BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Daryll Patton d.b.a. Phoenix Towing & Recovery
# 2020-09-033

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on November 19, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent
appeared in person. The Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings
of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent maintains a valid non-consent tow license and safety permit(s) and
did so at all times relevant to this complaint.

F-2  On September 20, 2019, the Complainant left her 2019 Jeep Cherokee
(hereinafter “vehicle™) parked and unattended in a handicap space located at
Brodie Creek Apartments in Liitle Rock, Arkansas.

F-3  On September 21, 2019 the Respondent conducted a private property removal of
the vehicle. At the time of the tow, the Respondent failed to obtain proper written
authorization from either the owner or an authorized agent at Brodie Creek
Apartments prior to towing the vehicle.

F-4  On September 21, 2019 the Respondent billed and was paid $175.00 for the
unauthorized service. Complainant filed this complaint and the investigation

followed.




F-5

F-6

C-2

During the investigation, the manager at Brodie Creek Apartments stated that
neither she nor her staff authorized the removal of this vehicle or signed a
removal form prior to its removal. She said the Respondent patrols the parking lot
and tows vehicles found in violation of the complex’s parking rules. She also said
that she was unaware of the statutory requirements concerning private property
removals and that the Respondent misled her during their solicitation to perform
the removals by telling her that a signature would not be required for each
individual removal.

On October 4, 2019, Respondent responded to the complaint, but did not provide
any form of written authorization to tow the vehicle signed by either the owner or
an authorized agent of Brodie Creek Apartments.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Arkansas Code Ann. § 27-50-1101¢a)(1)(C) by conducting a
non-consent private property removal of the vehicle without first obtaining a
written authorization for the removal from the owner or an authorized agent of

Brodie Creek Apartments as stated in Findings of Fact I-1 through F-6 above.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § A.C.A. §27-50-1203(e)(1}(D) and Board
Rule 4.1 by charging an excessive and unnecessary fee of $175.00 for the

unauthorized tow as stated in Findings of Fact F-1 through F-6 above.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $1,500.00 for the

violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.




2. Respondent shall not be ordered to pay restitution for the violation stated in
Conclusion of Law C-2 due to Respondent alrcady having refunded the $175 to
the Complainant.

3. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than forty-five (45) days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision
by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he
resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty

(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this day of November, 2019

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Tracy Gafner d.b.a. Steve’s Auto Center of Conway
#2020-08-017

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on March 17, 2020, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent
appeared in person and with legal counsel, Lorie Mason. The Board, from all the evidence
presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent maintains a valid non-consent tow license and safety permit(s), and
did so at all times relevant to this complaint.

F-2  OnMay 1, 2019, Respondent towed and stored a 2018 Volvo S90 (hereinafter
“vehicle”) displaying a Florida license plate from America’s Best Value Inn in
Conway, AR at request of the Conway Police Department (CPD).

F-3  CPD provided Respondent a vehicle tow report listing the vehicle’s registered
owner and license plate information at time of the tow.

F-4  The Respondent did not send certified letters via the US Postal Service to the
registered owner and/or lien holder of the vehicle.

F-5  OnMay 18, 2019, the Respondent ran an advertisement in lieu of notice, in the
Log Cabin Democrat. The vehicle and its vehicle identification number (VIN)

were listed in that advertisement.




F-7

C-1

C-2

On July 14, 2019, the Respondent ran a Notice of Foreclosure Lien advertisement
in the Log Cabin Democrat. This advertisement stated that the Respondent would
hold a “public auction” on July 23, 2019. The vehicle and its VIN were listed in
that advertisement.

On July 24, 2019, the Respondent obtained a title to the vehicle through the
Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § A.C.A. §27-50-1101 (a)(2)(E)(i1) by failing
to make a good faith effort to locate documents or other evidence of ownership and
lienholder information after taking possession of the vehicle as stated in Findings
of Fact 1-7.

Respondent violated Arkansas Code Ann. § ACA 27-50-1208(b)-(c) by attempting
to gain title to the vehicle without following the statutory possessory lien process

as stated in Findings of Fact 1-7.

ORDER

Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.

Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-2.

Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty and restitution must be
paid no later than forty-five (45) days from the date Respondent receives this
Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the

Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county




in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within
thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.
IT IS SO ORDERED this day of March, 2020

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Daryll Patton d.b.a. Phoenix Towing & Recovery
# 2020-09-033

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing dn the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on November 19, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent
appeared in person. The Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the foliowing Findings
of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent maintains a valid non-consent tow license and safety permit(s) and
did so at all times relevant to this complaint.

F-2  On September 20, 2019, the Complainant left her 2019 Jeep Cherokee
(hereinafter “vehicle™) parked and unattended in a handicap space located at
Brodie Creek Apartments in Little Rock, Arkansas.

F-3  On September 21, 2019 the Respondent conducted a private property removal of
the vehicle. At the time of the tow, the Respondent failed to obtain proper written
authorization from either the owner or an authorized agent at Brodie Creek
Apartments prior to towing the vehicle.

F-4  On September 21, 2019 the Respondent billed and was paid $175.00 for the
unauthorized service. Complainant filed this complaint and the investigation

followed.




F-6

C-2

During the investigation, the manager at Brodie Creek Apartments stated that
neither she nor her staff authorized the removal of this vehicle or signed a
removal form prior to its removal. She said the Respondent patrols the parking lot
and tows vehicles found in violation of the complex’s parking rules. She also said
that she was unaware of the statutory requirements concerning private property
removals and that the Respondent misled her during their solicitation to perform
the removals by telling her that a signature would not be required for each
individual removal.

On October 4, 2019, Respondent responded to the complaint, but did not provide
any form of written authorization to tow the vehicle signed by either the owner or
an authorized agent of Brodie Creek Apartments.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Arkansas Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)(C) by conducting a
non-consent private property removal of the vehicle without first obtaining a
written authorization for the removal from the owner or an authorized agent of

Brodie Creck Apartments as stated in Findings of Fact F-1 through F-6 above.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § A.C.A. §27-50-1203(¢)(1)(D) and Board
Rule 4.1 by charging an excessive and unnecessary fee of $175.00 for the

unauthorized tow as stated in Findings of Fact F-1 through F-6 above.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $1,500.00 for the

violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.




2. Respondent shall not be ordered to pay restitution for the violation stated in
Conclusion of Law C-2 due to Respondent already having refunded the $175 to
the Complainant.

3. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(£)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than forty-five (45) days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision
by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he
resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty

(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this day of November, 2019

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Phillips Brothers Towing & Recovery, LL.C
# 2021-07-001

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on October 27, 2020, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent
appeared by and through its representative, Christian Niles. The Board, from all the evidence
presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  The Respondent operates a towing business based in North Little Rock, Arkansas
and currently holds a valid non-consent towing business license and safety
permit(s).

F-2  On May 8, 2020, the Respondent towed and stored Complainant’s 2019 Dodge
Charger with Texas license plates (hereinafter “vehicle”) at the request and
direction of the North Little Rock Police.

F-3  On June 17, 2020, the Respondent mailed a lien notice via certified U.S. Mail,
return receipt requested to the Complainant.

F-4  The Respondent published a notice of this abandoned vehicle in the Arkansas
Democrat-Gazette on June 21, 2020, announcing intent to sell it and other
vehicles within forty-five (45) days of the date of tow.

F-5  The certified lien notice letter was delivered to Complainant on June 21, 2020.




F-6

F-7

F-8

C-1

C-2

C-3

The Respondent did not request records from the State of Texas to help determine
potential owners or lienholders of the vehicle at any point while it possessed the
vehicle.

On June 29, 2020, the Complainant secured the release of this vehicle after paying
a total of $3,437.83 to the Respondent. This complaint followed.

Investigation determined the following charges to be excessive: $1,935.00 for
storage, 43 days of the 53 days billed; $75.00 admin, one of two admin fees
billed; $75.00 picture fee; $250.00 picture fee; and $69.30 mileage. The excessive
fees totaled $2,404.30.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(b)(3)(C) by failing to
request motor vehicle records from the State of Texas as stated in Findings of

Fact F1-F8 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(c) (1) by failing to mail
the mandatory notice not sooner than two (2) business days but within eight (8)
business days after the date that the Respondent received the vehicle as stated in

Findings of Fact F1-F8 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(e}(1)(D) and Board Rule
4.1 by billing and being paid for excessive or unnecessary fees totaling $2,404.30

as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F8 above.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00 for the

violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.




2. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $500.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-2.

3. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $250.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-3. Respondent is further ordered to pay
restitution to the Complainant in the amount of $2556.83. Proof of payment shall
be provided to the Board.

4. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty and restitution must be
paid no later than forty-five (45) days from the date Respondent receives this
Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the
Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county
in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within
thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this __ day of October, 2020

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
East End Towing Inc.
# 2021-09-005

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on January 19, 2021, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent
appeared by and through its representative, Patrick McIntire, and its legal counsel, William Watt.
The Board, from all the evidence presented and the stipulations of the parties, makes the
following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  The Respondent operates a towing business based in Little Rock, Arkansas
and currently holds a valid non-consent towing business license and safety
permit(s).

F-2  OnlJuly 1, 2020, the Respondent towed and stored Complainant’s 2019 Hyundai
Elantra with Georgia license plate #CIE5490 (hereinafter “vehicle”) at the request
and direction of an employee of Old Mill Bakery located in Little Rock Arkansas.

F-3  OnJuly 1, 2020, the Respondent called The Little Rock Police Communications
Center to report this vehicle as a private property impound. During the call the
Respondent identified the vehicle by the Georgia License plate affixed to the

vehicle.




F-9

C-1

On July 1, 2020 the Respondent made an inquiry to the Arkansas ITRL system for
registration and lien records in the state of Arkansas with use of the vehicle’s
VIN. The system revealed “no” Arkansas records found.

The Respondent did not request records from the State of Georgia to help
determine potential owners or lienholders of the vehicle at any point while it
possessed the vehicle.

On July 21, 2020, the Respondent published a notice of this abandoned vehicle in
the Daily Record announcing their intent to sell it and other vehicles within
forty-five (45) days of the date of tow.

On August 18, 2020 the Respondent published a notice of non-judicial public sale
of this abandoned vehicle in the Daily Record. The notice documents the sale date
of August 19, 2020.

On August 19, 2020, the Respondent sold this vehicle to M Auto Sales for ten
thousand dollars ($10,000.00). The Respondent submitted a notarized affidavit to
the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles stating all statutory requirements had
been met in order to sell the vehicle.

Prior to the sale, the Respondent did not send via certified mail to Complainant
notice of the initial possessory lien or the non-judicial sale.

On September 10, 2020, the Respondent requested a stolen vehicle check of the
ACIC system. The ACIC check documented this vehicle as “not stolen™.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(b)(3)(C) by failing to

request motor vehicle records from the State of Georgia to determine ownership




C-2

c-4

C-5

C-6

even though the vehicle had a Georgia license plate and information of ownership

was not found otherwise as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F10 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(c) (1) by failing to mail
the mandatory notice not sooner than two (2) business days but within eight (8)

business days after the date that the Respondent received the vehicle as stated in

Findings of Fact F1-F10 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1209(e)(1) by failing to send
the notice of sale via certified mail, return receipt requested to the last known
registered owner at least fifteen (15) days prior to the sale date as stated in

Findings of Fact F1-F10 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1209(f) by failing to publish
the notice of non-judicial public sale in a newspaper of general circulation at least

ten (10) days before the sale as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F10 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1209(d)(1) by failing to
request stolen vehicle information from the Arkansas Crime Information Center

prior to the sale of this vehicle as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F10 above.

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1210(c)(1)-(2) by falsely
submitting an affidavit of compliance of the statutory sale procedure in order to
obtain a title for this vehicle from the Arkansas Department of Motor vehicles as

stated in Findings of Fact F1-I'10 above.




ORDER

1. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2,500.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.

2. As sanction for the violations in Conclusions of Law C-2 to C-6, Respondent is
ordered to have at least one (1) of its employees complete any remedial training
deemed necessary by the Director of the Board.

3. Respondent is further ordered to provide to the Board proof of payment $3,500.00
in restitution to the Complainant that Respondent had previously agreed to pay prior
to the hearing.

4, Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid and proof of
payment of restitution be provided no later than forty-five (45) days from the date
Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless
Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in
the Court in the county in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court
of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service
attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ____ day of January, 2021

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOYERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Helton’s Wrecker Service LTD.
#2021-12-012

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on July 20, 2021, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent appeared
by and through its representatives, Bill Helton and Shelley Young, and its legal counsel, Tona
DeMers. The Board was represented by Assistant Attorney General Samuel J. West. The Board,
from all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent operates a tow business in Conway, Arkansas and maintains a valid
non-consent tow license and safety permit(s) and did so at all times relevant to
this complaint.

F-2  On August 7, 2020, Respondent was contacted to conduct a private property
removal in Conway, Arkansas. The Respondent towed and stored a 2015 Toyota
Camry (hereinafier “the vehicle™) owned by Summer Payton (hereinafter “the
Complainant”). The Complainant had previously reported the vehicle as stolen to
the Maumelle Police Department.

F-3  On the date of the private property removal, Respondent failed to notify either the
Conway Police Department or the Faulkner County Sheriff’s Office of the

removal within two (2) hours of taking possession of the vehicle. Additionally,




F-4

C-1

C-3

Respondent failed to request/receive ownership information from either the Office
of Motor Vehicle or Arkansas Criminal Information Center (ACIC).

On December 4, 2020—one hundred nineteen (119) days after the initial tow—
Respondent mailed the first and only lien notification letter to the Complainant.
The notification letter detailed the removal of the vehicle and stated that fees were
due in the amount of $10,023.14. Instead of paying the requested fees, the
Complainant filed this complaint with the Board.

On December 28, 2020, Respondent released the vehicle to the Complainant
without charge.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(2)(A) by failing to notify
law enforcement of the private property removal of this vehicle within two (2}
hours of the removal as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F5 above.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(c)(1) by failing to mail

the mandatory notice not sooner than two (2) business days but within eight (8)
business days after the date that the Respondent received the vehicle as stated in
Findings of Fact F1-F5 above.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1208(d)(1) by failing to request
information about potential owners or lienholders from the Office of Motor
Vehicle or ACIC after not being able to obtain said information within forty-eight
(48) hours of taking possession of the vehicle as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F5

above.




ORDER

1. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2,000.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.

2. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2,000.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-2.

3. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $2,000.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-3.

4. It is further ordered that Respondent’s license to operate a nonconsent towing
business is suspended for a period of sixty (60) days, effective immediately.
Respondent’s ability to perform consent tows is not affected.

5. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid and proof of
payment of restitution be provided no later than forty-five (45) days from the date
Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless
Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in
the Court in the county in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court
of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service
attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this __ day of July, 2021

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that I have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this___ day of
July, 2021 to:
Helton’s Wrecker Service LTD
710 S. Harkrider
Conway, AR 72032
And
Tona DeMers

PO Box 2332
Benton, AR 72018

Steve Rogers, Board Director




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Jeff Riner d.b.a. BigBoy’s Towing
#2021-04-024

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on July 20, 2021, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent did not
appear. The Board was represented by Assistant Attorney General Samuel J. West. The Board,
from all the evidence presented and the stipulations of the parties, makes the following Findings
of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent operates a tow business in Springdale, Arkansas and does not
maintain a valid consent or non-consent tow license and/or safety permit(s) and
did not at all times relevant to this complaint. Respondent’s license has been
suspended following a Board Order issued on May 21, 2019. He has made no
attempt to renew his license or safety permit(s) or comply with the Board’s Order.

F-2  On January 13, 2021, the Respondent was contacted by Honk Technologies to
conduct a tow in Bella Vista, Arkansas on behalf of Farmers Insurance Roadside
Service. The Respondent responded and towed a 2013 Jeep Wrangler (hereinafter
“the vehicle”) owned by Alissa Larking (hereinafter “the Complainant™) to a
repair shop. The Complainant witnessed the vehicle fall off the Respondent’s
wrecker as the wrecker left the property. The wrecker was being operated by

Respondent.




F-3

F-4

C-1

On April 24, 2021, Andrea Hall of Honk Technologies confirmeéd that
Respondent did conduct the tow service related to this complaint and provided a
list documenting approximately one hundred and twenty-six (126) additional tow
related services conducted and billed by the Respondent during the 2020 calendar
year. She also stated that Honk Technologies subcontracts towing services for
Farmers Insurance and that Respondent had been an approved towing contractor
in Arkansas since May 2015, The aforementioned contract stipulates compliance
with all local and state licensing and insurance rules.

Between April 7, 2021, and June 20, 2021, Respondent has failed to respond to
several phone calls, requests for information pursuant to this investigation and
notices of violations for unlicensed activity.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1201(a) and Board Rules 6.1
and 6.2 by charging for the towing and storage of a vehicle subject to registration
within the State of Arkansas without first possessing and maintaining a valid tow
business license and safety permit(s) as stated in Findings of Fact F1-F4
above.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000.00 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.
Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid and proof of
payment of restitution be provided no later than forty-five (45) days from the date

Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless




Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in
the Court in the county in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court
of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service
attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ____ day of July, 2021

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JOSEPH SPADONI, CHAIR




