BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING

STATE OF ARKANSAS
IN RE: Choice Home Warranty
2147 NJ-27
Floor 4
Edison, NJ 08817-3365
ORDER

On this 8" day of March 2023, this matter came before the HVACR Licensing Board (the
“Board”). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented
the agency. Choice Home Warranty (“CHW™) was properly notified via USPS but did not
appear before the Board for the hearing. Based on testimony and other evidence, the Board

makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On January 25, 2023, the Board issued a civil money penalty to CHW in the total
amount of $750.00. This sum includes a civil penalty of $250.00 under Arkansas Code § 17-33-
301 for each of the three violations for employing a technician to perform HVACR work without

a license.

.S On January 30, 2023, at 1:51 p.m., CHW received timely notice of the hearing
before the Board which would be held on Wednesday, March 8, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. The notice

included a ZOOM link for virtual attendance.

3. Code Enforcement Director, Lindsay Moore (“Moore™), testified that CHW
contracted with Darren Hayes (“Hayes™) DBA “License 2 Chill” to perform HVACR work at the
residence of Crissy Buffkin on November 24, 2021.



4. Moore testified that Hayes was not licensed on November 24, 2021, and has never
been licensed with the HVACR Board.

3. Moore, along with Chief HVACR Section Manager Anthony Woodard and Code

Enforcement Coordinator, Samantha Martinez, met with Hayes on July 1, 2022. Moore testified

that Hayes confirmed that he was contracted to perform HVACR work by CHW for three (3)
days. Hayes did not deny that he had been working without a license when CHW contracted

with him.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibits any person from performing

heating, ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

4 Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil money penalty
subject to hearing by the Board for any violation of the State HVACR Code, statutes, or rules
adopted by the Board.

3 The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per

violation for a first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105.

4. The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and assesses a civil money

penalty against CHW in the amount of $750.00.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil money penalty is hereby assessed against
Choice Home Warranty in the amount of $750.00.
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