BEFORE THE HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION
LICENSING BOARD

DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: Chad Walls, individually and
Expert Heat and Air
113 Lauren Ln.
Lonoke, AR 72086
ORDER

On this 13" day of April 2022, this matter came before the Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Licensing Board of the State of Arkansas. Miles
Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the agency. Joe

Walls was properly notified and appeared before the Board via zoom. Based on the testimony

and other evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On March 16, 2022, the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing issued a notice of
rescheduling of hearing on violations and proposed monetary penalties in the amount of
$1,750.00 to Chad Walls dba Expert Heat and Air (“Walls”). This sum includes a civil
penalty of $250.00 each for 7 separate violations of the State HVACR code as adopted by
the Board.

2. Chad Walls was timely notified and appeared before the Board via zoom on Wednesday

April 13, 2022.



3. There were two separate inspections arising from two separate complaints regarding
work performed by Mr. Walls.

4. Inspectors determined 7 violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the Board
including the failure to pull permits from the local municipality for each jobsite.

5. Included in the inspection reports were copies of text messages reflecting conversations
from Walls and each complainant regarding the work that Walls failed to complete.

6. Walls acknowledged his failure to pull permits with the local municipalities for each job.

Walls also testified about issues between his business and a warranty company, Choice

Home Warranty.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-202 et seq. authorizes the Department of Labor and Licensing to
assess a civil money penalty subject to appeal to the Board for licensing violations;
violations of the HVACR Code Authority Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204 et seq,; and
violations of rules promulgated by the Board.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-307(2) authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke any license or
registration if it finds that the holder of the license or registrant has demonstrated
incompetency to act as a license holder or registrant according to rules and standards
promulgated by the board.

3. The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per violation fora
first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204. The penalties are also
within the guidelines established by the rule of the Board.

4. The Board, in its discretion, may increase or decrease a penalty taking into consideration:



€.

f.

The degree and extent of harm to the public safety or to property, or the potential
harm;

The duration and gravity of the violation;

Whether the violation was committed willfully or intentionally, or reflects a
continuing pattern;

Whether the violation involved elements of fraud or deception either to the public
or the Board, or both;

The violator’s prior disciplinary record with the Board;

Whether and to the extent which the violator profited by the violation.

5. Inthe present case, the Board has not increased the civil money penalty assessed against

Mr. Walls.

6. The Board voted to uphold the staff recommendation of a civil money penalty in the

amount of $1,750.00.

7. Furthermore, the Board voted to suspend Mr. Walls’s HVACR license for one year and

require him to retake the HVACR licensing examination.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the one-year suspension and civil money penalty

assessed by the Director of the Department of Labor and Licensing against Chad Walls

dba Expert Heat and Air in the amount of $1,750.00 is affirmed.
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