Department of Labor and Licensing Arkansas Auctioneers Licensing Board

#### Fall 2023 Volume 1, Issue 1

# The Auctioneer

## ACT 677 of 2023

Act 677 of 2023, effective August 1, 2023, provides for the licensing and regulation of online auctions and estate sales. Anyone who conducts an online auction or estate sale within



the State of Arkansas must be licensed by the board.

In addition to the above changes, we will have a 30 day grace period, beginning June 30, 2024, instead of 120 days. The late fee of \$200 will apply starting 30 days

AFTER your expiration date, which is June 30th. Your continuing education is still required, if you aren't exempt, before your renewal will be processed.

A link to the full Act 677 can be found on our website, <u>www.aralb.com</u>.

## New Online Portal

Thank you all for your patience while we roll out our new online platform for applications and renewals. I know, for some of you, it was a rough start, but you completed it; we appreciate that and are PROUD of you! If you mailed your check, thank you, we processed it for you online.

If you do not have an e-mail address and plan to continue renewing your license, I recommend getting one. They are free; please also don't forget to provide it to us once you have one. We will not be mailing renewal forms in the coming year.



#### Inside this issue

New Online Portal2	
Meet the Director3	
Sanctions	

#### Special points of interest

- New Act
- New Online Portal
- Director



# New Online Portal, cont.

I understand that the system is new and different which may sometimes be frustrating, We are here to help, and always have been, you just have to give us the opportunity. We have helped several get logged in and they were successful with their online renewal. activation link and user name back in June of 2023. If you did not utilize that to activate your account, we can resend it and provide the user name. If once you get logged in, the "renew now" link doesn't work, it typically means your pop-up blocker is turned on and needs to be turned off. You can google it (if you don't know how) or call us to help

We sent out e-mails with an

We are here to help, and always have been, you just have to give us the opportunity.

## New Online Portal, cont.

(we will google it too). We also recommend doing the initial setup on a desktop computer/laptop/tablet, NOT a phone. With this new system you will also be responsible for uploading your education certificate yourself during the renewal process. You need 6 hours every year (unless you are exempt).

Lastly, we are not mailing licenses. You will need to log into your account to save/print a copy of your license. You can save it to your phone, laptop, computer or tablet. You can also print it to any medium you wish. There are instructions on our website on how to shrink it to "pocket card" size if that is something you would like to do. We know the system isn't perfect (what is when it's new?), but it is what we are using going forward!



### <u>*#* of licenses per license</u> <u>type:</u>

Non-Resident Auction House-0 Resident Auction House-6 Reciprocal Auction House-0 Non-Resident Auctioneer-73 Resident Auctioneer-560 Reciprocal Auctioneer-61 Board Members and Staff Nick Fowler-Chair Johnny Mitchum-Vice Chair Carol Hopkins Lisa Miller Allen Roberson Trey Weaver Vacant Kelli Black-Director Jan Gray-Admin.

## Meet the Director

Hello All! I am sorry that it has taken us so long to get to this introduction. I have "met" a lot of you just via phone calls and emails, which I have always enjoyed, but I haven't really introduced myself.

I am Kelli Black. I am the Director of the Auctioneers Licensing Board and The Board of Registra-



tion for Professional Geologists. I am the current president of NALLOA, the National Auctioneer Licensing Law Officials Association. I was born and raised in Little Rock. I have two dogs, a fondness for bowling and enjoy spending time with my family. It is my pleasure to serve as your Director and I look forward to working with each of you.

Sanctions: Gaylen McGee, license number 1808, was suspended for 1.5 years on 6-19-23 and given



a fine of \$2,250.00

