BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
John Ransom d.b.a. Red Qak Auto Clinic
#2019-11-049

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on July 16, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Red Oak Auto Clinic (“the
Respondent) appeared by its counsel, Tom Barron, and by its owner, John Ransom. The Board,
from all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  The Respondent’s consent-only business license and safety permit(s) expired on
July 13, 2012.

F-2  On October 1, 2018, the Respondent towed a 2015 Chrysler 200 to their facility at
11202 Highway 365 in Little Rock, Arkansas at the request of the registered
owner. The Respondent conducted four subsequent tows of the same vehicle.

F-3  On October 5, 2018, the Respondent billed for the original tow and four
additional tows, totaling $385.00. The Respondent mailed an invoice and lien
notification to the Complainant, Arrivo Acceptance LLC, pursuant to Ark. Code
Ann. § 27-50-1208.

F-4  On December 18, 2018, the Respondent admitted in writing to conducting a

consent tow at the request of a long-time customer.




CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

C-1  The Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1201(a) and Board Rules 6.1
and 6.2 by towing Complainant’s vehicle for compensation without first
possessing and maintaining a valid tow business license and safety permit(s) as
stated in Findings of Fact F-1—TF-4.

ORDER

l. The Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $1,500.00 for
the violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.

2. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than 45 days from the date the Respondent receives this Finding of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless the Respondent appeals the Board’s
decision by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which
he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty
(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

e
IT IS SO ORDERED this ]_1_ day of July, 2019
ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

Ay

JOSEPA SPADOM, CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Jeff Riner d.b.a. Bigboy’s Towing
#2019-03-083

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW., AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and

Recovery Board (“Board™) on May 21, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and

Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Board, from

all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

F-1

F-2

F-3

F-4

F-5

FINDINGS OF FACT

Respondent maintained a valid non-consent tow license and safety permit(s) at the
time of this incident.

Between February 26 and March 12, 2019, Respondent towed and stored thirteen
(13) vehicles from parking fot of the Harp’s Food Store (hereinafter “Harp’s”)
located at 1300 North Thompson Street in Springdale, Arkansas.

Respondent failed to obtain proper written authorization from either the vehicle’s
owner(s) or from an authorized employee at Harp’s prior to towing the vehicle on
all thirteen (13) occasions.

Respondent towed two (2) of the vehicles on March 12 without receiving any
request to remove the vehicles from any Harp’s employee.

Respondent towed the other eleven (11) vehicles at the request of employees at
Harp’s. On one occasion, a Harp’s employee inquired if written authorization was

required, but Respondent told her that she did not have to provide it.




F-6

C-1

Respondent admitted during his testimony that he does not maintain a permanent
office location for his business and that his place of business does not meet the
facility standards specified on his Application Information sheet, despite self-
certifying that he did so.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101{c) on thirteen (13) separate
occasions by towing thirteen (13) vehicles without obtaining proper written
authorization from the property owner(s) or agent prior to removing the vehicles
from private property as stated in Findings of Fact F-2 through F-5.
Respondent violated Board Rule 6.3.A.(1) by improperly self-certifying
sufficiency of his facilities on his Application Information Sheet as stated in
Finding of Fact F-6.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay fines in the amount of $6,500 ($500 for each
violation) for the violations stated in Conclusion of Law C-1. Respondent is
further ordered to pay restitution in the amount of $1,080 for the eleven (11) tows
for which he provided invoices as part of Respondent’s Exhibit 1.
Respondent’s non-consent license is hereby suspended for the violation stated in
Conclusion of Law C-2. Respondent may seek to have his license reinstated once
his towing facility is in compliance with the Rules of the Board.
The restitution must be paid forty-five (45) days from the date Respondent
receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent

appeals the Board’s decision by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in




the county in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski
County within thirty (30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to
this Order.

4. The fine must be paid no later than six (6) months from the date Respondent
receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent

appeals the Board’s decision

IT IS SO ORDERED this day of May, 2019

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

TOM BROWN, ACTING CHAIR




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
CT Spee-D-Lube LLC,, d.b.a. Big Wrecker Towing,
# 2019-05-089

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on November 19, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 721 16. The Respondent
appeared by and through its representative, Ronnie Adcock. The Board, from all the evidence
presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent maintains a valid non-consent tow license and safety permit(s) and:
-did so at all times relevant to this complaint.

F-2  OnFebruary 8, 2019, the Respondent was dispatched to the scene of a vehicle
collision by the Arkansas State Police. The Respondent arrived, recovered, towed

| and stored a 2019 International semi-tractor and flatbed trailer (hereinafter
“vehicle™). The vehicle was owned and operated by Billy Barnes Enterprises
(hereinafter “Complainant™).

F-3  The Respondent billed a total of $53,659.19 for the service.

F-4  The Complainant paid a total of $48,000.00 and agreed to give the respondent the
cargo, which consisted of lumber, in order to secure the release of their equipment
and avoid the accumulation of additional storage fees.

F-5  The Complainant filed this complaint, alleging the fees charged above were

excessive and unnecessary under the circumstances. The Complainant based this




upon the location of the vehicle after the collision, the amount of labor used, the
amount of lumber that did remained on the vehicle, and the $2,000 line item for
clean-up ordered by the property owners.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
C-1  Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § A.C.A. §27-50-1203(e)(1)(D) and Board
Rule 4.1 by charging excessive and unnecessary fees as stated in Findings of Fact

F-1 through F-5 above.

ORDER

1. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $5,000 for the
violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1.

2. Further, the Board has determined a reasonable fee for the services provided to be
$27.475.91 (see Attachment 1 for a line-by-line breakdown). Respondent is
therefore ordered to pay restitution to the Complainant in the amount of
$20,524.09. Respondent shall provide proof of payment to the Board. Respondent
shall keep the lumber transferred to it by Complainant as part of their agreement,

3, Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty and restitution must be

paid no later than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact,

Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision

by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he

resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty

(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this lgg day of November, 2019




ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

o

JOSEPH SPADONIL, CHAIR




