BEFORE THE BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS OF THE STATE OF
ARKANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING

DIVISION OF LABOR

IN RE: Ben Fureigh DBA Fureigh Electric, Inc.
31 Drillers Dr.
Conway, AR 72032
Case # JB05252023C
ORDER

On this 19 day of September 2023, this matter came before the Board of Electrical
Examiners of the Department of Labor and Licensing of the State of Arkansas (the “Board Y,
Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the Board.
Ben Fureigh (“Fureigh™) was properly notified and appeared before the Board on behalf of
Fureigh Electric, Inc. for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the Board

makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT

I On May 25, 2023, Board Inspector, Joshua Baldwin (“Baldwin™), performed electrical

license checks at a new construction site in Prairie County, Arkansas.

2 Baldwin testified that he noticed a Fureigh Electric truck on site and then made contact
with Kobe Anderson and Brendon Savage. Both Anderson and Savage were apprentices
performing electrical work without the supervision of a master electrician or journeyman

electrician.

3. Kobe Anderson provided Baldwin his apprentice license (EA-25432) which had been

expired since February 28, 2022,

4. Brendon Savage provided Baldwin his apprentice license (EA-22869) which had been
expired since November 30, 2020.



3. Code Enforcement Coordinator Supervisor, Samantha Martinez (“Martinez”), testified
that staff issued a penalty of $150 for each month that Fureigh Electric, Inc. employed

electricians with an expired license for a total period of 38 months.

6. Martinez testified that the individual electricians were also issued a penalty of $50 per
month,
7. Jeremy Holmes, employee with Fureigh Electric, Inc. testified that Brendon Savage was

hired on August 8, 2022,

8. Fureigh testified that he employs 70-80 electricians and that he met with Baldwin to

confum the renewal dates for cach clectrician.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

L. No person shall perform electrical work in this state or display or use any title, sign, card,
advertisement, or other device to indicate that the person performs electrical work or is an
clectrician unless the person has first obtained a license to perform electrical work pursuant to
the provisions of this chapter, or the individual is exempted from licensing pursuant to the
provisions of this chapter. Arkansas Code § 17-28-304.

2. An apprentice electrician shall not engage in electrical work unless he or she is
supervised by a master electrician or a Journeyman electrician. Arkansas Code § 17-28-
312(b)X1).

3. Arkansas Code § 17-28-309(b)(1) provides that “[a] civil penalty may be assessed against
any person, firm, or corporation by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Boards and Commissions and subject to appeal and hearing before the Board of Electrical
Examiners of the State of Arkansas according to the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §
25-15-201 et seq., if it is determined that the person, firm, or corporation has violated any:

(A) Provision of this chapter;
(B) Provision in the Arkansas Electrical Code Authority Act, § 20-31-101 et seq.;
(C) Rule or order issued by the board: or

(D) Condition of a license, certificate, or registration issued by the board.”

4. For each violation, the penalty shall not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) fora first
offense. Arkansas Code § 17-28-309(b)(2 ) A).



5 The Board votes to lower the penalty for each violation from $150 per month to $50 per

month for a total penalty in the amount of $1.250 against Fureigh Electric, Inc.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Fureigh Electric, Inc. is assessed a civil money
penalty in the amount of $1.250.
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