BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: Chad Wali
195 Wolf Branch Rd.

Greenbrier, AR 72058

ORDER

On the 13" day of September 2023, this matter came before the HVACR Licensing
Board (the “Board”). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing
represented the Board. Chad Wall (“Wall”) was properly notified but failed to appear before the
Board for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the

following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On August 7, 2023, the Board issued a Notice of Hearing on Violations and Proposed
Penalties (the “Notice”) to Wall. The Notice provided that a hearing before the HVACR
Licensing Board would be held on Wednesday September 13, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. in the fourth-
floor board room of the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing (the “Department”).

Z; Wall did not appear before the Board.

;. 4 Anthony Woodard (“Woodard”), HVACR Section Chief Inspector, testified that an
inspection was conducted on July 6, 2023, at the residence of Brandon Mink (“Mink”) who filed
a complaint with the Department.

4, During the investigation, Mink advised that the job was paid in full, and that Chad Wall
and Darren Hayes (“Hayes”) performed the HVACR work. The inspection revealed multiple
violations of the State HVACR mechanical code (“Code”).




5. Woodard was aware that both Wall and Hayes did not possess valid HVACR licenses due

to outstanding civil money penalties previously issued by the Board.

6. The inspection revealed eight (8) violations of the State HVACR mechanical code
(“Code™).

7. Mink provided a copy of two cancelled checks made out o Darren Hayes for $1,710.00
and $75.00. Mink also provided a copy of a cancelled check made out to Chad Wall for $349.65.

8. In the inspection report, Wall is cited for engaging in HVACR work without the proper

license at the Mink residence on three (3) separate occasions and eight (8) separate violations of
the Code.

9. The Board finds that Wall performed HVACR work without the proper license on three
(3) separate occasions and another eight (8) violations of the Code.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

j 2 It is unlawful for any person to engage in HVACR work without the appropriate license
or registration provided by Arkansas law, unless exempt under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 et

seq.

2 Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil penalty not to exceed
two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for any violation of the State HVACR mechanical code,
statutes, or rules adopted by the Board. Each day of a continuing violation may be treated as a

separate violation.

3 Wall engaged in HVACR work without the proper license on three (3) separate occasions

resulting in eight (8) separate violations of the Code.

4, The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and hereby assesses a civil money

penalty in the amount of $3,500 against Wall.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Board imposes a civil money penalty against
Chad Wall in the amount of $3,500.00.
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