BEFORE THE HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION
LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: GLEN REAVIS, individually and
AC HEROES
609 Neal Street
Farmington, AR 72730
Case #BB12102020B
ORDER

On the 14™ day of April 2021, this matter came before the Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Licensing Board of the State of Arkansas. Marcus C.
Devine, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the agency. Glen
Reavis was properly notified and informed of the hearing but did not attend. Based on the
testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of
Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On March 9, 2021, the Arkansas Department of Labor issued a civil money
penalty to Mr. Glen Reavis in the total amount of $1750.00. This sum represented a $250
penalty for performing HVACR work without a proper permit. Additionally, this sum includes a
civil penalty of $250 each for 6 separate violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the
Board.

2. Glen Reavis was timely notified of his hearing before the Board which was held

on Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 10 a.m.

3. Glen Reavis is not currently licensed by the HVACR Licensing Board.



4. Glen Reavis was doing business and held himself out as being licensed and able

to contract for and complete HVACR work.

5. Glen Reavis has performed the HVACR work without a license.
6. There were 7 violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the board.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibits any person from performing
heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-202 et. seq. authorizes the Department of Labor and
Licensing to assess a civil money penalty subject to appeal to the board for licensing violations;
violations the HVACR Code Authority Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204 ef seq.; and violations
of rules promulgated by the board.

3. The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250 per violation for
a first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204. The penalties also are within

the guidelines established by rule of the board.

4. The board, in its discretion, may increase or decrease a penalty taking into
consideration:

a. The degree and extent of harm to the public safety or to property, or the

potential for harm;

b. The duration and gravity of the violation;

& Whether the violation was committed willfully or intentionally, or reflects

a continuing pattern;

d. Whether the violation involved elements of fraud or deception either to the

public or the Board, or both;

s The violator’s prior disciplinary record with the Board;

f. Whether and to the extent which the violator profited by the violation.

5. In the present case the board has not increased the civil money penalty

assessed against Glen Reavis. However, it is important to note:



a. There was no testimony from Mr. Reavis to explain or attempt to mitigate

the proposed violations and the absence of a defense established to the Board his awareness that
the work he was performing that required licensed HVACR personnel. This was willful and
intentional.

b. Mr. Reavis did directly profit from his violations because he was the
contracting party. He was not a mere employee following the instructions of an employer.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the civil money penalty assessed by the Director
of the Department of Labor and Licensing against Glen Reavis in the amount of $1750.00 is
affirmed.
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