REGISTRATION APPLICATIONS

Any application not complete within ninety (90) days after original receipt in our office
will become invalid. Any application not passing the Board’s review will be considered
invalid after ninety (90) days from the date of its original review. During the ninety (90)
day period the applicant may have the opportunity to make corrections or improvements
needed in the application in order to warrant the issuance of a license or registration.
After an application becomes invalid a new application and fee must be submitted for
consideration to obtain a Contractors License or registration.

224-25-5 CLASSIFICATION & EXPERIENCE

(h)  Any contractor holding a specialty classification for which a license or permit is
required by another licensing or permitting authority, must hold the necessary license or
permit in order to receive a license or registration from the Board.

224-25-7 BIDDING & CLASSIFICATION

(b)  Any project being advertised for bid in the State of Arkansas for construction,
erection, alteration, or repair of any building or any other structure, must be bid by a
licensed prime contractor. However, if the Electrical and Mechanical classification,



considered together, or any other licensed classification specialty, considered by itself,
should constitute 80% or more of the total project, the holder of that classification may
bid as a prime contractor on the project. A prime Contractor accepts full responsibility
for any project except as may be written in the contract with owner.

(e) A Contractor holding the Building classification may enter into general contracts
for building construction including all specialty items required in the contract to make the
building usable for the purpose intended and may perform these items with his own
forces, if qualified, or may sublet such work to qualified specialty contractors skilled in
the particular fields involved. It is the specific responsibility of the prime general
contractor to furnish the skills required for the proper performance of all the work
included in the contract.

224-25-8 COMPLAINTS & INVESTIGATIONS

(@ The purpose of the complaints procedure is to effectively deal with issues
effecting the licensure or registration of Contractors. The complaints procedure is not
intended to function as a dispute resolution process or a code enforcement process.
Any complaint registered with the Contractors Licensing Board of alleged violations
must be submitted in writing with proper information to identify job site, owner if
possible, any name and phone numbers of individuals and any other information that
may tend to be useful in the investigation. The Complainant must furnish his/their
name, address and phone number in order to obtain any other information that may be
necessary for proper investigation. A written response will be made to a Complainant
when investigation is closed if so requested in writing.

(b) A contractor who is licensed or registered shall cooperate with any investigation
and provide the Board with all relevant information requested by the Board. The failure
to cooperate or to timely provide the Board with relevant information as requested may
constitute misconduct in the conduct of the contractors business and may subject the
contractor to the revocation of the contractors license or registration.

(c) The Contractors Licensing Board may delegate to the administrator/investigator
the authority to obtain contractor compliance as may be necessary. The
administrator/investigator will conduct all investigations in such a manner that would be
complimentary to the Licensing and Registration Law for Contractors.

224-25-13 REGISTRATION

(a) Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-102, a contractor may register with the
Board. The contractor shall complete the form required by the Board and submit the
appropriate fee. A contractor may reqgister for any of the specialty classifications listed
in Rule 6(i). The contractor must certify its competence and financial ability to perform
the functions for which it is reqistering.




(b) The Registration fee, for both original and renewal, shall be one hundred dollars

($100).
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224-25-6 FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

(a)(1) Except as provided in subsection (e), all All applications for an Unrestricted
license must contain an audited or reviewed financial statement of the applicant’s year
end or more current, and prepared on the GAAP or accrual income tax basis, of the
company, an audited Opinion Letter or Review report from an Independent CPA or
RPA.

(e)(1) A bond in lieu of a financial statement, as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. §
17-25-304(c), may be filed by a contractor seeking a license. The bond shall be made
by surety companies which have qualified and are authorized to do business in the
State of Arkansas. The bonds shall be executed by a resident or nonresident agent,
broker or producer licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Commissioner to represent the
surety company executing the bond and shall file with the bond the agent's, broker’s or
producer’s power of attorney to demonstrate his authority.

(2) The bond shall be on the form provided by the Contractors Licensing Board.
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224-25-5 CLASSIFICATION & EXPERIENCE

maert— A Ilcensed Cenora Contractor may perform Constructlon Management W|th|n
the scope of the license held. in-itsrespective—market: All-other—classifications—are

considered-to-be-subcontracters: A contractor considered-to-be-a-General-Contractor
shall maintain proper personnel, financial ability and facility to perform forthe-owner the
coordination, development and management expertise required for the entire project
being performed or managed by the contractor.

224-25-9 HEARINGS & APPEALS
(b)  Appeals from decisions of the Residential Building Contractors Committee:
(1)  Appeals from decisions of the Residential Building Contractors Committee to the

Board shall be in writing and filed with the Board within 10 calendar days of the date the
decision was served upon the respondent.
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224-25-5-2 LICENSE EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration. All licenses to engage in the business of contracting in the State of
Arkansas shaII explre at mldnlght of the date of its explratlon Hewearer—a—heense—held

224-25-5-5 INACTIVE STATUS

A holder of a license may choose to become inactive in the State of Arkansas at the time
of any renewal. A license holder who is inactive may not bid on any contract, pull any
permit, nor perform any work for which a license is required. A license holder who elects
inactive status must pay all renewal fees, but is not required to submit financial information
to the Committee. A license holder who is on inactive status may reactivate its license by
making a request to the Committee and providing all necessary information required to

renew as an active license holder Arheeﬂse—heldeHnay—rem‘Waaefwe—sta%us—iepa

224-25-5-15 UNIFORM SERVICE MEMBERS, UNIFORMED SERVICE VETERANS
AND THEIR SPOUSES

(a) All applications submitted by Uniformed Service Members, Uniformed Service
Veterans, and their spouses shall be expedited.

(b) A ninety (90) day temporary license shall be issued upon the receipt of an application
and application fee submitted by a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service
Veteran or their spouse if the applicant holds in good standing a license from another
jurisdiction with a similar scope of practice. The temporary license may be extended as
necessary upon the showing of good cause by the applicant.

(c) Any applicant who is a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their
spouse and the applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction with

a similar scope of practice shall not be required to demonstrate experience or be required
to take the examination required by Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-25-509.

(d) A license or registration held by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who is on
deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180 days following their
return to the State.




(e) A license or registration held in inactive status by a Uniform Service Member or their
spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until 180
days following their return to the State.
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224-25-5-9. CLASSIFICATIONS

(d) CLASSIFICATIONS AND SPECIALTIES - A contractor holding a classification
may perform any of the functions listed under that classification. Performing work not
listed under that classification may constitute a violation.

(3)  SPECIALTIES (Specific)

A contractor may obtain one or more of the Specialty Classifications by proper
qualifications shown. The list of those Specialty Classifications Is:

SPECIALTIES

Awnings, Canopies & Gutters
Base & Paving

a. Base Construction
b. Hot & Cold Mixes
c. Surface Treatment
d. Asphailt

e. Concrete Paving
Boat Docks

Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets

Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments

Central Vacuum Systems

Chimneys, Fireplaces

Communication, Computer or Sound Systems, Cabling

Concrete

Demolition

Detached Garage, Storage Building, Detached Structures, Metal Buildings

Drywall

Fencing, Gates

Floors, Floor Covering

Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization

Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows

Grading & Drainage (Includes Grading, Drainage, Pipe & Structures, Culverts, Clearing,
Grubbing & Rip Rap), Excavation

Greenhouses and Sunrooms

Insulation

Kitchen and Bathroom Renovations

Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinklers, Streams

Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS

Masonry

Metal Studs, Walls




Overhead Doors
Painting, Wallcovering
Rebar

Retaining Walls

Siding, Soffit, Fascia, Gutters

Skylights

Solar Systems

Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing
Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding
Storm Shelters

Swimming Pools, Spas

Tile, Terrazzo, Marble, Countertops

224-25-6-1. ISSUANCE OF REGISTRATION

(a) All registrations will be issued under the name and address listed on the front of
the application form. The use of any other name may constitute a violation. It is the
responsibility of the registrant to inform the Committee in writing of any name, address,
ownership or any other change relating to said registration within 15 days of such change.

(b) _All applications for a Registration must be filed as either: (1) individual, (2)
partnership, (3) corporation, (4) limited liability company or (5) any other business
organization recognized by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office.

224-25-6-2. REGISTRATION EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration. All registrations shall expire at midnight of the date of its expiration.

(b) Renewal. Any renewal application not meeting the requirements of the Committee
at its initial review, but being placed in an "improve status" will constitute an extension of
the existing registration until the next available Committee meeting, at which time the
registration will expire if a new registration is not issued.

224-25-6-3. REGISTRATION APPLICATIONS

(a) Any registration application not complete within ninety (90) days after original
receipt by the Committee will become invalid. Any registration not passing the
Committee's review will be considered invalid after ninety (90) days from the date of its
original review. During the ninety (90) day period, the applicant may make corrections or
improvements needed in the application in order to warrant the issuance of a registration.
After an application becomes invalid a new application and fee must be submitted for
consideration to obtain a registration.




(b)(1) A potential applicant for a registration with a criminal record may petition the Committee
atany time for a determination of whether the individual's criminal record will disqualify person
or entity from registration and whether he or she will be granted a waiver under Ark. Code
Ann. § 17-3-102(b).

(2) The Committee will respond with a decision in writing after the next scheduled
Committee meeting following the submission of the completed form.

(3) The Committee's response will state the reason(s) for the decision.

(4) __ All decisions of the Committee in response to the petition will pidetermined
by the information provided by the applicant.

(5) Any decision made by the Committee in response to a pre-licensure
criminal background check petition is not subject to appeal.

(6) The Committee will retain a copy of the petition and response and it will be
reviewed during the formal application process.

(c)(1) At the time of registration application, an applicant shall complete the criminal
back ground history form contained within the application.

(2) If the applicant shall have been found guilty or pleaded quilty or nolo contendere to
any offense that would disqualify the applicant for licensure under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-
102 or Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-507(c) the applicant may request a waiver under Ark. Code
Ann. § 17-3-102

(3) __The applicant may also submit a written statement addressing the request for
a waiver under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-102.

(4) The Committee may grant a waiver upon consideration of the following, without
limitation:

A The age at which the offense was committed:

B The circumstances surrounding the offense:

C The length of time since the offense was committed:

D. Subsequent work history since the offense was committed:
E. Employment references since the offense was committed:
F
G
H.

Character references since the offense was committed:

Relevance of the offense to the occupational reqgistration; and

Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the applicant does not pose a
threat to the health or safety of the public.

(8) A request for a waiver, if made by an applicant, must be in writing and accompany
the completed application and fees.




(6) The Committee will respond with a decision in writing after the next scheduled
Committee meeting following the submission of the completed form.

(7) __An appeal of a determination under this section will be pursuant to Ark. Code Ann.

§17-25-511.

(8) The Committee may request the applicant to appear before the Committee prior to
making a determination.

224-25-6-4. REGISTRATION FEES

New and renewal registration fees shall be Twenty Dollars ($20.00). This fee is non-refundable.

224-25-6-5. Bond

All bonds required to be filed with the Committee pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-601
et seq. shall be made by surety companies which have qualified and are authorized to do
business in the State of Arkansas. The bonds shall be executed by a resident or
nonresident agent, broker or producer licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Commissioner
to represent the surety company executing the bond and shall file with the bond the
agent's, broker’s or producer’s power of attorney to demonstrate his authority. The bond
shall be issued on a form approved by the Committee.




Rule Change for Criminal Background Check — Acts 748,762 and 826
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224-25-5-3. LICENSE APPLICATIONS

(c)(1) At the time of application, an applicant shall complete the criminal back ground
history form contained within the application.

(2) If the applicant shall have been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to
any offense that would disqualify the applicant for licensure under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-2-
102 or Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-507(c) the applicant may request a waiver under Ark. Code
Ann. § 17-3-102, except-those-permanently-disqualifying-offenses-found-in-Ark—Code-Ann-§
17-3-102(e)-




Rule For Act 725 of 2021
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224-25-5-16

(a) An applicant may receive a waiver of the initial licensure fee, if eligible. Eligible
applicants are applicants who:

(1) Are applving as a Sole Proprietor; and

(2) Are receiving assistance through the Arkansas, or current state of residence equivalent,
Medicaid Program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), the Special
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (SSNP), the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families Program (TEA), or the Lifeline Assistance Program (LAP): or

(3) Were approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months: or

(4) Have an income that does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal
poverty income guidelines.

(b) Upon Agency request applicants shall provide documentation showing their receipt of
benefits from the appropriate State Agency.

(1) For Medicaid, SNAP, SSNP, TEA, or LAP, documentation from the Arkansas Department
of Human Services (DHS), or current state of residence equivalent agency: or

(2) For unemployment benefits approval in the last twelve (12) months, the Arkansas
Department of Workforce Services, or current state of residence equivalent agency: or

(3) For proof of income, copies of all United States Internal Revenue Service Forms
indicating applicant’s total personal income for the most recent tax year e.g., “W2,” “1099,”
etc.

(c) Applicants shall attest that they are entitled to the fee waiver and that the
documentation provided under (b) is a true and correct copy. Fraudulent or fraudulently
obtained documentation shall be grounds for denial or revocation of license.
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224-25-2 LICENSE EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(a) Expiration.  All licenses to engage in the business of
contracting in the State of Arkansas shall expire at midnight of the

date of its expiration. Hewever—alicense—-held-by—an—-active—duty
service—person—or-thel—speouse—whe-is—on-deployment-cuiside-the

State of Arkansas shall not-expire—unti180-daysfollowing—their
returnto-the-State-

224-25-4 INACTIVE STATUS

A contractor who is licensed may choose to become inactive in the
State of Arkansas at the time of any renewal. A contractor who is
inactive may not bid on any contract nor perform any work for which
a licensed contractor is required. A contractor who elects inactive
status must pay all renewal fees, but is not required to submit
financial information to the Board. A contractor who is on inactive
status may reactivate its license by making a request to the Board
and providing the financial information required to renew as an active

contractor. Active-duty-service-people-who-heold-licenses-are allowed
additionalk-time—in—inastive—status—-deployed—outside—the—State—of
Arkansas.  However—they-must-regquest-additionaltime—within—186
days of returning to-the-State-

224-25-15 __UNIFORM _ SERVICE _MEMBERS, UNIFORMED
SERVICE VETERANS AND THEIR SPOUSES

(a) All applications submitted by Uniformed Service Members,
Uniformed Service Veterans, and their spouses shall be expedited.

(b) A ninety (90) day temporary license shall be issued upon the
receipt of an application and application fee submitted by a Uniform
Service Member, a Uniformed Service Veteran or their spouse if the
applicant holds in good standing a license from another jurisdiction

1




with a similar scope of practice. The temporary license may be
extended as necessary upon the showing of good cause by the

applicant.

(c) Any applicant who is a Uniform Service Member, a Uniformed
Service Veteran or their spouse and the applicant holds in good
standing a license from another jurisdiction with a similar scope of
practice shall not be required to demonstrate experience or be
required to take the examination required by Ark. Code. Ann. § 17-
25-306.

(d) A license held by a Uniform Service Member or their spouse who
is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas shall not expire until
180 days following their return to the State.

(e) A license held in inactive status by a Uniform Service Member or
their spouse who is on deployment outside the State of Arkansas
shall not expire until 180 days following their return to the State.




Rule For Act 725 of 2021
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224-25-15

(a) An applicant may receive a waiver of the initial licensure fee, if eligible. Eligible
applicants are applicants who:

(1)  Are applying as a Sole Proprietor; and

(2) Are receiving assistance through the Arkansas, or current state of residence equivalent,
Medicaid Program, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), the Special
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (SSNP), the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families Program (TEA), or the Lifeline Assistance Program (LAP): or

(3) Were approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months; or

(4) Have an income that does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal

poverty income guidelines.

(b) Upon Agency request applicants shall provide documentation showing their receipt of
benefits from the appropriate State Agency.

(1) For Medicaid, SNAP, SSNP, TEA, or LAP, documentation from the Arkansas Department
of Human Services (DHS), or current state of residence equivalent agency: or

(2) For unemployment benefits approval in the last twelve (12) months, the Arkansas
Department of Workforce Services, or current state of residence equivalent agency: or

(3) For proof of income, copies of all United States Internal Revenue Service Forms
indicating applicant’s total personal income for the most recent tax vear e.g., “W2,” “1099,”
etc.

(c) Applicants shall attest that they are entitled to the fee waiver and that the
documentation provided under (b) is a true and correct copy. Fraudulent or fraudulently
obtained documentation shall be grounds for denial or revocation of license.
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224-25-3 LICENSE APPLICATIONS

(c)(1) At the time of application, an applicant shall complete the criminal back ground
history form contained within the application.

(2)  If the applicant shall have been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere
to any offense that would disqualify the applicant for licensure under Ark. Code Ann. §
17-2-102 or Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-305(c) the applicant may request a waiver under
Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-102, except-those-permanently-disqualifying-offenses-found-in
Ark—GCode-Ann-§-17-3-102(e)-




