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Karen Elizabeth Garrett, Certified Public Accountant, and Partner at Hud-
son Cisne & Company, LLP in Little Rock, has been appointed by Gover-
nor Beebe to serve a five-year term on the Arkansas State Board of Pub-
lic Accountancy.   
 
Karen is a graduate of the University of Central Arkansas, where she re-
ceived a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting in December, 
1993.  Karen began working in public accounting in early 1994 as a staff 
member at Moore Stephens Frost.  She  joined Hudson, Cisne & Co. in 
1996 and became partner in 2005.   
 
Karen is a member of the Arkansas Society of Certified Public Account-
ants, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and Associ-
ated General Contractors of Arkansas. 
 
Karen is very involved in various civic and community organizations, in-
cluding Leadership of Greater Little Rock Class XIX, and Leadership of 
Greater Little Rock Alumni. She is the current Treasurer of Little Rock 
Midtown Rotary and is a member of University of Central Arkansas’ Ac-
counting Advisory Board, and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s 
Accounting Advisory Board. 
 
Karen resides in Conway with her husband Michael and two daughters, 
Megan and Isabelle .   
 
Please welcome Karen to the Arkansas State Board of Public Accoun-
tancy! 

Per Board Rule 13, in order to renew a license, each licensee with an active license to practice public ac-
countancy in the state of Arkansas must have completed acceptable continuing education, except as oth-
erwise provided in Section 13.2(b), in the amount of 120 hours within 36 months or 40 hours within 12 
months immediately preceding January 1 of the year for which the license is renewed.   
 

The Board would like to remind all licensees that are required to take continuing professional education 
(CPE) to obtain their CPE throughout the year, and not wait until the last minute.  Failure to obtain the   
required CPE by December 31st can result in a fine/penalty by the Board.  Please review Board Rule 13 for 
the specific categories in which the CPE must be obtained. 
 

During the 2011 renewal, you will be asked for the NASBA number, Sponsoring Organization, Course Title, 
Date of Completion, Group or Self-Study hours, and the hours of each specific content area of study.  It is 
each licensee’s responsibility to accurately report and maintain this information for 5 years. 

2010 Continuing Education 

Karen Garrett, CPA 



January 7, 2011 
April 22, 2011 

 

Meetings of the Board are open to the public, except under 
state law some portions may be closed to the public.   
 

Unless otherwise noted, meetings are held at the Board 
office at 101 E Capitol, Suite 450, Little Rock, AR and begin 
at 9:00 a.m. 

Board Meeting Schedule 

In accordance with the holiday schedule adopted by the 
State of  Arkansas, the Board office will be closed on the 
following dates: 
 

November 25-26, 2010—Thanksgiving 
December 23-24, 2010—Christmas 

December 31, 2010— New Year’s Day observance 
January 17, 2011— Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 

February 14, 2011— President’s Day 

Board Office Closed 
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CPE Audit Results 

The 2010 CPE Audit began with 250 letters sent with a due date of October 22, 2010. Second notices were sent to 38 with a due 

date of November 29, 2010. Those that do not respond by November 29, 2010 will be referred to the Compliance Committee. The 

results of the 2009 CPE Audit (CPE taken in 2008) are finalized. Fines/penalties have been assessed for failed audits. The compari-

son of 2009 to 2008 results is as follows: 

 
 

 Quality Review Surveys 

In a comparison between the 2010 Quality Review Results and the 2009 QR results, the results are as follows:  
 

        2010 QR Results          2009 QR Results  
 
  Acceptable 116    49%   Acceptable    83    56%  
  Marginal    90   38%   Marginal    40    27%  
  Substandard    31   13%   Substandard    26    17%  
  Total Reports   237  100%   Total Reports   149  100% 
 

The Board would like to thank those who have assisted with the Quality Reviews over the past few years. Your dedi-
cation and time is greatly appreciated.  

 Change in CPE Reporting Procedure for Online Renewals  

Licensees who are renewing their license online will no longer be able to enter any CPE taken outside of the dates from January 1 
through December 31, 2010 for the 2011 license renewal.  Any CPE taken after 12/31/10 for the purposes of the 2011 renewal will 
have to be reported to the Board after an extension request has been approved. 
 
To receive an extension for CPE for your renewal, you must complete the form before 12/31/10.  This form is available on the  
ASBPA website.  The CPE hours approved on the extension form must be submitted via paper form, since those hours approved for 
extension will no longer be permitted to be entered online. 

 2009 Audit  Percentage  2008 Audit Percentage 

Acceptable 98 38.73%  39 17.33% 

Failed 79 31.23%  81 36.00% 

Failed, Passed on Appeal 63 24.90%  87 38.67% 

Referred to Compliance 11 4.35%  17 7.56% 

Auditee Deceased 2 0.79%  1 0.44% 

       TOTAL 253 100%  225 100% 

http://www.arkansas.gov/asbpa/forms/Request%20for%20Extension%20to%20Complete%20CPE%20for%202011%20Annual%20Renewals.pdf
http://www.arkansas.gov/asbpa/forms/Request%20for%20Extension%20to%20Complete%20CPE%20for%202011%20Annual%20Renewals.pdf


2010 Disciplinary Actions 

Revocations, Suspensions, or Surrendered in lieu of further disciplinary actions: 
 

April 2010 
 

On April 23, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Michael W. Gober, Certificate No. 1962R 

issued a revocation of his certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of Professional Con-

duct. 

On April 23, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Michael W. Gober CPA INC, firm Certifi-

cate No. 636C issued a revocation of firm certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of 

Professional Conduct.  

On April 23, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Noel Ernesto Arguello, Certificate No. 

8269R accepted a surrender of certificate in lieu of further disciplinary actions. 

June 2010 
 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Ronald H. McMaster, Certificate No. 

4143 issued a revocation of his certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of Professional 

Conduct. 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Wanda Lea Lorenz, Certificate No. 

4726R issued a revocation of her certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of Profes-

sional Conduct. 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of James E. Stokes, Certificate No. 2810 

issued a revocation of his certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of Professional Con-

duct. 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Donald E. Bridges, Certificate No. 4237 

issued a revocation of his certificate with regard to violations of Accountancy Law, Board Rules and Code of Professional Con-

duct. 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Rick J. Tanneberger, Certificate No. 

1175 accepted a surrender of certificate in lieu of further disciplinary actions. 

On June 18, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Richard D. Perkins, Certificate No. 

1682R accepted a surrender of certificate in lieu of further disciplinary actions. 

August 2010 
 

On August 27, 2010, the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy in the matter of Billie T. Hendricks, Certificate No. 0397 ac-

cepted a surrender of certificate in lieu of further disciplinary actions. 
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Enforcement Actions Taken by the Board  

through October 31, 2010 
   

Cases resolved by Hearing on revocation of license:       6 
Cases resolved due to lack of evidence to support violation:      19 
Cases resolved by Consent Order:                 26 
Cases resolved by Compliance Statement:       13 
Cases resolved with no further action:          5 
Cases resolved by Hearing:          1 
Cases resolved by Voluntary Surrender in lieu of further disciplinary action:      4* 
 Total 2010 Enforcement Cases Resolved and Closed:            74  

* Includes action listed above 



Hobbs, Nicole C. 

Howard, John B. 

King, Zachary B. 

Kirkley-Smith, Tracy J. 

Kramer, Valerie M. 

Lewis, Carla J. 

Mendenhall, Miranda J. 

Miller IV, John H. 

Mooney, Howard Dell 

Antoine, Meghan Marie 

Carraway, Jessica H. 

Chaffen, Eddie W. 

Elmore, Kyle Lee 

Forrest, Michael T. 

Francis, Wendy R. 

Garrett, Alicia L. 

Harrison, Jaclynn 

Henson, Christopher D. 

Moore, Jennifer M. 

Moore, Karen Conrad 

Moschner, Kayla R. 

Parsons, Andrew B. 

Poe, Christopher P. 

Roberts, Charles R. 

Simpson, Justin D. 

Spalding, Kathleen S. 

Whitted, Maresha R. 

July—August 

Dark, Tiffany Amy 

Diaz, Edward Marcus 

Gutierrez, Julienne M. 

Hickman, Jessica D. 

Hoggard, Michael V. 

Horton, Ellie S. 

Lindsey, Keith L. 

Meatte, Justin B. 

Musharbash, Emad J. 

Nichols, Johnathan 

Pierce, Steven M. 

Prater, Misty L. 

Primm, Jessica E. 

Rankin, Donna G. 

Semenova, Darina A. 

Wood, Andrew B. 

April—May 

Alford, Adriene M. 

Alford, Jon David 

Beeson, Megan C. 

Behne, Brandi J. 

Campbell, Charla Renee 

Chandran, Ashwin 

Chappell, Jennifer L. 

Corley, Jeffrey Q. 

Beaston, Kathy M.    

Bogdon, Justin Lee    

Borah, Carrie Marie 

Cassidy, Christopher Andrew 

Chasteen, Christina L. 

Clay, Candice Michelle 

Cross, Keri Veneda 

Gao, Xianbin 

Geer, Debra Kay 

Gieringer, Linda Marie 

Hughes, Natalie Marie 

Leach, Sara 

Leding, Albert Louis 

Lloyd, Penny Lynn 

Luethy, Wade Jordan 
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McCullough, Stephanie Leah 

McDougald, Kimberly A. 

Pellin, Abby 

Phillips, Rebecca Lynn 

Rodgers, Zachary R. 

Shearer, Alex V. 

Smith, Amanda Nicole 

Thomas, Jason Michael 

Travis, Derek Stephen 

Tucker, III, James Claude 

Watkins, Tori Nicole 

White, Danielle Renee 

White, Kevin W. 

Williams, George Doyne 
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2010 Successful Candidates 

January—February  

"Our greatest 

glory is not in 

never failing, 

but in rising up 

every time we 

fail". Ralph 

Waldo Emerson 



Under State law 17-12-505, Arkansas CPAs or PAs may choose to change their License status 
from “Active” to “Inactive.”  The benefit of making this change is a lower license fee ($55 for 
inactive vs. $110 for active) as well as an exemption from the CPE requirement.  However, only 
certain licensees are eligible for inactive status.  The law states that this status is available “for 
licensees who do not perform or offer to perform for the public one or more kinds of services 
involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including issuance of reports on financial state-
ments or of one or more kinds of management advisory, financial advisory, or consulting ser-
vices, or the preparation of tax returns or the furnishing of advice on tax matters.” Note that 
once you decide to change to an inactive status, you are prevented by law from performing any 
of the services mentioned above, even if those services are not a part of your normal full time 
job.  For example, an inactive licensee who works as a controller for a private company cannot 
perform the prohibited services after hours as a second job. 
 
Approximately 40% of the almost 6,000 individuals Licensed with the Arkansas Board are inac-
tive.  Note that these licensees must place the word “inactive” next to their CPA/PA title on any 
business card, letterhead, electronic transmission, or any other document (except their certifi-
cate) on which his or her CPA/PA title appears. 
 
Anyone who converts from an active license to an inactive license can change back to active 
status if circumstances change causing the need for an active license.  However, CPE hours will 
have to be made up by the licensee for the period of time from conversion to inactive status 
through the date of application for an active license, up to 120 hours. 
 
There is also an “inactive/retired” status for those practitioners who are 65 years old or older 

and who do not perform any services set forth in law 17-12-505.  The annual fee for this status 

is $30.  Retirees can convert back to active status under the same conditions discussed for inac-

tive licensees above. 

What does “Inactive” mean? 

OUR MISSION is to 

administer the public 

accountancy statutes 

with the highest degree 

of integrity, competence 

and efficiency 

commensurate with the 

professional standards of 

certified public 

accountants and public 

accountants. 
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Does My Firm Need To Be Registered? 

Do you have questions about whether your firm should be registered with the Arkansas State Board of Accountancy? 
If you answer yes to any of these questions, please contact the Board to get the registration paperwork started! 
 

1. Do you, your corporation/company or partnership maintain a physical presence in Arkansas and: 
a. engage in the practice of public accounting, or use the title CPA or CPA firm, OR; 
b. hold out to the public as a partnership, corporation, or limited liability company made up of Certified Public Account-

ants or Public Accountants, OR; 
c. your corporation/company is registered with the Arkansas Secretary of State for the stated purpose of practicing  

public accounting, OR; 
d. a corporate shield defense is a part of your strategy with regard to litigation involving the accounting/tax services you 

provide? 
 

2.  Do you or your firm not maintain a physical presence in Arkansas, but you or your firm perform within the state: 
a. an audit or other engagement to be performed in accordance with the “Statements on Auditing Standards”, OR; 
b. an examination of prospective financial information to be performed in accordance with the “Statements on Stan-

dards for Attestation Engagements”, OR;  
c. an engagement to be performed in accordance with PCAOB standards? 

 
If you answered Yes to question 1 or 2, per A.C.A. §§ 17-12-106 (b), 17-12-106 (d) and 17-12-401 your firm should be licensed with 
the Arkansas Board of Public Accountancy. 
 
If you have any questions please contact the Board directly for clarification at (501) 682-1520. 
 



CPA Exam Changes Beginning December 1, 2010 
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CPA Exam Fee Changes Effective December 1, 2010 

 
The CPA examination fees charged by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), the 

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA), and Prometric will be changing again this 

year.  Applications postmarked on or before November 30, 2010 will still be processed at the current fees.   

The Board’s administrative fees will not change. 

   

Applications postmarked on or before November 30, 2010 and received in the Board’s office on or before  

November 30, 2010 will be processed using the current fee schedule.  All applications received or postmarked 

after November 30, 2010 will use the new fee schedule. 

 

Testing time for the Auditing and Attestation (AUD) section will be shortened by a half hour to four hours.  

Testing time for the Business Environment and Concepts (BEC) section will be increased by a half hour to 

three hours.  Testing times for Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) and Regulation (REG) sections will 

remain the same as before at four and three hours, respectively.  The total testing time for all sections of the 

examination remains unchanged at fourteen hours. 
 

 
 

The following are the Board’s administrative fees, which have not changed: 

 

 
 

Please be advised that there is no provision for withdrawing from the examination, refunding of fees, or the 

transfer of fees.  The application-section fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable.  The fees for the 

contract examination providers are nontransferable, but may be partially refunded if extreme hardship         

precludes the applicant from scheduling or taking the exam.  Refer to Board Rule 3.8 for extreme hardship 

definition, time limits, and documentation requirements. 

 

If you have questions regarding the exam fee schedule, please contact the Board’s office at (501) 682-1520. 

Auditing & Attestation (AUDIT) $ 207.15 

Business Environments & Concepts 

(BEC) 

$ 185.10 

Financial Accounting & Reporting (FAR) $ 207.15 

Regulation (REG) $ 185.10 

Initial (first time) application $ 50.00 

1 Exam Section $ 75.00 

2 Exam Sections $ 90.00 

3 Exam Sections $ 105.00 

4 Exam Sections $ 120.00 

http://www.arkansas.gov/asbpa/rules_2009/Rule-3.pdf
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State Board of  

Accountancy Board 

Members 

State Board of  

Accountancy Staff 

 

Jimmy Corley, CPA 
Executive Director 

(501) 682-5833 
James.Corley@arkansas.gov 

Dale Edge, CPA 
Investigator 

(501) 682-5525 
Dale.Edge@arkansas.gov 

Alan Fortney 
Information Technology Manager 

(501) 682-2512 
Alan.Fortney@arkansas.gov 

Ann Jessup 
Fiscal Officer/CPE Coordinator 

(501) 682-5534 
Ann.Jessup@arkansas.gov 

Angela Johnson 
Administrative Assistant / Licensing 

(501) 682-5532 
Angela.R.Johnson@arkansas.gov 

Sheila Maglothin 
Credentialing Coordinator 

(501) 682-2575 
Sheila.Maglothin@arkansas.gov 

Robin Fritchman 
Administrative Assistant III 

(501) 682-2574 
Robin.Fritchman@arkansas.gov 

Tara Remsing 
Credentialing Assistant 

(501) 682-2690 
Tara.Remsing@arkansas.gov 

Lisbeth Cross 
Credentialing Assistant 

(501) 683-1984 
Lisbeth.Cross@arkansas.gov 

Gary Kelly, CPA 
President 
Pine Bluff 
Term: 2006 —  2011 

Dale Coy, CPA 
Secretary 
Paragould 
Term:  2007 —  2012 

Gene Cogbill, CPA 
Treasurer 
Texarkana 
Term:  2008 —  2013 

Mike Moore, CPA 
Conway 
Term: 2009 —  2014 

Karen Garrett, CPA 
Conway 
Term: 2010 —  2015 

Lloyd Franklin, CFE 
Pine Bluff 
Consumer Advocate 
Term: 2008 — 2012 

Bill Millager, MBA 
Rogers 
Consumer Advocate 
Term: 2008 — 2013 



Moving?  Please Notify the Board Office of Your New Address 

The rules and regulations require all licensees to notify the ASBPA of all such changes by sending a change of 

address form to the office .  Please include a street address to facilitate any express mail deliveries. 

 

Name ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Employer ____________________________________________________________  License# ______________ 

 

Old Address:__________________________________  New Address: __________________________________ 

 

          ___________________________________________               ___________________________________________ 

 

          ___________________________________________              ___________________________________________ 

 

          ___________________________________________              ___________________________________________ 

 

Phone: ________________________________________ Email: ___________________________________ 

 

Signature: _______________________________________________________________  Date: ________________ 

 

Please Mail to:  Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy  

   101 East Capitol, Suite 450, Little Rock, AR 72201 

 

 

Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 
101 East Capitol, Suite 450 
Little Rock, AR  72201 

 


