BEFORE THE HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION
LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: William Covington, individually and
WILLIAM COVINGTON
418 Jefferson
Benton, AR 72015
ORDER

On the 12" day of August 2020, this matter came before the Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Licensing Board of the State of Arkansas. Marcus C.
Devine, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the agency. William
Covington was properly notified and informed of the hearing but did not attend. Based on the
testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of
Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

L. On June 29, 2020, the Arkansas Department of Labor issued a civil money
penalty to Mr. William Covington in the total amount of $8000.00. This sum represented a $250
penalty for performing HVACR work without a license. Additionally, this sum includes a civil
penalty of $250 each for 31 separate violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the
Board.

2, William Covington was timely notified of his hearing before the Board which was

held on Wednesday August 12, 2020 at 10 a.m.

3. William Covington is not licensed by the HVACR Licensing Board.



4. William Covington was doing business and held himself out as being licensed and

able to contract for and complete HVACR work.

8. William Covington has performed the HVACR work without a license.
6. There were 32 violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the board.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibits any person from performing
heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-202 et. seq. authorizes the Department of Labor and
Licensing to assess a civil money penalty subject to appeal to the board for licensing violations;
violations the HVACR Code Authority Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204 et seq.; and violations
of rules promulgated by the board.

3 The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250 per violation for
a first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204. The penalties also are within

the guidelines established by rule of the board.

4. The board, in its discretion, may increase or decrease a penalty taking into
consideration:

a. The degree and extent of harm to the public safety or to property, or the

potential for harm;

b. The duration and gravity of the violation;

c. Whether the violation was committed willfully or intentionally, or reflects

a continuing pattern;

d. Whether the violation involved elements of fraud or deception either to the

public or the Board, or both;

&, The violator’s prior disciplinary record with the Board,;

f. Whether and to the extent which the violator profited by the violation.

3 In the present case the board has not increased the civil money penalty

assessed against William Covington. However, it is important to note:



a. There was no testimony from Mr. Covington to explain or attempt to
mitigate the proposed violations and the absence of a defense established to the Board his
awareness that the work he was performing that required a licensed HVACR personnel. This
was willful and intentional.

b. Mr. Covington did directly profit from his violations because he was the
contracting party. He was not a mere employee following the instructions of an employer.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the civil money penalty assessed by the Director
of the Department of Labor and Licensing against William Covington in the amount of $8000.00
is affirmed.

HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING and
REFRIGERATION LICENSING BOARD
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

Alan Dean, Chairman

Date: 9’39- 20 AD

Marcus C. Devine, 98097

Assistant General Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 West Capitol

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 682-4507



