BEFORFE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LLC
# 2018-07-003

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on September 19, 2017 at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Nicholas Massey,
owner of TowStorm, LLC (“Respondent™) did not appear. The record reflects he was properly
served via personal service on the manager of his business, Danny Thompson, as reflected in the
testimony of Mr. Thompson and the Board’s Investigator, Tracey Watson. Finding that proper
notice was given Respondent, the Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the following
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent maintained a valid business license and safety permit(s) at all times
relevant to this incident. The relevant time period is July 12, 2017. Respondent’s
License expires on June 24, 2018.

2. On July 12, 2017, the Respondent towed and stored a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix,
owned by Carrie McMickle from 6510 Mablevale Cutoff, Little Rock, Arkansas,
(Bella Vista Apartments) without proper prior written authorization of the
property owner or its on-site agent.

3. On July 10, 2017, TowStorm LLC entered into a contract with Marshall Equity
Investments to provide “Full Patrol Service” parking enforcement for Bella Vista

Apartments. The contract provided that “[t]his agreement is appointing the




10.

Contractor [TowStorm LLC] to be an agent of the Clients [Marshall Equity
Investments]. The contract also stated that “Client hearby [sic] appoints the
contractor as an authorized agent of the above property.”

Danny Thompson, an employee and self-described manager/tow truck driver of
TowStorm LLC, signed the private property removal authorization form to tow
the Complainant’s vehicle.

On July 12, 2017, The Respondent billed and was paid $290.00 for the

unauthorized service.

CONCIL.USIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101¢a)(1)(C) by failing to obtain
proper written authorization from the property owner or agent prior to removing a
vehicle from private property.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)(H) by paying
compensation through employment to Respondent’s employee, Danny Thompson,
who signed the private property removal form as the requesting agent.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(e)(1)(D) by overcharging for
all services related to this unauthorized service.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $1,000.00 for the violation
described in paragraph 6 above; and
Respondent’s non-consent towing license is hereby immediately revoked for the

violation described in paragraph 7 above; and




11, For the violation described in paragraph 8 above, pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §
27-50-1218(d), Respondent is ordered to fully reimburse Carrie McMickle the full
$290.00 she paid for the unauthorized service.

12 Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the penalties must be paid no later than
45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a
petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides or does
business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the
date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this B_ day of October, 2017.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

T
JERRY VINT, CWPERSON

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rdgers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that I have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this 12> day of
October, 2017, to:
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LLC

7821 Zeuber Road
Little Rock, AR 72206

/’_ V(-’ :_‘{. 7’ = _, = 7;‘:..-{{
Stev og rs, Byard Dipettor ‘j




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LLC
# 2018-07-004

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on September 19, 2017 at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Nicholas Massey,
owner of TowStorm, LLC (“Respondent™) did not appear. The record reflects he was properly
served via personal service on the manager of his business, Danny Thompson, as reflected in the
testimony of Mr. Thompson and the Board’s Investigator, Tracey Watson. Finding that proper
notice was given Respondent, the Board, from all thé evidence presented, makes the following

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

L. Respondent maintained a valid business license and safety permit(s) at all times
relevant (o this incident. The relevant time period is July 12, 2017. Respondent’s
License expires on June 24, 2018.

2. On July 14, 2017, the Respondent towed and stored a 2004 Ford Expedition,
owned by Eric Scroggins from 6510 Mablevale Cutoff, Little Rock, Arkansas,
(Bella’ Vista Apartments) without proper prior written authorization of the
property owner or its on-site agent.

3. On July 10, 2017, TowStorm LLC entered into a contract with Marshall Equity
Investments to provide “Full Patrol Service” parking enforcement for Bella Vista

Apartments. The contract provided that “[t]his agreement is appointing the




10,

Contractor [TowStorm LLC] to be an agent of the Clients [Marshall Equity
Investments]. The contract also stated that “Client hearby [sic] appoints the
contractor as an authorized agent of the above property.”

Danny Thompson, an employee and self-described manager/tow truck driver of
TowStorm LLC, signed the private property removal authorization form to tow
the Complainant’s vehicle.

On July 14, 2017, The Respondent billed and was paid $290.00 for the

unauthorized service.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)}(C) by failing to obtain
proper written authorization from the property owner or agent prior to removing a
vehicle from private property.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)(H) by paying
compensation through employment to Respondent’s employee, Danny Thompson,
who signed the private property removal form as the requesting agent.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(e)(1)(D) by overcharging for
all services related to this unauthorized service.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $1,000.00 for the violation
described in paragraph 6 above; and
Respondent’s non-consent towing license is hereby immediately revoked for the

violation described in paragraph 7 above; and




11, For the violation described in paragraph 8 above, pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §
27-50-1218(d), Respondent is ordered to fully reimburse Eric Scroggins the full
$290.00 he paid for the unauthorized service.

12. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the penalties must be paid no later than
45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a
petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides or does
business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the
date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this / | day of October, 2017

ARKANSAS TQWI _ & RECOVERY BOARD

Sy
JERRY VINT, C’HAIRPEI\SON

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that I have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this 1% day of
October, 2017, to:
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LLC

7821 Zeuber Road
Little Rock, AR 72206

o

Ste\wcmi@
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LIC
# 2018-07-006

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and

Recovery Board (“Board™) on September 19, 2017 at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order;

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent maintained a valid business license and safety permit(s) at al| times
relevant to this incident. The relevant time period is July 12, 2017. Respondent’s
License expires on June 24, 2018,

2. On July 08, 2017, the Respondent towed and stored a 2016 Dodge Dart, owned by
Percy Moore from 5001 W, g5t Street, 1iitle Rock, Arkansas, (Spanish Jon’s
Apartments) without proper prior written authorization of the property owner or
its on-site agent,

3. On luly 05, 2017, TowStorm LLC entered into a contract with Spanish Jon's
Apartments to provide “Fuil Patro] Service” parking enforcement. The contract

provided that “[t]his agreement is appointing the Contractor [TowStorm LLC] to




10.

be an agent of the Clients {Spanish Jons Apartments]. The contract also stated
that “Client hearby [sic] appoints the contractor as an authorized agent of the
above property,”

Danny Thompson, an employee and self-described manager/tow truck driver of
TowStorm LLC, signed the private property removal authorization form to tow
the Complainant’s vehicle.

On July 11, 2017, The Respondent billed and was paid $350.00 for the

unauthorized service.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-30-1101(a)(1}C) by failing to obtain
proper written authorization from the property owner or agent prior to removing a
vehicle from private property.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)(H) by paying
compensation through employment to Respondent’s employee, Danny Thompson,
who signed the private property removal form as the requesting agent.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(e)(1)(D) by overcharging for
all services related to this unauthorized service. |

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $1,000.00 for the violation
described in paragraph 6 above; and
Respondent’s non-consent towing license is hereby immediately revoked for the

violation described in paragraph 7 above; and




Il For the violation described in paragraph 8 above, pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §
27-260-1218(d), Respondent is ordered to fully reimburse Percy Moore the full
$350.00 he paid for the unauthorized service.

12, Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the penalties must be paid no later than
45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and .Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board's decision by filing a
petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides or does
business or in the Circuit Court of Pﬁlaski County within thirty (30) days of the
date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ! | day of October, 2017.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JERRY VIN% Cfm\RP‘ERSON

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that [ have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this ___day of
October, 2017, to:
Nicholas Massey d/b/a TowStorm, LLC

7821 Zeuber Road
Little Rock, AR 72206 /

)

SteQﬁ_&Woar [Ki};'/




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Paul Vujicic d.b.a. Classic 24 hr. Towing & Recovery
# 2018-11-040

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (*Board™) on February 20, 2017, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Paul Vujicic,
owner of Classic 24 hr. Towing & Recovery (“Respondent™), appeared in person. Finding that
proper notice was given Respondent, the Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the

following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

—

Respondent, did not maintain a valid consent/non-consent towing license and
safety permit(s) at all times relevant to this hearing. The relevant time
period being November 16, 2017.

2. On November 16, 2017, the Respondent towed a red, Dodge, Durango,
AR# DV33878, at the request of Mallory Mann, the vehicle owner.

3. On November 16, 2017 the respondent billed and was paid $50.00 for the tow
service.

4. Two (2) tow vehicles were located at 334 Mason St., Hot Springs, Arkansas,

(Home residence of Paul Vujicic). A 1988 GMC rollback, AR# B294887 and a

Cab-over UD, wrecker AR# C81871. Neither truck displays a “tow vehicle”




sticker on the license plate. The GMC displayed an expired permit # 15025, The
UD cab-over displayed a fabricated hand drawn forgery of a safety permit.
The Respondent has maintained a website advertising towing and related services

since at least September 2016.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1201 (a) and Board rule 6.1 and 6.2,
by towing a vehicle within the State of Arkansas without first
obtaining/maintaining a valid consent/non-consent towing license and safety
permit.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 {e) (1) (A) and Board Rule 4.1

by overcharging for all unlicensed and unpermitted services related to this tow.

ORDER

Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $5,000.00 for each of the
violations described in paragraphs 6 and 7 above, for a total civil penalty of
Sl0,000.00; the total civil penalty must be paid before Respondent will be
allowed to obtain any towing license from the board.

Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision

by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he




resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty
(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.
IT IS SO ORDERED this day of February, 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

TOM BROWN, VICE-CHAIR

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that | have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this __ day of
February, 2018, to:
Paul Vujicic
d.b.a. Classic 24 Hr. Towing & Recovery

334 Mason St.
Hot Springs, AR 71913

Steve Rogers, Board Director




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Car Martin d.b.a. Martin’s Wrecker Service
# 2018-12-052

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on February 20, 2017, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Carl Martin,
owner of Martin’s Wrecker Service (“Respondent”), did not appear in person but, instead, sent
his son to represent him and the business at the hearing with an authorization form. Finding that
proper notice was given Respondent, the Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the
following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent, maintained a valid consent/non-consent towing license and safety
permit(s) at all times relevant to this hearing. The relevant time
period being November 16, 2017.

2. On December 04, 2017, the Respondent impounded and stored a 2016, Chevy
Pickup, AR# 787UXP, at the request of the Hamburg Police Department
subsequent to the arrest of the two occupants, Johnny Carver (registered owner’s
son) and Angela Cessor (unknown to the registered owner).

3. The 2016, Chevy pickup, AR# 787UXP is registered solely to Ms. Christine
Capps.

4, On December 05, 2017 the respondent accepted $163.50 in cash and released the

vehicle to Mr. David Poole. Mr. Poole was not the registered owner and had no
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ownership or other interest in the vehicle. His involvement was solicited by
Angela Cessor because he had a valid driver’s license.

On December 05, 2017, the registered owner, Ms. Capps went to the
Respondent’s facility. She was informed of the prior release of the vehicle to Mr.
Poole and Ms. Cessor, both unknown to Ms. Capps. Ms. Capps reported the
vehicle stolen to the Hamburg Police Department.

On December 06, 2017, the vehicle was recovered by the El Dorado Police
Department and subsequently towed and stored y Carson’s Garage.

On December 06, 2017, the vehicle was recovered from Carson’s Garage after
paying $241.45. The vehicle was severely damaged and numerous items of
personal property were missing.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1201 (a) and Board rule 4.1 by
releasing the involved vehicle to an unrelated person without requiring proof of
ownership or by other written arrangement between the owner or lienholder and

the towing and storage firm..

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $500.00 for the violation described
in paragraph 8 above, and
Respondent or his agent is required to take a rules and regulations class from the
Board’s director or inspectors within 30 days from the date of service of this

Order.




11, Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision
by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he
resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty
(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this éﬁ day of m’ 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

//‘mﬂ/gnm\

TOM BROWN, VICE-CHAIR/VAN

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify

that I have served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a

copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this'é day of
F ary, 2018, to:

rsf oard Direstor




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Big Daddy Bail Bonds In¢. Unlimited Recovery Towing
#2018-02-065

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on July 17, 2018, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Respondent appeared by its
counsel, Ben Honaker, and by its executive director, Kevin W. Caldwell. The Board, from all
the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1 Respondent, did not maintain a valid consent/non-consent towing license and .
safety permit(s) during all time periods relevant to this hearing the relevant time
period being August 2017 to the present. The Respondent’s license expired June
18, 2015.

F-2  On August 11, 2017, Respondent towed and stored a 2007 sportliner pop up
camper. The vehicle was reported stolen in Tennessee on August 17, 2017,

F-3 On Januvary 27, 2018, the Respondeﬁt billed $100.00 for the unlicensed tow,
$1900.00 for the unlicensed storage, and $125.00 in tax on those services.

F-4  On February 5, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a request for information
pursuant to a consumer complaint. Respondent replied only with a short letter
received by the Board on February 28, 2018, that did not provide all of the

information requested.




CONCLUSION OF LAW

C-1  Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 (e) (1) (E) and Board Rule 4.1
by failing to provide to the Board all documents in response to information
requests by the Board pursuant to the investigation of consumer complaints
against it.

ORDER

1. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $2,500.00 for the violation
described in Conclusions of Law C-1;

2. Respondent is ordered to produce all documents requested by the Board,
including those in the possession of its attorney(s) at the time of the hearing,
within 15 days of service of this Order upon his attorney in this action; and

3. Per Ark. Code Ann, § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions
of Law, and Order, unlesé Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a
petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in Which he resides or does
business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the
date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ] day ofﬁl‘l?y 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JERRY VINT, CHA]RPERSON 7




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Garrick VanCurren d.b.a. Infinity Towing, Recovery & Transport, Inc.
# 2018-02-068

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on March 26, 2019, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Board, from
all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1 ~ OnMay 15, 2018, the Board held a hearing pursuant to a complaint filed against
Respondent regarding the Respondent’s nonconsensual towing of the
complainant’s vehicle.

F-2  Despite receiving legally-sufficient notice, Respondent failed to attend the
hearing.

F-3  Afier consideration of the evidence submitted, the Board found that Respondent
violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-110(a)(1)(C) by failing to obtain proper written
authorization from the property owner or agent prior to removing a vehicle from
private property.

F-4  The Board also found that Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(¢)
(1)(D) by overcharging for all services related to this unauthorized tow.

F-5  The Board ordered Respondent to pay civil penalties totaling $10,000.00 ($5,000
for the violation described in A-3 above and $5,000.00 for the violation described

in A-4 above). The Board also ordered Respondent to pay restitution to the




F-8

F-9

C-1

complainant in the amount of $150.00 pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-
1218(d).

Per Ark, Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the Board ordered Respondent to pay the
civil penalties and restitution no later than 45 days from the date Respondent
received the Board’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless
Respondent filed an appeal.

On June 3, 2018, Respondent was served with the Board’s Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order.

Respondent has not filed an appeal.

Respondent has not paid the penalties or restitution as ordered by the Board.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent did not file a petition for appeal of the Board’s May 15, 2018,
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order in circuit court in the time
specified by the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act §§ 25-15-201, et. seq.
and Ark. Code Ann § 27-50-1204(¢).
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1) by not paying the civil
penalties and restitution ordered by the Board within 45 days of Respondent’s
receipt of the Board’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order.

ORDER
Per Ark. Code Ann § 27-50-1203(e)(1) and Board Rule 6.8, the Respondent’s
expired license shall not be renewed until the civil penalty and restitution is paid

in full.




2. Per Ark. Code Ann § 27-50-1204(f)(3), the Board shall provide written notice of
the failure to pay the fine within the time required to the Office of Motor Vehicle,
which shall then suspend the tow vehicle license plate and registration. The Board
shall also notify Jocal law enforcement and city officials in the area where
Respondent does business.

3. Per the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act §§ 25-15-201, et. seq. and Ark.
Code Ann § 27-50-1204(e), the Respondent may appeal the Board’s decision. by |
filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides
or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days
of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

~ A7th
IT IS SO ORDERED this,li “day of March, 2019

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

ER@UDM _\/iadc{i‘ (’ﬂﬁ‘i/?.ﬂ/)»&&/
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Big Daddy Bail Bonds Inc. Unlimited Recovery Towing
#2018-02-070

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on July 17, 2018, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Respondent appeared by its
counsel, Ben Honaker, and by its executive director, Kevin W. Caldwell. The Board, from all
the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  Respondent, did not maintain a valid consent/non-consent towing license and
safety permit(s) during all time periods relevant to this hearing the relevant time
period being February 2018. The Respondent’s license expired June 18, 2015.

F-2 On/around February 2018, the Respondent towed and stored a 2012 Hyundai
Sonata with the primary use of a trailer. The vehicle was reported stolen in
Kentucky on October 6, 2017.

F-3 On February 9, 2018, the Respondent billed $1,472.00 for the unlicensed service.

F-4  On February 12, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a request for information
pursuant to a consumer complaint.

F-5  On March 1, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a second request for information

pursuant to a consumer complaint.




C-1

C-3

C-4

C-5

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1201 (a) and Board Rules 6.1 and
6.2 by towing a vehicle within the State of Arkansas without first
obtaining/maintahﬁng a valid consent/non-consent towing license and safety
permit(s).

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(¢) (1) (D) and Board Rule 4.1
by billing $1,472.00 for the unlicensed service.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 (e) (1) (A) and Board Rule 7.4
(4) by utilizing an un-permitted trailer as a primary tow vehicle for non—c(;nsent
towing.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 (¢) (1) and Board Rule 4.1 by
failing to provide to the Board all documents in response to information requests
by the Board pursuant to the investigation of consumer complaints against it.
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1218(0)(3)(A) and Board Rule 4.1
by failing to respond to a request from the board for additional information
relevant to the consumer complaint within ten (10) business days after receiving
the request. |

ORDER

. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $5,000.00 for the violation

described in Conclusion of Law C-1;
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $1,500.00 for the violation

described in Conclusion of Law C-2;




3. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $1,500.00 for the violation
described in Conclusion of Law C-3;

4. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $2,500.00 for the violation
described in Conclusion of Law C-4;

5. Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $2,500.00 for the violation
described in Conclusion of Law C-5; and

6. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no 1ater
than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions
of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision by filing a
petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides or does
business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days of the
date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

=
IT IS SO ORDERED this '] day of.Jul¥, 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JERRY VINT, CHAMRPERSON




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
‘Fammie Weise d.b.a. Weise Towing & Auto Service, LLC.
# 2018-02-071

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on May 15, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. The Respondent did not
appear. After determining that Respondent was properly served with notice of the hearing, the
Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of
Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1 Respondent, maintained a valid consent/non-consent towing license and
safety permit(s) until expiration on January 26, 2018. The relevant time
period concerning this hearing is November 23, 2016 to February 5, 2018.

F-2  On November 23, 2016, the Respondent towed and stored a 1998 red Dodge Ram
pickup at the request of and with the authorization of the Benton Police Department.

F-3  On June 7, 2017, the owner, Christopher Wynn, reported the vehicle stolen to the
Saline County Sheriff’s Department.

F-4  On February 2, 2018, the Respondent sold the vehicle to Samantha Butler for
$1,200.00.

F-5  On February 5, 2018, the 1998 Dodge Ram was stopped and impounded by Sgt.

Plouch of the Arkansas State Police due to its being reported stolen.




F-6

F-8

C-1

C-2

C-3

On February 22, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a request for information
pursuant to a consumer complaint.

On March 19, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a second request for information
pursuant to a consumer complaint.

On March 20, 2018, Arkansas Towing & Recovery Board Chief Investigator
Watson went to the Respondent’s facility located at 900 S. Second St. Benton,
Arkansas and contacted Owner, Tammie Weise. Ms. Weise supplied an invoice,
interactive title search, and a Benton Police impound report. Ms. Weise said she
had no other paperwork requested pursuant to this investigation.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 (c¢) (1) and Board Rule 4.1 by
failing to provide to the Board all documents in response to information requests
by the Board pursuant to the investigation of consumer complaints against the
permittee or licensee.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1218(c)(3)(A) and Board Rule 4.1 by
failing to respond to a request from the board for additional information relevant to
the consumer complaint within ten (10) business days after receiving the request.
(B) Failure to respond to a request by a towing company shall result in a daily fine
of up to twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per day until the information requested is
received by the board.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. §27-50-1209 (b) (2) and Board Rule 4.1 by

failing to sell the involved vehicle within ninety (90) days after perfection of the




C-4

lien or forty-five (45) days after the release of any law enforcement hold or other
official hold, whichever is later.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. §27-50-1209 d) (1) and Board Rule 4.1 by
failing to obtain written verification that the Arkansas Crime Information Center

records did not list the vehicle as having been reported stolen.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a total of $4,300.00 in fines and civil penalties as
follows:
$500.00 civil penalty for the violation described in C-1 above,
$1,800.00 fine (72 days x $25 per day) for the violation described in C-2 above;
$1,000.00 civil penalty for the violation described in C-3 above; and
$1,000.00 civil penalty for the violation described in C-4 above.
Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalties and fines must be paid
no later than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision
by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides
or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days

of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this day of May, 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JERRY VINT, CHAIRPERSON




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Bob MeCallie d.b.a. MeCallie Wrecker Service, Inc.
# 2018-03-079

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board™) on May 15, at the Office of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board, 7418 North Hills Blvd., North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116. Bob McCallie, owner of
McCallie Wrecker Service, Inc. (“Respondent”), appeared iﬁ person. The Board, from all the
evidence presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1 Respondent, maintained a valid consent/non-consent towing license and
safety permit(s) during all time periods relevant to this hearing, the relevant time
period being February 28, 2018. The Respondents license expires August 5,
2018.

F-2  On February 28, 2018, the Respondent towed and stored a 2010Hond5;1 Accord at
the request of the Arkansas State Police after it was involved in a multi-vehicle
collision. The vehicle sustained minor/moderate rear end damage and came to rest
in a grass median on 140,

F-3 The Complainant, Karen McCall alleged the fees billed by the Respondent were
unreasonable under the circumstances. The Complainant was billed and paid a
total of $715.00 for the entire service which included $100.00 for a second

consent tow, ordered by the Complainant.




F-4

F-5

C-1

C-2

On March 6, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a request for information pursuant
t0 a consumer complaint.

On March 21, 2018, the Respondent was mailed a second request for information
pursuant to a consumer complaint. The Respondent never provided the
information requested by the investigator.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203 (e) (1) (E) and Board Rule 4.1
by failing to provide to the Board all documents in response to information
requests by the Board pursuant to the investigation of consumer complaints
against the permittee or licensee,
Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1218(c)3)(A) and Board Rule 4.1
by failing to respond to a request from the board for additional information
relevant to the consumer complaint within ten (10) business days after receiving
the request. (B) Failure to respond to a request by a towing company shall result
in a daily fine of up to twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per day until the information
requested is received by the board.

ORDER
Respondent is ordered to pay a civil penalty of $200.00 ($100.00 for each of the
violations described in Conclusions of Law C-1 and C-2 above); and
Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later
than 45 days from the date Respondent receives this Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Board’s decision

by filing a petition for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he




resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty
(30) days of the date on the certificate of service attached to this Order.
IT IS SO ORDERED this day of May, 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

JERRY VINT, CHAIRPERSON

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Steve Rogers, Director of the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, do hereby certify
that Thave served a copy of these Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order by mailing a
copy of same, by regular mail and by certified U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, on this ___ day of
May, 2018, to:
Bob McCallie
MeCallie Wrecker Service, Ine.

865 East Frontage Road
Lonoke, AR 72086

Steve Rogers, Board Director




BEFORE THE ARKANSAS TOWING AND RECOVERY BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF
Lancam Towing & Transportation / Auto Sales LLC,
#2018-05-099

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW., AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas Towing and
Recovery Board (“Board”) on September 18, 2018, at the Office of the Arkansas Attorney
General, 323 Center St., Suite 200, Little Rock, AR 72201. The Respondent appeared by its
representative, Kevin Langel. The Board was represented by Assistant Attorney General Karen
Virginia Wallace. The Board, from all the evidence presented, makes the following Findings of
Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order:

FINDINGS OF FACT

F-1  The Requndent maintained a valid consent/non-consent towing license and
safety permit(s) during all time periods relevant to this hearing, the relevant time
period being January 2018 to present. The Respondent’s license expires April 17,
2019.

F-2  On or around early January 2018, the Respondent towed and stored a 1997
Freightliner FLD semi-truck that had been parked at a property at 4525 Barraque
St. Pine Bluff, AR. The vehicle was owned by Complainant Alvern Wells-Batemon
and her husband, Billy Batemon.

F-3  Respondent towed the semi-truck without proper prior written authorization of the
property owner or the vehicle owners.

F-4  Respondent has refused to release the truck to the vehicle owners until he is paid

$175.00 towing fee for the unauthorized service.




C-1

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1203(e)(1)(D) and Board Rule 4.1 by
overcharging the complainant a total of $175.00 for an unnecessary and
unreasonable tow fee.

Respondent violated Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1101(a)(1)(C) by failing to obtain
proper written authorization from the property owner or agent prior to removing a

vehicle from private property.

ORDER

. For the violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-1, Respondent is ordered to release

the truck to Complainant Alvern Wells-Batemon within five days of the date of this

Order; and

. For the violation stated in Conclusion of Law C-2, Respondent is ordered to pay a

civil penalty in the amount of $2,500; and

. Per Ark. Code Ann. § 27-50-1204(f)(1), the civil penalty must be paid no later than

45 days from the date Respondent receives this Finding of Fact, Conclusions of
Law, and Order, unless Respondent appeals the Boérd’s decision by filing a petition
for judicial review in the Court in the county in which he resides or does business
or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30} days of the date on the

certificate of service attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this day of September, 2018.

ARKANSAS TOWING & RECOVERY BOARD

TOM BROWN, VICE CHAIR (ACTING CHAIR)




