BEFORE THE HVAC/R BOARD
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: Benedicto Meneses
DBA - BYM Heating — Cooling & Mechanical
233 E. Colorado Ave
Springdale, AR 72764

ORDER

On this 7" day of February 2024, this matter came before the HVACR board of the Department of
Labor and Licensing of the State of Arkansas (the “Board”). Samantha L. Martinez, Code Enforcement
Coordinator Supervisor, Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, presented to the Board. Benedicto
Meneses (“Meneses”) was properly notified and did not appear before the Board. Based on testimony and
other evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On November 6, 2023, ADLL Inspector Don Brannen performed an HVACR inspection at the
residence of John & Charity Ford (“Ford”) located in Hindsville, Arkansas following a complaint
filed by Mrs. Ford.

2. Meneses performed HVACR work for the Fords from December 2022 until October 2023.

3. Meneses’ HVACR license was revoked by the Board on or about January 11, 2023, and has not
been reinstated.

4. The inspection revealed ninety-two (92) specific violations of Arkansas Code § 17-33-101 et seq.
and IMC mechanical code, including without limitation Meneses continuing to perform HVACR
work after the revocation of his license on January 11, 2023.

5. Meneses was served with a hearing notice on or about December 18, 2023, but did not appear
before the Board.

6. ADLL field inspector Don Brannen testified before the Board and recommended the maximum

civil money penalty of $23,000.00 ($250.00 per violation) be assessed to Meneses.



CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:
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It shall be the duty of the HVACR Board of the state of Arkansas to review all matters brought to
them related 1o licensing and inspection of HIVACR work. Arkansas Code § 17-33-202(4).
Arkansas Code § 17-33-305(2) states the Board shall have the power to revoke or suspend any
license or registration for cause. This includes. but is not limited to. the performance ol HVACR
work which does not comply with the provisions of the current mechanical code. as adopted by the
Board.

Arkansas Code § 17-33-105 states the Board may find monetany penalties may be warranted as a
result of violations based upon the testimony. evidence, staff’ recommendations. and all other
matters presented. Penalties assessed may not exceed $250.00 per day per violation.

The Board agrees with the stafl recommendation 1o assess a civil money penalty in the amount of
$23.000.00 and to continue with the revocation of Meneses” license.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil money penalty is hereby assessed against Benedicto

Meneses in the amount of $23.000.00.
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Daniel L. Parker

Chiel Legal Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol Ave Suite 400

Little Rock, AR 72201



