BEFORE THE ARKANSAS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COMMISSION
CLAIM NO. G600426

ALFRED L. MITCHELL,

EMPLOYEE CLAIMANT
PULASKI COUNTY SPECIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT,

EMPLOYER RESPONDENT NO. 1
ARK. SCHOOL BOARDS ASS’N WORKERS’

COMPENSATION TRUST

CARRIER/TPA RESPONDENT NO. 1

STATE OF ARKANSAS, DEATH & PERMANENT
TOTAL DISABILITY TRUST FUND RESPONDENT NO. 2

OPINION AND ORDER TO DISMISS WITHOUT PREJUDICE
FILED MARCH 16, 2021

Hearing conducted on Tuesday, March 16, 2021, before the Arkansas Workers” Compensation
Commission (the Commission), Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Mike Pickens, in Little Rock,
Pulaski County, Arkansas.

The claimant, Mr. Alfred L. Mitchell, pro se, of North Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas,
failed and/or refused to appear at the hearing.

Respondent No. 1 was represented by the Honorable Guy Alton Wade, Friday, Eldredge &
Clark, LLP, Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas.

Respondent No. 2, represented by the Honorable David L. Pake, State of Arkansas, Arkansas
Workers” Compensation Commission, Special Funds Division, Little Rock, Pulaski County,
Arkansas, waived its appearance at the hearing.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A hearing was conducted on Tuesday, March 16, 2021, to determine whether this claim should
be dismissed for lack of prosecution pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-702(a)(4) (2020 Lexis
Replacement), and Commission Rule 099.13 (2020 Lexis Replacement). On December 9, 2020,
Respondent No. 1’s attorney filed an entry of appearance and motion to dismiss without prejudice
for lack of prosecution letter with the Commission. On Wednesday, January 13, 2021, a hearing

was conducted on Respondent No. 1’s letter motion to dismiss without prejudice. By letter to the
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parties dated January 14, 2021, the ALJ advised them he would hold consideration of Respondent
No. 1’s motion in abeyance for 30 days in order to allow Mr. Mitchell time to retain the services
of an attorney in this claim. Having not heard from either Mr. Mitchell or his attorney within this
30-day period, this hearing was scheduled to consider the merits of Respondent No. 1’s letter
motion to dismiss without prejudice.

In accordance with the applicable Arkansas law, the claimant was mailed and received due and
legal notice of Respondent No. 1’s motion to dismiss as well as a copy of the hearing notice.
Thereafter, the claimant failed and/or refused to file any response to Respondent No. 1’s motion
to dismiss, either via email, the United States Postal Service, or any other medium of
communication. He also failed and/or refused to appear at the hearing, or to cause anyone to appear
on his behalf.

The record herein consists of the hearing transcripts of the January 13, 2021 and the March 16,
2021 hearings on Respondent No. 1’s motion to dismiss, and any and all exhibits contained therein
and attached thereto, as well as the Commission’s entire file in this matter, which is hereby

incorporated by reference into the hearing record.

DISCUSSION

Consistent with Ark. Code Ann.§ 11-9-702(a)(4) (2020 Lexis Supp.), as well as our court of
appeals’ ruling in Dillard vs. Benton County Sheriff’s Olffice, 87 Ark. App. 379, 192 S.W.3d 287
(Ark. App. 2004), the Commission scheduled and conducted a hearing on Respondent No. 1’s
motion to dismiss. Rather than recite a detailed analysis of the record, suffice it to say the
preponderance of the evidence introduced at the hearing and contained in the record conclusively

reveals the claimant has to date failed and/or refused to prosecute his claim.
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Therefore, after a thorough consideration of the facts, issues, the applicable law, and other

relevant matters of record, I hereby make the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

I.

2.

The Commission has jurisdiction of this claim.

After the claimant received due and legal notice of Respondent No. 1°s
December 9, 2020 letter motion to dismiss without prejudice, as well
as a copy of the hearing notice, an initial hearing was conducted on
January 13, 2021 on Respondent No. 1’s letter motion to dismiss. At
that time the claimant appeared pro se and requested an additional 30
days to seek to obtain the services of legal counsel. Both on the record
at this first hearing of January 13, 2021, and by letter dated January 14,
2021, the ALJ committed the parties he would hold a decision on
Respondent No. 1’s December 9, 2020 letter motion to dismiss in
abeyance, and allow the claimant an additional 30 days to obtain the
services of an attorney to represent him in this claim. The ALJ further
stated that if the claimant was unable to obtain legal representation
within the agreed 30 days, another hearing would be conducted for
consideration of Respondent No. 1’s letter motion to dismiss.

This second hearing was conducted on Tuesday, March 16, 2021, and
the claimant was provided due and legal notice of the date, time, and
place of the hearing. Having been given due and legal notice of
Respondent No. 1’s motion to dismiss, as well as notice of this second
hearing, the claimant failed and/or refused to either file a response to
Respondent No. 1’s letter motion to dismiss; or to communicate in any
way with the Commission or Respondent No. 1; or to appear at the
hearing. Consequently, the claimant is deemed to have waived his
appearance at and right to the hearing.

The preponderance of the evidence of record reveals the claimant has
to date failed and/or refused to prosecute his claim as required .

Therefore, Respondent No. 1’s letter motion to dismiss without
prejudice filed with the Commission on December 9, 2020 is
GRANTED:; and this claim hereby is dismissed without prejudice to its
refiling pursuant to the deadlines prescribed by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-
9-702(a) and (b), and Commission Rule 099.13.



Alfred L. Mitchell, AWCC No. G600426

This opinion and order shall not be construed to prohibit the claimant, his attorney, any attorney
he may retain in the future, or anyone acting legally and on his behalf, from refiling the claim if it
is refiled within the applicable time periods prescribed by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-702(a) and (b).

Respondent No. 1 hereby is ordered to pay the court reporter’s invoice within twenty (20) days

of its receipt thereof.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Mike Pickens
Administrative Law Judge

MP/mp



