BEFORE THE BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS OF THE STATE OF
ARKANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING

DIVISION OF LABOR

IN RE: Ronnie Evatt DBA Evatt Electric
189 Hwy 107
Vilonia, AR 72173
Case # JB05232023D
ORDER

On this 19" day of September 2023, this matter came before the Board of Electrical
Examiners of the Department of Labor and Licensing of the State of Arkansas (the “Board”).
Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the Board.
Ronnie Evatt (“Evatt™) was properly notified and appeared before the Board on behalf of Evatt
Electric for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the

following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. On May 23, 2023, Board Inspector, Joshua Baldwin (“Baldwin™), performed electrical
license checks at a new construction site in Saline County, Arkansas.
2. Baldwin testified that he made contact with Grant Moody, Garrett Brady, and Harvey

Brady who had been engaging in electrical work at the jobsite.

) Grant Moody provided Baldwin his apprentice license (EA-23387) which had been
expired since May 31, 2021.

4. Garrett Brady provided Baldwin his apprentice license (EA-26025) which had been
expired since August 31, 2022.

% Baldwin made contact with Harvey Brady and discovered that he had passed his

journeyman exam but failed to complete the registration online to obtain the journeyman license.



Harvey Brady had been performing electrical work for 21 months without the journeyman

license.

6. Code Enforcement Coordinator Supervisor, Samantha Martinez (“Martinez™), testified
that staff issued a penalty of $150 for each month that Evatt Electric employed electricians with

either an expired license or no license for a total period of 54 months.

7. Martinez testified that the individual electricians were also issued a penalty of $50 per
month.
8. Evatt testified that since this incident, his staff has compiled a list of all employees and

their dates for renewing their clectrical licenses.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. No person shall perform clectrical work in this state or display or use any title, sign, card,
advertisement, or other device to indicate that the person performs electrical work or is an
electrician unless the person has first obtained a license to perform electrical work pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter, or the individual is exempted from licensing pursuant to the

provisions of this chapter. Arkansas Code § 17-28-304.

2 Arkansas Code § 17-28-309(b)(1) provides that “[a] civil penalty may be assessed against
any person, firm, or corporation by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Boards and Commissions and subject to appeal and hearing before the Board of Electrical
Examiners of the State of Arkansas according to the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §

25-15-201 et seq., if it is determined that the person, firm, or corporation has violated any:

(A) Provision of this chapter;
(B) Provision in the Arkansas Electrical Code Authority Act, § 20-31-101 et seq.;
(C) Rule or order issued by the board; or

(D) Condition of a license, certificate, or registration issued by the board.”

3. For each violation, the penalty shall not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) fora first
offense. Arkansas Code § 17-28-309(b)(2)(A).

4. The Board votes to lower the penalty for each violation from $150 per month to $50 per

month for a total penalty in the amount of $2,700 against Evatt Electric.



IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Evatt Electric is assessed a civil money penalty in
the amount of $2,700.
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