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BOARD NEWS

The Arkansas Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, at its maeting on
Tuesday, July B, 1897, passed a rule change. This is Arlicie 20 which requires continuing education as a condition
for renewal of license for professional engineers and professional land surveyors. We have printed a complete copy
of Article 20 in this issue. | am listing below come typical questions we have raceived at the Board office.

Q- Does mandatory continuing education apply to both engineers and land surveyors?

A - Yes, the requirement for professional land sureyors has been in place several years. This rule makes the
rule applicable to professional engineers effective January 1, 1998.The rule does not apply to engineer-interns or
land surveyers-in-training.

Q - When can a professional engineer start obtaining credits.?

A - January 1, 1997

Q- | am 68 years old and been in the engineering and land surveying business in Arkansas for 30 years.
Am | exempt?

A - No. There are provisions in the rule for an individual to request an exemption. However, this must be
done annually and separately for each professional The exemption must be approved by the Board for each
request.

Q - Does the Board approve individual seminars?

A - No. The Board will not pre-approve any courses. There is a provision in the rules for a sponsor to get
Board approval.

Q - What happens if | do not meet the requirements?

A - You will be placed on probation and have six {6} months to obtain the necessary credits. If you do not
then your license will lapse.

Q - | am not practicing engineering or land surveying at this time. Can | keep my license without continuing
education.?

A - Yes. There are provisions in the rule for an individual to go "inactive” if he is not practicing. The rule also
has provisions for you to convert back to "Active.”

G - Will Arkansas accept continuing education from other states?

A - Yes. We intend to make it as convenient as possible for individuals with multi-state license to comply with
the rule.
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BOARD MEMBERS

William J. (Bill) Driggers retired from the Board
Junie 30, 1987. Bill has been a member of the Board

for 10 years. He will be missed by all members of the
Board and staff.

David R. Knowies, PE, PLS was appointed to tha
Board effective July 1, 1997 for a 4 year terrm. David is
a Professor in civil engineering at the University of
Arkansas at Fayetteville. David and his wife, Nan, live
at 2448 Elaine, Fayetteville, Arkansas. We welcome
David as a member of the Board and feel sure his
expertise in engineering and land surveying will be a
big help to the Board.

————

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

The Board has taken the following disciplinary actions:

1. March 12, 1986 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with David Carpenter, PLS #846 for a
civil penalty of $2000.00 with $1000.00 suspended
plus a 1000 word essay on how he may have violated
the rules of the Board by practicing on a lapsed
license.

2. May 14, 1996 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with R.O.Covington, for a civil penalty
of $1000.00 for practicing engineering without a
license,

3. May 14, 1996 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with Duane Boice, PE #8545 for a civil
penalty of $1000.00 plus completing the engineering
ethics course for practicing engineering without a
license,

4. July 8, 1996 - The Board entered intc a
consent decree with Gary Whitfield, PLS #882 for a
civil penalty of $1000.00, plus 12 months probation
and a 1000 word essay on the minimum standards for
not complying with the minimum standards.

5. Jduly 9, 1936 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with Dennis Olsovsky, for a civil
penalty of $1000.00 for practicing engineering without
a license.

6. November 12, 1996 - The Board entered into
a consent decree with Kevin J. McClintick, PE #9034
for a civil penafty of $1000.00 for practicing engineer-
ing without a license.

7. January 14, 1897 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with B.T. Armstrong, PE #1402 for a
civil penalty of $2500.00 plus a reprimand for failure 1o
properly supervise his employees or agents,

8. January 14, 1997 - The Board asked their
altorney to seek an injunction against Bill Burroughs
non-licensed surveyor to prevent his practice of land
survaying.

9. July 8, 1997 - The Board entersd into a
consent decree with Thomas E. Walstrom, PE #9261
for a civil penalty of $1000.00 for practicing engineer-
ing without a license.

10. July 8, 1997 - After a hearing the Board found
Mark .).Breen, PLS #1148 guilty of a viglation of the
*Code of Professional Conduct" and assessed a
penalty of a reprimand and the completion of the land
surveyors- ethigs course. :

11.July 8, 1897 - The Board entered into a
consent decree with Russell Podgormny, PLS #1282
with a reprimand for advertising engineering services
without an engineer on staft.

12. September 9, 1997 - The Board entered into
a consent decree with Richard Watson, PLS #6853 for
a civil penalty of $1500.00 for faiture to comply with
the minimum standards.

‘During the same time frame, the Board has
investigated and dropped 17 complaints against
professional land surveyors and 10 complaints against
professicinal engineers.

ARTICLE 20. Continuing Professional
Competency (CPC).

A. Introdyction. - In order to safeguard lite, health,
propery and to promote puklic weifare, it has been determined .
that the practice of engineering and land survaying will require
continuing education in order to renew licenses.

B. Definitlong. - Terms used in this anticle are defined
as follows:
1. Pr i velopm P - A

contact hour {nominal) of instruction ¢r pres-
gntation, The common denominator {or ather units of
cradit.

2. inyi i ni Unit of credit
customarily used for continuing educat-
ion courses. Cne continuing education unit equals ten
{10) hours of class in an approved continuing
education coursa,

3. College/Unit Semester/Quarter Hour - Credit tor ABET
approved course or other related gollege course
approved in accordance with "Section E" of this
article.

4. Course/Actjvity - Any qualifying course or act-
ivity with a clear purpose and abjective which will
maintain, improve, or expand the skils and know-
ledge relevant to the licensea's fisld of practice,

5. Qual Regisirant - A person who is registered as botha
profesgional eéngineer and a protessional Jand
surveyer.

6. Spopsor - Organization or individual that has suppiied
information on a form prescribed and furnished by the
Board with respect to the organization or individual's
ability to provide instruction in “for credit" courses,
Course offered by those designated as "Sponsor
must contain a ¢clear purposa and objective, and re-
sult in the maintenance, improvemsant, or ex-
pansion of skills and knowledge relevant to a reg-
istrant's field of gpractice. Courses olfered
by "Sponsors” are deemed acceptable for POH credit
without scrutiny of individual course content.
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€, Requirements, - Every registrant is required to
obtain fiftesn (15) PDH units during the annual renewal pariod.
If a registram exceeds the annual requirement in any renewal
period, a maximum of fiteen (15) PDH units may ba carried
forward into the subsequent renewal period. Professional Land
Surveyors must have a minimum of four (4) PDH units in the
Minimum Standards for Property Surveys in Arkansas every
three (3) years. PDH units may be earned as follows:

1. Successiul completion of college courses,

2. Successful completion of continuing educat-

_ ion courses..

3. Successful completion of correspondence, tele-
vised, videotaped, audiotape, and other short
courses/tutorials.

4. Presenting or attending qualifying seminars, in-house
courses, worksheps, or professional, technical, or
managerial presentations made at meatings,
carwventions, or conferences.,

5. Teaching or instructing in {1) through (4}
above.

€. Authoring published papers, articles, or books.

7. Active participation in professional or technical
societias,

8. Patents granted.

D. Units. - The conversion of other units of credit to PDH
units are as foilows:

1. 1 Collage or unit sSermester hour-—-----rsssswemanems 45 PDH
2 1 College or unit quanter hotr---—--—rms-sesressvees 30 PDH
3. 1 Conlinuing Education Unit---+++essammemeenennsi) POH
4. 1 Hour of professional development in course work,

seminars, or protessional, or management,
conventions, or conferencesssres-c-mmcmcnesee-{ PGH
3. For teaching apply a multiple of 2 (teaching credit is
valid for teaching a course or seminar for the first time
only).
6. Each pubtished paper, article, or book----10 PDH Max.
7. Active participation in professional and technical
society (each organization}-res«s-cr-eecmammcarenesa2 POR
B. Each patent granted----+ss«---memeemmnnaneeeas 10 PDH Max.

E. Determination of Credit, - The Board has final
authority with respect to approval of courses, credit, PDH
value for courses, and other methods of saming credit,

1. Credit for coMege or community college approved
courses wilt be based upon credit established by the
coltege.

2. Credi for qualifying seminars and workshops, will be
based on one PDH unit for each hour of attendance.
Attendnce at qualifying programs presented at
protessional andfor technical socfety meetings will
eam PDH units tor the actual time of each program.

3. OCredit determination for activities D6 and D8 is the
responsibility of the registrant {subject 1o review as
required by the board).

4. Credit for activity D7, active participation in pro-
fessional and technical socidetfies (limited to 2 PDH
per organization), requires that a registrant serve as
an officer andfor activiey participate in a cornmittee or
the organization. PDH credits are not earned until the
end of each year of service is completed.

E. Records. - The responsiblity of maintaining re-
cords to be used to support credits claimed is the
responsibility of the registrant. Aecords re-
quired include, but are not limited to:

1. A log showing the type of activity claimed, spon-
saring organization, location, duration, instructor's or
speaker's name, and PDH credits eamed:

2. Aftendance verification records in the form of
caompletion certificates, or other documents
supporting evidence of attendance; or

3. Records as maintained by the Professional
Development Registry for Engineers and Sur-
veyors (PDRES) or other similar repositories.

These records must be maintained for a period of three {3

years, and copies may be requested by the board for audit
verification purposes.

G. Exemptions. A registrant may be exempt from theﬂ

protessional development education requirements for one of

the following reasons: :

1. New registrants by way of examination or reci-
procity shall be exempt for their first renewal period.

2. A registrant serving on temporary active duty in the
Armed Forces of the United States for a period of time
exceeding one hundred twenty (120) consecutive
days in a year shal be exempt from obtaining
professional deveiopment hours required during that
year.

3. Registrants experiencing physical disability, illness,
or other extenuating circumstances as reviewed and
approved by the Board may be exempt, Supporting’
decumentation must be furnished to the Board.

4. Registrants who list their occupation as “inactive”
on the Board approved renewal form and who further
certify that they are no longer receiving any
remuneration from providing professional engineer-
ing or professional land surveying services shall be
exempt from the professional development hours
required,

5. Protessional Land Surveyor registranis may be
exempt if they are sixty (60) years of age or have
twenty (20) years of acceptable professional
experience in Arkansas. This request must be
submitted annually on forms supplied by the Board
and the request must be approved by Board,

Professional Engineer registrants may be
exempt if they are sixty-five {(65) years of age
and have twenty-five (25) years of acceptable
professional experience. This request must be
submitted annually on forms supplied by the

Board and the request must be approved by
the Board. '

H. Reinstatement. - A registrant who wishes fo
reinstate an "inactive™ registration of one year or more must
submit a written request to the Board accompanied with a fee
of one hundred dofars ($100) and must salisfy the annual PDH
raquirement multiptied by the number of years of inactive
status up to a maximum of thirty (30) POH's.

-ot- . = The
CPC requirements for Arkansas will be deemed as satistied
when a non-resident registrant certifies t0-being licensed in
and having met the mandatory CPC requirements of any
jurisdiction approved and listed by Arkansas.

J._Dual Registrants. - The number of PDH units
required shall be Twenty (20) POH's par year at least five (B)

PDH's shall be earned in each profassion. Tha remaining ten
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(10} PDH's may be obtained in any subject that would be
applicable to each of the professions.

K. Forms. - All renewal applications will require the
Completion of a continuing education form specified by the
Board outlining POH credit claimed, The registrant must supply
sufficient'detail on the form. to permit audit verification, must
certify and sign the continuing education form, and submit with
the renewal asplication and fee.

L. Audit. - The Board may conduct random audits each
vear of the files and the annual renewals. Should deficiencies
be discovered, registrants will be natified and have six {6)
months from the date of notification !o show that these
deficiencies have been satisfied,

M. Effective Date. -

1. This articte and its provisions shall be effective im-

mediately upen approval for all Professional Land
Surveyor registrants.

2, This article and its provision shall be effective and all
Protessional Engineering registrants shaill show
avidence of compliance on the renewal for December
31, 1938,

N. Noncompitance. - A registrant who doas not satisty

the continuing education raquirements at renewal time wilt be
placed on probationary status and notified of that status. The
registrant will have six {6) months from the renewal date to
satisfy that conditon or his license will be revoked.

ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF
REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS AND LAND SURVEYORS

P.0.BOX 3750
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72203

Qct, 31. 1897 -
Nov. 1, 1997 -

Nov. 11-12, 1997

Dec. 31, 1997 -

Jan, 13, 1998 -
Feb. 1, 1998 -
March 10, 1998

April 2-4, 1998 -
April 24, 1998 -

April 25, 1998 -

Principles & Practice of Engineer-
ing and Land Surveying exams

Fundamentals of Engineering and
Land Surveying exams

Board Meeting

Renewal Professional Engineers
License

Board Meeting
Deadiine for Aprl exams
Board Meeting

Southern Zone NCEES meeting
Orando, Florida

Principles & Practice of Engingar-
ing and Land Surveying exams

Fundamentals of Engineering and
Land Surveying exam
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