BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR,
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: KENNETHL.SMITH

DBA - SMITH APPLIANCE LLC
502 Robinhood Dr
Monticello, AR 71655

ORDER

On this 12th day of October 2022, this matter came before the HVACR Licensing Board
(the “Board"). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing,
represented the agency. Kenneth L. Smith ( “Smith”) was properly notified and did not appear
before the Board in person or via zoom for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other

evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On August 18, 2022, the Board issued a civil money penalty to Kenneth L. Smith in the
totalamount of $1,000,00. This sum includes a civil penalty of $250.00 for one (1)
violation of Arkansas Code § 17-33-104 for failure to obtain a permit from the city of
Monticello. Also, a civil penalty of $250.00 for violating Arkansas Code § 17-33-301 by
performing HVACR work without a license on three separate days totaling $750.00.

2. On September 10, 2022, Smith received timely notice that his hearing before the Board

would be held on Wednesday October 12, 2022, at 10:00 a.m.



Inspector Pearson determined two (2) violations of the State HVACR Code, statutes, and

rules as adopted by the Board.

Included in Pearson's inspection report are photos depicting said violations on June e

2022.

Smith did not appear in-person or via zoom as he was offered.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1.

Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 fa} and (b) prohibit any person from performing heating,
ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license,

Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil money penalty subject
to hearing by the Board for any violation of the State HVACR Code, statutes, or rules
adopted by the Board.

The penalty shall not exceed two hundred fi ity dollars ($250.00) for each violation, and
each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation for purposes of
penalty assessments. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105(a)(1 MAXii).

Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-307 authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke any license or
registration if it finds that the holder of the license or registrant has demonstrated
mcompetency to act as a license holder or registrant or has violated the State HVACR
Code, statutes, or rules promulgated by the Roard.

The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per violation fora
first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105(a) 1 M A)(ii). The
penalties are also within the guidelines established by the rule of the Board.

The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and assesses the civil money penalty

agamnst Smith to be affirmed in the amount of $1.000.00.



a-\- J

Inspector Pearson met with Smith and explaned the violations. Smith had the

opportunity to correet the violations but willfully ignored Inspector Pearson,

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that civil money penalty is herehy assessed against

Kenneth L. Smith in the amount of S1,000.00.
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Associate Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol

Little Rock, AR 72201
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