BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: KENNETH L.SMITH
DBA - SMITH APPLIANCE LLC
502 Robinhood Dr
Monticello, AR 71655

ORDER

On this 12th day of October 2022, this matter came before HVACR Licensing Board (the
“Board™). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented
the agency. Kenneth L. Smith (“Smith™) was properly notified and did not appear before the
Board in person or via zoom for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the

Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conelusions of Law,

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On August 18, 2022, the Board issued a civil money penalty to Kenneth L. Smith in the
total amount of $3,250.00. This sum includes a civil penalty of $250.00 for each of the
ten (10) violations of the State heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration
("HVACR”)code. Also, a civil penalty of $250.00 for violating Arkansas Code § 17-33-
301 by performing HVACR work without a license on three separate days totaling

$750.00.



2. On September 10, 2022, Smith was timely notified that his hearing before the Board

would be held on Wednesday October 12, 2022, at 10:00 a.m.

3. Inspector Pearson determined eleven (11) violations of the State HVACR Code, statutes

and rules as adopted by the Board.
4. Included in Pearson’s inspection report are photos depicting said violations on July 20,

2022.

5. Smith did not appear in-person or via zoom as he was offered.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibit any person from performing heating,
ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil money penalty subject
to hearing by the Board for any violation of the State HVACR Code, statutes, or rules
adopted by the Board.

3. The penalty shall not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for each violation, and
each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation for purposes of
penalty assessments. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105(a)( 1)(A )(ii).

4. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-307 authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke any license or
registration if it finds that the holder of the license or registrant has demonstrated
mcompetency to act as a license holder or registrant or has violated the State HVACR
Code, statutes, or rules promulgated by the Board.

5. The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per violation fora
first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105(a) 1 (A1), The

penalties are also within the guidelines established by the rule of the Board.
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6. The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and assesses a civil money penalty

against Smith in the amount of $3,230.00.

7. Inspector Pearson met with Smith and explained the violations, Smith had the

opportunity to comect the violations but willfully ignored Inspector Pearson

ITIS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil money penalty is hereby assessed against

Kenneth L. Smith in the amount of $3.250.00).

HVACR LICENSING BOARD,
DEFARTMENTOF LABOR AND
LICENSING,

STATE OF ARKANSAS

~7
-7 v
- -ﬁ;’ﬁ o
g v

Iy

Adan Dean, Chainman

PDaie: (8 y - Qe

fs! Miles Morgan

Miles Morgan. 201 7-049

Associate Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol

Little Rock, AR 72201
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