BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: Joshua Dutton
Dutton Hearing & Air
PO Box 8252
Fort Smith, AR 72901
ORDER

On the 8" day of November 2023, this matter came before the HVACR Licensing Board
(the “Board™). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing
represented the Board. Joshua Dutton of Dutton Heating & Air (“Dutton”) was properly notified
but failed to appear before the Board for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other

evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT

ki On October 5. 2023, the Board issued a Notice of Hearing on Violations and Proposed
Penalties (the “Notice™) to Dutton. The Notice provided that a hearing before the HVACR
Licensing Board would be held on Wednesday November 8, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. in the fourth-

floor board room of the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing (the “Department”).
2. Dutton did not appear before the Board.

3. Anthony Woodard (*Woodard”), HVACR Section Chief Inspector, testified that an
inspection and license check was conducted on October 2, 2023, at a new residential construction

site in Fort Smith, Arkansas.

4. During the inspection, Dutton’s employees. Danielle Henley and Derrick Riley confirmed

that they were not licensed to perform HVACR work.



5. Dutton, who possesses a valid HVACR license, stated that both employees had been

working for him since July 1, 2023.

6. Dutton also did not display his HVACR license number on his work vehicle. ADLL
Inspector J.C. Brenaman encountered Dutton in March 2023 and advised him that he needed to

display his HVACR license number on his work vehicle.

T In the inspection report, Dutton is cited for his two employees each engaging in HVACR
work without the proper license for thirty (30) days. Dutton is also cited for failure to display his

HVACR license number on his work vehicle for two (2) days.

9. The Board finds that Dutton allowed his employees to engage in HVACR work without
the proper license for a total of sixty (60) days and failure to display his HVACR license number

on his work vehicle for two (2) days.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1 It is unlawful for any person to engage in HVACR work without the appropriate license
or registration provided by Arkansas law, unless exempt under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 er

seq.

2, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil penalty not to exceed
two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for any violation of the State HVACR mechanical code,
statutes, or rules adopted by the Board. Each day of a continuing violation may be treated as a

separate violation.

3. Dutton allowed unlicensed employees to perform HVACR work on sixty (60) separate
days for a penalty of $100.00 per day. Dutton also failed to display his HVACR license on his

work vehicle on two (2) separate occasions for a penalty of $250.00 each day.

4. The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and hereby assesses a civil money

penalty in the amount of $6,500.00 against Dutton.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Board imposes a civil money penalty against
Joshua Dutton and Dutton Heating & Air in the amount of $6.500.00.



Approved as to Form:

Miles Morgan, 2017049

Associate Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 682-4504

HVACR LICENSING BOARD,
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING,

STATE OF ARKANSAS

Sy A%

Alan Dean, Chairman

Date: /- A0 -3033




