Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board P.O. Box 251911 • Little Rock, AR 72225 Phone: (501) 683-3710 • Fax: (501) 682-3574

How to Become A Registered Home Inspector in Arkansas

1. To ensure registration you must attend a home inspector training school approved by the Board with a curriculum of at least 80 hours of classroom training. Correspondence courses or on-line courses are not acceptable.

It is important that you come away from the school with the knowledge needed to successfully complete the competency examination. However, it is much more important, that you come away with knowledge of how to conduct a comprehensive home inspection and write a readily understandable report of your findings.

TO ENSURE REGISTRATION YOU MUST ATTEND A HOME INSPECTOR TRAINING SCHOOL APPROVED BY THE BOARD WITH A CIRRICULUM OF 80 HOURS OF CLASS ROOM TRAINING

You may access a list of schools which have been authorized by the Board to teach the "preregistration" curriculum at:

http://www.ahib.org/Training.php

2. Read the Arkansas law regulating the practice of home inspection in Arkansas. You can access this law at:

Arkansas Code

3. Read the Arkansas Standards Of Practice And Code Of Ethics. The Registration Board has designated these as the standards and code of ethics to be followed by Arkansas home inspectors. You can access the Arkansas Standards of Practice at:

Arkansas Standards and Code of Ethics.

4. Take the competency examination, which is required by Arkansas Code Annotated 17-52-315(b) has been designated by the Registration Board to consist of two parts:

The National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) Information is accessible on the Internet at: <u>http://homeinspectionexam.org/</u>

and the

The ASHI Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics Examination Information is accessible on the Internet at: <u>http://www.catglobal.com/CATGlobal8/demo.asp?context=ashi</u>

5. Download the <u>registration application form</u> or request one by telephone from the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board office at (501) 683-3710.

Purchase at least \$100, 000 in general liability insurance coverage. Obtain an original copy of a Certificate of Insurance which includes all of the following information:

- a) Name and address of the insured (you).
- b) Name, business address, and telephone number of the local agent from whom you obtained the policy.
- c) Name of the actuall insurance company (the carrier) providing the insurance.

- d) Coverage being provided (a minimum of \$100,000.00 general liability).
- e) The insurance policy number.
- f) The "Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board, P.O. Box 251911, Little Rock, AR 72225" must be named as the certificate holder.
- g) The beginning AND ending dates of the coverage.
- h) Signature of the issuing agent.
- j) Cancellation and notification requirements as specified in Ark. Code §17-52-318(a) & (b), i.e., All policies and certificates shall provide that cancellation or renewal of the policy shall not be effective unless and until at least ten (10) days' notice of cancellation or nonrenewal has been received in writing by the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board.)

Complete the registration application and have it notarized.

Mail the application to the Board office along with the following items:

- Pre-registration Education Certificate from an Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board Approved Educator
- Certificate of Insurance.
- Certified true copies of documents showing you have successfully completed both parts of the competency examination.
- A check or money order for the registration fee. Per the rules adopted by the Registration Board, October 21, 2003 and effective November 10, 2003: That registration fee is \$250.00 per year. However, for applications received between July 1 and December 31, the fee

is \$375. That registers you for the balance of the year plus the following calendar year.

Failure to provide all required documents or information on the documents will delay your registration.