BEFORE THE HVACR LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: AARON COFFER
612 W 33rd St
North Little Rock, AR 72118

ORDER

On this 12th day of October 2022, this matter came before the HVACR Licensing Board
(the “Board™). Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing,
represented the agency. Aaron Coffer (“Coffer”) was properly notified and did not appear before
the Board in person or via zoom for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the

Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On September 9, 2022, the Board issued a civil money penalty to Aaron Cofferin the
total amount of $5,500.00. This sum includes a civil penalty of $250.00 under Arkansas
Code § 17-33-105 for each of the twenty (20) violations of the State heating, ventilation,
air conditioning, and refnigeration (“HVACR™) code and $500.00 for one (1) violation of

Arkansas Code § 17-33-301 by performing HVACR work without a license.



2. On September 14, 2022, Coffer received timely notice that his hearing before the Board
would be held on Wednesday October 12, 2022, at 10:00 a.m.

3. Inspector Doug Pearson determined twenty-one (21) violations of the State HVACR
Code, statutes, and rules as adopted by the Board.

4. Included in Pearson’s inspection report are photos depicting said violations on June 9,
2022, and Facebook posts indicating that Aaron Coffer performs HVACR work.

3. Coffer did not appear in-person or via zoom for the hearing,

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

I. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibit any person from performing heating,
ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-105 authorizes the Board to assess a civil money penalty subject
to hearing by the Board for any violation of the State HVACR Code, statutes, or rules
adopted by the Board.

3. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-307 authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke any license or
registration 1f it finds that the holder of the license or registrant has demonstrated
incompetency to act as a license holder or registrant or has violated the State HVACR
Caode, statutes, or rules promulgated by the Board.

4. The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per violation fora
first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-1 O5(a) 1) AXi), The
penalties are also within the guidelines established by the rules of the Board.

5. The Board agrees with the staff recommendation and assesses a civil money penalty

against Mr, Cofferin the amount of $5,500.00.



6. Inspector Pearsun spoke with Coller on two (2) separate occasions and explained the

violations. Colfer had the opportunity 1o correct the violations but willfully ignored

Inspector Pearson.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that a civil money penalty i< herehy assessed agans

Aaron Colferin the amount of $3.500.00),
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