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IMPORTANT UPDATES 
 

 The Arkansas Minimum Wage Initiative, Issue 5, was approved by the 
voters at the general election on November 4,2014.  It increased the 
state minimum wage rate to $7.50 per hour effective January 1, 2015.  It 
will increase to $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2016; and to $8.50 
per hour effective January 1,2017. 

 
 Pursuant to Act 707 of 2007, the minimum wage allowance for gratui-

ties has been revised to no less than $3.62 per hour, provided the em-
ployee actually received that amount in gratuities and that the allowance 
results in the payment of wages other than gratuities to tipped employ-
ees of no less than $2.63 per hour.  The act became effective March 30, 
2007. 

 
*    Pursuant to Act 457 of 2013, an “employee” under the Arkansas Mini-
mum Wage Act does not include: 
(1) An individual employed by an establishment that is an organized camp 

or a religious or nonprofit educational conference center if: 
(a) The organized camp or a religious or non-profit educational conference  

center does not operate for more than seven (7) months in a calendar 
year; or 

(b) During the preceding calendar year, the average receipts of the orga-
nized camp or a religious or nonprofit educational conference center for 
any six (6) months of the preceding calendar year were not more than 
thirty-three and one-third percent (33 1/3%) of the average receipts of 
the organized camp or a religious or nonprofit educational conference 
center for the other six (6) months of the preceding calendar year. 

(2)   The subdivision (3)(R) is effective retroactively as of January 1,2006. 
(a)   The retroactive effect of this subdivision (3)(R) does not impose liability   
on the department or on an employee to repay damages, back wages, civil 
money penalties, or other monies collected or paid by the department or 
received by an employee. 
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010.14 Administrative Regulations of the Labor Standards Division of the 
Arkansas Department of Labor 
    010.14-001 Statement of Organization and Operations 

  The Arkansas Department of Labor is an agency of state government created 
by Act 161 of 1937, Ark. Code Ann. § 11-2-101 et seq.  The Labor Standards 
Division is working unit of the Arkansas Department of Labor with regulatory 
or enforcement authority over: 
 

1. Minimum wage and overtime; 
2. Prevailing wage; 
3. Child labor; 
4. Private employment agencies;  
5. Claims for unpaid wages of less than $2,000; and 
6. A number of miscellaneous employment standards laws, the 

enforcement of which is not otherwise provided for by state 
law or is specifically vested with the Director of Labor or the 
Department of Labor. 

      The Labor Standards Division oversees the licensure of private employment 
agencies.  Ultimate authority for the operation of the agency is in the Director of 
the Department of Labor, who is appointed by the Governor.  The individual 
charged with the day-to-day operations is referred to as the Labor Standards Ad-
ministrator, who is selected by the director.  From time to time, the director 
promulgates rules and regulations.  
    010.14-002 Information for Public Guidance 
  The mailing address and telephone number for the Labor Standards Division 
is: 
 
Labor Standards Division 
Arkansas Department of Labor 
10421 West Markham Street 
Little Rock, AR  72205 
(501) 682-4500 
  The Department of Labor makes available a list of persons holding certain 
responsibilities for handling FOIA requests, licensing questions, and complaints 
against licensees so that the public may obtain information about the agency or 



6 

 
make submissions or requests.   The names, mailing addresses, telephone num-
bers, and electronic addresses can be obtained from the agency’s office or Web 
site. 
  The agency has a list of official forms used by the agency and a list of all for-
mal, written statements of policy and written interpretative memoranda, and 
orders, decisions and opinions resulting from adjudications, which may be ob-
tained from the agency’s office or Web site.  The Department of Labor Web site 
is:  http://www.arkansas.gov/labor/. The address for the Labor Standards Divi-
sion is:   
   Labor Standards Division 
 Arkansas Department of Labor 
 10421 West Markham 
 Little Rock, AR  72205 
  Copies of all forms used by the agency, written statements of policy and writ-
ten interpretive memoranda, and all orders issued by the agency may be ob-
tained from the agency’s office.  
    010.14-003 General Organization 
  A. The Labor Standards Division is generally divided into an office staff 
and a field staff.  The field staff is composed of investigators. 
  B.  All public meetings will be conducted pursuant to Robert’s Rules of 
Order and in conformity with the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act.   
  C. The director may create standing and ad hoc committees.  The director 
will select members of committees.  A quorum for the transaction of committee 
business is a majority of the number of voting members of the committee. 
    010.14-004 Rule-Making 
  A. Authority 
  The agency has been authorized by the Legislature to promulgate rules.  Ark. 
Code Ann. § 11-4-209(a)(minimum wage and overtime); § 22-9-307(prevailing 
wage); §§ 11-6-111(b)(2) and 11-12-105(1)(child labor); and § 11-11-
204(d)(private employment agencies).  The agency  follows the procedural re-
quirements of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, in particular Ark. 
Code Ann. § 25-15-203 and § 25-15-204.  Additionally, the agency is required to 
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abide by the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §10-3-309.   
  B. Initiation of Rule-Making 
  The process of adopting a new rule or amending or repealing an existing rule 
(hereinafter referred to “rule-making”) may be initiated by request of the director 
that the staff submit proposed drafts.  Additionally, staff of the agency may re-
quest permission of to initiate rule-making.   Third persons outside the agency 
may petition for the issuance, amendment, or repeal of any rule. 
  C. Petition to Initiate Rule-Making 
  Third parties may initiate rule-making to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule by 
filing a petition with the agency to initiate rule-making.  The petition must con-
tain the name, address, and telephone number of the petitioner, the specific rule 
or action requested, the reasons for the rule or action requested, and facts show-
ing that the petitioner is regulated by the agency or has a substantial interest in 
the rule or action requested. 
  The petition to initiate rule-making shall be filed with the Director of the De-
partment of Labor. 
  Within thirty (30) days after submission of the petition, the director will either 
deny the petition, stating its reasons in writing, or will initiate rule-making.   
  D. Pre-Filing with the Bureau of Legislative Research 
  Thirty (30) days before the public-comment period ends, the agency will file 
with the Bureau of Legislative Research the text of the proposed rule or amend-
ment as well as a financial impact statement and a Bureau of Legislative Re-
search questionnaire as provided by Ark. Code Ann. § 10-3-309.   
  E. Public Input 
 

1. Before finalizing language of a proposed new rule or an 
amendment to, or repeal of, an existing rule, the director or his designee will 
receive public input through written comments and/or oral submissions.  The 
agency will designate in its public notice the format and timing of public com-
ment.  

  
2. Any public hearing will provide affected persons and other 

members of the public a reasonable opportunity for presentation of evidence, 
arguments, and oral statements within reasonable conditions and limitations 
imposed by the agency to avoid duplication, irrelevant comments, unnecessary 
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delay, or disruption of the proceedings. 

 
3. The director or his designee may preside at the public hearing.  

The agency must ensure that the agency personnel responsible for preparing the 
proposed rule or amendment are available, and will notify third parties initiating 
rule changes to be available to explain the proposal and to respond to questions 
or comments regarding the proposed rule. 

 
4. The agency will preserve the comments made at the public 

hearing by a recording. 
 
5. Any person may submit written statements within the speci-

fied period of time.  All timely, written statements will be considered by the di-
rector and be made a part of the rule-making record.  

  F. Notice of Rule-Making 
  The agency will give notice of proposed rule-making to be published pursuant 

to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204.  The notice will set any written comment period 
and will specify the time, date, and place of any public hearing.  

  G. The Decision to Adopt a Rule 
 
1. The agency will not finalize language of the rule or decide 

whether to adopt a rule until the period for public comment has expired. 
 
2. Before acting on a proposed rule, the agency will consider all 

of the written submissions and/or oral submissions received in the rule-making 
proceeding or any memorandum summarizing such oral submissions, and any 
regulatory analysis or fiscal impact statement issued in the rule-making proceed-
ings. 

 
3. The agency may use its own experience, specialized 

knowledge, and judgment in the adoption of a rule or consider the experience, 
specialized knowledge and judgment of agency staff. 

  H. Variance Between Adopted Rule and Published Notice of Proposed 
Rule 

 
1. The agency may not adopt a rule that differs from the rule 

proposed in the published notice of the intended rule-making on which the rule 
is based unless: 

  a.   The final rule is in character with the original 
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scheme and was a logical outgrowth of the notice 
and comments stemming from the proposed rule, or 

  b.   The notice fairly apprised interested persons of the 
subject and the issues that would be considered so 
that those persons had an opportunity to comment. 

 
2.   In determining whether the final rule is in character with the 

original scheme and was a logical outgrowth of the notice and comments, and 
that the notice of intended rule-making provided fair warning that the outcome 
of that rule-making proceeding could be the rule in question; the board must 
consider the following factors: 

  a. The extent to which persons who will be affected by 
the rule should have understood that the rule-
making proceeding on which it is based could affect 
their interests; and 

  b. The extent to which the subject matter of the rule or 
issues determined by the rule are different from the 
subject matter or issues contained in the notice of 
intended rule-making; and 

  c. The extent to which the effects of the rule differ 
from the effects of the proposed rule contained in 
the notice of intended rule-making. 

  I. Concise Statement of Reasons 
   1. When requested by an interested person, either prior to the 
adoption of a rule or within thirty (30) days after its adoption, the agency shall 
issue a concise statement of the principal reasons for and against the adoption of 
the rule.  Requests for such a statement must be in writing and be delivered to 
the Director of the Department of Labor.  The request should indicate whether 
the statement is sought for all or only a specified part of a rule.  A request will be 
considered to have been submitted on the date on which it is received by the 
agency. 
   2.  The concise statement of reasons must contain: 
    a. The agency’s reasons for adopting the rule; 
    b. An indication of any change between the text of the 
   proposed rule and the text of the rule as finally 
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   adopted, with explanations for any such change; and 
    c. The principal reasons urged in the rule-making pro-
   cedure for and against the rule, and the agency’s 
   reasons for overruling the arguments made against 
   the rule. 
  J. Contents 
  The agency shall cause its rules to be published and made available to interest-
ed persons.  The publication must include: 
  

1. The text of the rule; and  
 
2. A note containing the following:  

   a. The date(s) the board adopted or amended the rule; 
   b. The effective date(s) of the rule;  
   c. Any findings required by any provisions of law as a 

 prerequisite to adoption for effectiveness of the rule; 
 and 

   d. Citation to the entire specific statutory or other au-
 thority authorizing the adoption of the rule; 

   3. The publication of the rule(s) must state the date of publica-
tion. 

  K. Format 
  The published rules of the board will be organized substantially in the follow-
ing format: 
   1. Statement of Organization and Operations 

2. Information for Public Guidance 
3. General Organization 
4. Purpose and Scope 
5. Definitions 
6. Rule-making 
7. Emergency Rule-making 
8. Declaratory Orders 
9. Adjudicative Hearings 
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10. Licensing 
11. Et seq. Substantive rules and other rules of Agency 
  L. Incorporation by Reference 
  By reference in a rule, the agency may incorporate all or any part of a code, 

standard, rule, or other matter if the agency finds that copying the matter in the 
agency’s rule would be unduly cumbersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedi-
ent.  The reference in the rule must fully and precisely identify the incorporated 
matter by title, citation, date, and edition, if any; briefly indicate the precise sub-
ject and general contents of the incorporated matter; and state that the rule does 
not include any later amendments or editions of the incorporated matter.  The 
agency may incorporate such a matter by reference in a proposed or adopted 
rule only if the agency makes copies of the incorporated matter readily available 
to the public.  The rules must state how and where copies of the incorporated 
matter may be obtained at cost from the agency, and how and where copies may 
be obtained from an agency of the United States, this state, another state, or the 
organization, association, or persons originally issuing that matter.  The agency 
must retain permanently a copy of any materials incorporated by reference in a 
rule.  

  M. Filing 
 
1. After the agency formally adopts a new rule or amends a cur-

rent rule or repeals an existing rule, and after the rule change has been reviewed 
by the Legislative Council, the agency staff will file final copies of the rule with 
the Secretary of State, the Arkansas State Library, and the Bureau of Legislative 
Research, or as otherwise provided by Ark. Code Ann.  § 25-15-204(d).   

 
2.   Proof of filing a copy of the rule, amendment, or repeal with 

the Secretary of State, the Arkansas State Library, and the Bureau of Legislative 
Research will be kept in a file maintained by the Legal Division of the Arkansas 
Department of Labor.   

 
3.   Notice of the rule change will be posted on the agency Web 

page. 
    010.14-005 Emergency Rule-Making 
  A. Request for Emergency Rule-Making 
  The proponent of a rule may request the agency to adopt an emergency rule.  

In addition to the text of the proposed rule or amendment to an existing rule 
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and any other information required by Rule 010.14-004(C), the proponent will 
provide a written statement setting out the facts or circumstances that would 
support a finding of imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 

  B. Finding of an Emergency 
  Upon receipt of the written statement requesting an emergency rule-making 

and documents or other evidence submitted in support of the assertion that an 
emergency exists, the agency will make an independent judgment as to whether 
the circumstances and facts constitute an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety, or welfare requiring adoption of the rule upon fewer than 30 days notice.  
If the agency determines that the circumstances warrant emergency rule-making, 
it will make a written determination that sets out the reasons for it’s finding that 
an emergency exists.   Upon making this finding, the agency may proceed to 
adopt the rule without any prior notice or hearing, or it may determine to pro-
vide an abbreviated notice and hearing.   

  C. Effective Date of Emergency Rule 
  The emergency rule will be effective immediately upon filing, or at a stated 

time less than ten (10) days thereafter, if the agency finds that this effective date 
is necessary because of imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare.  
The agency will file with the rule the agency’s written findings justifying the de-
termination that emergency rule-making is appropriate and, if applicable, the 
basis for the effective date of the emergency rule being less than ten (10) days 
after the filing of the rule pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e).  The 
agency will take appropriate measures to make emergency rules known to per-
sons who may be affected by them. 

    010.14-006 Declaratory Orders 
  A. Purpose and Use of Declaratory Orders 
  A declaratory order is a means of resolving a controversy or answering ques-

tions or doubts concerning the applicability of statutory provisions, rules, or 
orders over which the agency has authority. A petition for declaratory order may 
be used only to resolve questions or doubts as to how the statutes, rules, or or-
ders may apply to the petitioner’s particular circumstances.  A declaratory order 
is not the appropriate means for determining the conduct of another person or 
for obtaining a policy statement of general applicability from an agency.  A peti-
tion or declaratory order must describe the potential impact of statutes, rules, or 
orders upon the petitioner’s interests. 
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 B. The Petition 

  The process to obtain a declaratory order is begun by filing with the Director 
of the Department of Labor a petition that provides the following information: 

 
1. The caption shall read:  Petition for Declaratory Order Before 

Arkansas Department of Labor. 
  
2. The name, address, telephone number, and facsimile number 

of the petitioner. 
 
3. The name, address, telephone number, and facsimile number 

of the attorney of the petitioner. 
 
4. The statutory provision(s), agency rule(s), or agency order(s) 

on which the declaratory order is sought. 
 
5. A description of how the statutes, rules, or orders may sub-

stantially affect the petitioner and the petitioner’s particular set of circumstanc-
es, and the question or issue on which petitioner seeks a declaratory order. 

  
6. The signature of the petitioner or petitioner’s attorney. 
 
7. The date. 
 
8. Request for a hearing, if desired. 

  C. Agency Disposition 
 
1. The agency may hold a hearing to consider a petition for de-

claratory statement.  If a hearing is held, it shall be conducted in accordance 
with Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-208 and 25-15-213, and the agency’s rules for 
adjudicatory hearings. 

 
2. The agency may rely on the statements of fact set out in the 

petition without taking any position with regard to the validity of the facts.  
Within ninety (90) days of the filing of the petition, the agency will render a 
final order denying the petition or issuing a declaratory order. 

    010.14-007 Adjudicative Hearings 
  A. Scope of This Rule 
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 This Rule, 010.14-007, applies in all administrative adjudications conducted 
by the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor.  This 
procedure is developed to provide a process by which the agency formulates or-
ders (for example, an order revoking a license to practice, or imposing civil pen-
alties).   

  B. Presiding Officer 
  The Director of the Department of Labor shall preside at a hearing or may 

designate an examiner, referee, or hearing officer to preside at a hearing.   
  C. Appearances 

 
1. Any party appearing has the right, at his or her own expense, 

to be represented by counsel.   
 

2. The respondent may appear on his or her own behalf.   
 

3. Any attorney representing a party to an adjudicatory proceed-
ing must file notice of appearance as soon as possible.  

 
4. Service on counsel of record is the equivalent of service on the 

party represented. 
 

5. On written motion served on the party represented and all 
other parties of record, the presiding officer  may grant coun-
sel of record leave to withdraw for good cause shown. 

  
D. Consolidation 
  If there are separate matters that involve similar issues of law or fact, or identi-
cal parties, the matters may be consolidated if it appears that consolidation 
would promote the just, speedy, and inexpensive resolution of the proceedings, 
and would not unduly prejudice the rights of a party. 
  E. Notice to Interested Parties 
  If it appears that the determination of the rights of parties in a proceeding will 
necessarily involve a determination of the substantial interests of persons who 
are not parties, the presiding officer may enter an order requiring that an absent 
person be notified of the proceeding and be given an opportunity to be joined as 
a party of record. 
  F. Service of Papers 
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  Unless the presiding officer otherwise orders, every pleading and every other 
paper filed for the proceeding, except applications for witness subpoenas and 
the subpoenas, shall be served on each party or the party’s representative at 
the last address of record. 
  G. Initiation and Notice of Hearing 
   1. An administrative adjudication is initiated by the issuance 
by the agency of a notice of hearing. 
   2. The notice of hearing will be sent to the respondent by U.S.  
Mail, return receipt requested, delivery restricted to the named recipient or 
his agent, as well as by regular U. S. mail.  Notice shall be sufficient when it is 
so mailed to the respondent’s latest address on file with the agency. 
   3. Notice will be mailed at least twenty (20) days before the 
scheduled hearing. 
   4.  The notice will include: 
    a.   a statement of the time, place, and nature of the hear-
   ing; 
   b.  a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under 
   which the hearing is to be held; and 

   c.   a short and plain statement of the matters of fact and 
   law asserted. 

  H. Motions 
  All requests for relief will be by motion.  Motions must be in writing or 

made on the record during a hearing.   A motion must fully state the action 
requested and the grounds relied upon.  The original written motion will be 
filed with the agency.  When time allows, the other parties may, within seven 
(7) days of the service of the written motion, file a response in opposition.  
The presiding officer may conduct such proceedings and enter such orders as 
are deemed necessary to address issues raised by the motion.  However, a pre-
siding officer, other than the Director, will not enter a dispositive order unless 
expressly authorized in writing to do so. 

  I. Answer 
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 A respondent may file an answer. 

  J. Discovery 
 
1. Upon written request, the agency will provide the information 

designated in Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-208(a)(3). 
   
2. Such requests should be received by the agency at least ten 

(10) days before the scheduled hearing. 
  K. Continuances 
 
1. The presiding officer may grant a continuance of hearing for 

good cause shown.   Requests for continuances will be made in writing.   The 
request must state the grounds to be considered and be made as soon as practi-
cable and, except in cases of emergencies, no later than five (5) days prior to the 
date noticed for the hearing.  In determining whether to grant a continuance, 
the presiding officer may consider:  

 
a. Prior continuances; 
 
b. The interests of all parties; 

 
 c. The likelihood of informal settlements; 

 
d. The existence of an emergency; 

 
e. Any objection; 

 
f. Any applicable time requirement; 

 
g. The existence of a conflict of the schedules of coun-

   sel, parties, or witnesses; 
 
h. The time limits of the request; and 
 
 i. Other relevant factors. 

   2. The presiding officer may require documentation of any 
grounds for continuance. 

  L. Hearing Procedures 
 
1. The presiding officer presides at the hearing and may rule on 
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motions, require briefs, and issue such orders as will ensure the orderly conduct 
of the proceedings; provided, however, any presiding officer other than the Di-
rector shall not enter a dispositive order or proposed decision unless expressly 
authorized in writing to do so. 

 
2. All objections must be made in a timely manner and stated on 

the record. 
 
3. Parties have the right to participate or to be represented by 

counsel in all hearings or pre-hearing conferences related to their case.   
 
4. Subject to terms and conditions prescribed by the Administra-

tive Procedure Act, parties have the right to introduce evidence on issues of ma-
terial fact, cross-examine witnesses as necessary for a full and true disclosure of 
the facts, present evidence in rebuttal, and, upon request by the agency, may 
submit briefs and engage in oral argument. 

 
5. The presiding officer is charged with maintaining the deco-

rum of the hearing and may refuse to admit, or may expel, anyone whose con-
duct is disorderly. 

  M.     Order of Proceedings 
  The presiding officer will conduct the hearing in the following manner: 
 
1. The presiding officer will give an opening statement, briefly 

describing the nature of the proceedings. 
 
2. The parties are to be given the opportunity to present opening 

statements. 
 
3. The parties will be allowed to present their cases in the se-

quence determined by the presiding officer. 
 
4. Each witness must be sworn or affirmed by the presiding of-

ficer, or the court reporter, and be subject to examination and cross-examination 
as well as questioning by the agency.  The presiding officer may limit question-
ing in a manner consistent with the law. 

 
5. When all parties and witnesses have been heard, parties may 

be given the opportunity to present final arguments.  
  N. Evidence 
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1. The presiding officer shall rule on the admissibility of evidence 

and may, when appropriate, take official notice of facts in accordance with all ap-
plicable requirements of law. 

 
2. Stipulation of facts is encouraged.  The agency may make a deci-

sion based on stipulated facts. 
 
3. Evidence in the proceeding must be confined to the issues set 

forth in the hearing notice, unless the parties waive their right to such notice or 
the presiding officer determines that good cause justifies expansion of the issues.  
If the presiding officer decides to admit evidence outside the scope of the notice, 
over the objection of a party who did not have actual notice of those issues, that 
party, upon timely request, will receive a continuance sufficient to prepare for the 
additional issue and to permit amendment of pleadings. 

 
4. A party seeking admission of an exhibit must provide three (3) 

copies of any exhibit in a hearing before the agency.  The presiding officer must 
provide the opposing parties with an opportunity to examine the exhibit prior to 
the ruling on its admissibility.  All exhibits admitted into evidence must be appro-
priately marked and be made part of the record. 

 
5. Any party may object to specific evidence or may request limits 

on the scope of the examination or cross-examination.  A brief statement of the 
grounds upon which it is based shall accompany such an objection.  The objection, 
the ruling on the objection, and the reasons for the ruling will be noted in the 
record.  The presiding officer may rule on the objection at the time it is made or 
may reserve the ruling until the written decision. 

 
6. Whenever evidence is ruled inadmissible, the party offering that 

evidence may submit an offer of proof on the record.  The party making the offer 
of proof for excluded oral testimony will briefly summarize the testimony or, with 
permission of the presiding officer, present the testimony.  If the excluded evi-
dence consists of a document or exhibit, it shall be marked as part of an offer of 
proof and inserted in the record. 

 
7. Irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitive evidence will be 

excluded.  Any other oral or documentary evidence, not privileged, may be re-
ceived if it is of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent men and 
women in the conduct of their affairs. 

 
8. Reasonable inferences.  The finder of fact may base its findings 

of fact upon reasonable inferences derived from other evidence received. 
  O. Default 
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  If a party fails to appear or participate in an administrative adjudication after 

proper service of notice, the agency may proceed with the hearing and render a 
decision in the absence of the party.  

  P. Subpoenas 
 
1. At the request of any party, the Director of the Department of 

Labor shall issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses at the hearing.  The 
requesting party shall specify whether the witness is also requested to bring docu-
ments and reasonably identify said documents. 

 
2. A subpoena may be served by any person specified by law to 

serve process or by any person who is not a party and who is eighteen (18) years 
of age or older.  Delivering a copy to the person named in the subpoena shall 
make service.  Proof of service may be made by affidavit of the person making 
service.  The party seeking the subpoena shall have the burden of obtaining ser-
vice of the process and shall be charged with the responsibility of tendering ap-
propriate mileage fees and witness fees pursuant to Rule 45, Arkansas Rules of 
Civil Procedure.  The witness must be served at least two days prior to the hear-
ing.  For good cause, the agency may authorize the subpoena to be served less 
than two days before the hearing. 

 
3. Any motion to quash or limit the subpoena shall be filed with 

the agency and shall state the grounds relied upon. 
  Q. Recording the Proceedings 
  The responsibility to record the testimony heard at a hearing is borne by the 

agency.  Upon the filing of a petition for judicial review, the agency will provide 
a transcript of testimony taken before the agency.  If the agency is successful 
upon appeal, the agency may request that the court assess the costs against the 
opposing party. 

  R. Factors to be Considered in Imposing Sanctions or Fines 
  In addition to any other considerations permitted by law, if applicable, the 

agency in imposing any sanction or fine may consider the following:  
 
1. The nature and degree of the misconduct for which the sanc-

tion is being sought.   
 
2. The seriousness and circumstances surrounding this miscon-

duct. 
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3. The loss or damage to clients or others. 
 
4. The assurance of future compliance. 
 
5. The profit to the wrongdoer. 
 
6. The avoidance of repetition. 
 
7. Whether the conduct was deliberate, intentional, or negligent. 
 
8. The deterrent effect on others. 
 
9. The conduct of the individual during the course of the disci-

plinary proceeding. 
 
10. Any prior enforcement or disciplinary actions or sanctions, 

including warnings. 
 

11. Matters offered in mitigation or extenuation, except that a 
claim of disability or impairment resulting from the use of alcohol or drugs may 
not be considered unless the individual demonstrates that he or she is successful-
ly pursuing in good faith a program of recovery.  
  S. Final Order 
  The agency will serve on the respondent a written order that reflects the action 
taken by the agency.  The order will include a recitation of facts found based on 
testimony and other evidence presented and reasonable inferences derived from 
the evidence pertinent to the issues of the case.  It will also state conclusions of 
law and directives or other disposition entered against or in favor of the re-
spondent. 
  The order will be served personally or by mail on the respondent.  If counsel 
represents respondent, service of the order on respondent’s counsel shall be 
deemed service on the respondent. 
    010.14-100 Minimum Wage and Overtime 
  A. The Minimum Wage Act of the State of Arkansas is codified at Ark. 
Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 et seq.   The Director of the Department of Labor is au-
thorized to promulgate administrative regulations for the administration and 
enforcement of the law.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-209. 
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  B. Definitions 
   1. “Act” means the Minimum Wage Act of the State of Arkan-
sas, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 et seq.; 
   2. “Administrator”  means the Administrator of the Labor 
Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor; 
   3. “Agriculture” includes farming in all its branches and among 
other things includes the cultivation and tillage of the soil, dairying, the produc-
tion, cultivation, growing and harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural 
commodities, the raising of livestock, bees, fur-bearing animals, or poultry, and 
any practices (including any forestry or lumbering operations) performed by a 
farmer or on a farm as an incident to or in conjunction with such farming oper-
ations, including preparation for market, delivery to storage or to market or to 
carriers for transportation to market.  “Agriculture” also includes the catching, 
taking, propagating, harvesting, cultivating, or farming of any kind of fish, shell-
fish, crustacean, sponges, seaweeds, or other aquatic forms of animal and vegeta-
ble life.  “Agriculture” includes cotton ginning and work performed as necessary 
and incidental to cotton ginning in an establishment primarily engaged in the 
ginning of cotton, including all work exempt from overtime pursuant to the 
provisions of 29 U.S.C. 213(h) and (i); 
   4. “Department” means the Arkansas Department of Labor; 
  
 5. “Director” means the Director of the Department of Labor; 
   6. “Division” means the Labor Standards Division of the Depart-
ment of Labor; 
   7. “Employ” includes to suffer or permit to work; 
   8. “Employee”  includes any individual employed by an employ-
er, but does not include those individuals specifically excluded by Ark. Code 
Ann. § 11-4-203(3) and Rule 010.14-106; and 
   9. “Employer” includes any individual, partnership, association, 
corporation, business trust, the State, any political subdivision of the State, or 
any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an 
employer in relation to an employee.  The term “employer”.    010.14-101 Rules Incorporated By Reference 
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  Throughout these rules for minimum wage and overtime, Rule 010.14-100 et 
seq., the Arkansas Department of Labor has adopted by reference and incorpo-
rated herein certain sections or parts of the Code of Federal Regulations 
(C.F.R.) or the United States Code (U.S.C.).  In all cases, references to volume 
29 of the Code of Federal Regulations shall mean the July 2005 edition, specifi-
cally 29 C.F.R., Parts 500-899 (July 1, 2005).  In all cases, references to the Unit-
ed States Code means the U. S. C. as it existed on March 1, 2006.  These Rules 
do not include any later editions or amendments to the United States Code or 
the Code of Federal Regulations.  Copies of the incorporated matter may be 
obtained at cost from the Arkansas Department of Labor, Labor Standards Divi-
sion or may be purchased directly from the U. S. Government Printing Office.  
Copies of the incorporated matter may be viewed on the website of the U. S. 
Department of Labor at:  http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/cfr/main.htm and 
http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/statutes/whd/allfair.htm  
    
010.14-102 Records To Be Kept By Employer 
  A. General requirements 
 

1. Every employer shall maintain and preserve payroll or other 
records which are true and accurate and which contain the following infor-
mation and data for each employee: 

   a. Name in full, as used for Social Security recordkeep-
   ing purposes, and on the same record, any identify-
   ing symbol or number used in place of name on any 
   time, work, or payroll records; 

   b. Home address, including zip code; 
   c. Date of birth, if under 19; 
   d. Sex and occupation; 
   e. Time of day and day of week on which the em-

   ployee’s workweek begins.  A single notation will 
   suffice if the entire workforce in an establishment 
   have the same workweek and workday beginning; 

   f. Regular hourly rate of pay for any workweek in 
   which overtime compensation is due, as well as the 
   basis on which wages are paid, such as per hour, per 
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   day, per week, per piece or rate of commission; 

   g. Hours worked each workday and total hours worked 
   each workweek; 

   h. Total daily or weekly straight time earnings or 
   wages due for hours worked during the workday or 
   workweek, exclusive of overtime compensation; 

   i. Total overtime compensation.  This amount excludes 
   the straight-time earnings for overtime hours re-
   corded under 010.14-102(A)(1)(h) above; 

   j. Total additions or deductions from wages paid each 
   pay period, as well as the nature of the items which 
   make up the additions or deductions; 

   k. Total wages paid each pay period; and 
   l. Date of payment and the pay period covered by pay-

   ment. 
 
2. For employees working on fixed schedules, an employer may 

maintain records showing instead of the hours worked each day and each work 
week, the schedule of daily and weekly hours and a statement or other method 
or recordkeeping that indicates that such hours were in fact actually worked.  In 
weeks in which more or less than the scheduled hours are worked, the exact 
number of hours worked each day and each week must be recorded. 

 
3. Each employer shall maintain and preserve the records re-

quired by this Rule for a period of at least three (3) years. 
 
4. No particular or form of records is prescribed.  The records 

must be accessible and clear and identifiable.  In the event records are main-
tained in format other than paper, such as electronically or on microfilm, ade-
quate projection, viewing, or copying equipment must be available. 

 
5. Each employer shall keep the records required by this Rule 

safe and accessible at the place or places of employment or in a central record-
keeping office in Arkansas.   In unusual circumstances, an employer may peti-
tion the Director to maintain the records outside the state.  Such approval must 
be obtained in advance.  In the event the Director approves such records to be 
maintained outside the state, the employer shall make such records available for 
inspection, transcription or copying by the division in Arkansas within 72 hours 
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following notice from the division.   

 
6. Posting of notices.  Every employer employing an employee 

subject to the Act shall post and keep posted a notice approved by the Director 
explaining and summarizing the requirements of the Act and the regulations.  
Such notice shall be posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in every estab-
lishment where such employees are employed.  

 
7. All records shall be available for inspection, transcription or 

copying by the division. 
  B. Special circumstances 
   1. Exempt from minimum wage and overtime.  With respect to 

employees exempt from both the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the 
Act, an employer shall maintain and preserve those records listed in Rule 
010.14-101(A)(1)(a) through (e). 

   2. Exempt from overtime.  With respect to employees exempt 
from the overtime provisions of the Act pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
211(e), an employer shall maintain and preserve all those records listed in Rule 
010.14-102(A)(1), except those outlined in paragraphs (f) and (i). 

 
  3. Tipped employees.  With respect to each tipped employee 
whose wages are determined pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-212, the em-
ployer shall maintain and preserve payroll or other records containing all the 
information and data required in Rule 010.14-102(A)(1) and, in addition, the 
following: 

   
 a. A symbol, letter or other notation placed on the pay 

   records identifying each employee whose wage is 
   determined in part by tips. 

 
 b. Weekly or monthly amount reported by the em-

   ployee, to the employer, of tips received (this may 
   consist of reports made by the employees to the em-
   ployer on IRS Form 4070). 

 
 *c. Amount by which the wages of each tipped employee 

   have been deemed to be increased by tips as deter-
   mined by the employer (not in excess of 58 percent 
   of the applicable statutory minimum wage).  The 

*  See inside cover for important update 
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   amount per hour which the employer takes as a tip 
   credit shall be reported to the employee in writing 
   each time it is changed from the amount per hour 
   taken in the preceding week. 

 
 d. Hours worked each workday in any occupation in 

   which the employee does not receive tips, and total 
   daily or weekly straight-time payment made by the 
   employer for such hours. 

 
 e. Hours worked each workday in occupations in which 

   the employee receives tips, and total daily or weekly 
   straight-time earnings for such hours. 

 
4. Employees receiving board, lodging or other facilities.  In ad-

dition to other records required by this Rule, an employer who makes a deduc-
tion from the wages of employees for board, lodging, or other facilities pursuant 
to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-213 shall maintain and preserve records substantiating 
the cost of furnishing the board, lodging or other facilities.  Such records shall 
include itemized accounts showing the nature and amount of any expenditures 
entering into the computation of the costs. 

 
5. In addition to other records required by this Rule, an employ-

er shall maintain and preserve the following records as applicable: 
 
 a. any certificate of eligibility to pay a sub-minimum 

   wage to a full-time student pursuant to Ark. Code 
   Ann. § 11-4-21(b) and Rule 010.14-103;  

 
 b. any permit or authorization to pay a student-learner a 

   sub-minimum wage pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 
   11-4-215 and Rule 010.14-104; and 

 
 c. any permit or authorization to employ handicapped 

   persons at wages less that the applicable minimum 
   wage pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-214 and 
   Rule 010.14-105. 

 
6. Additional record-keeping requirements are contained in Rule 

010.14-106(B) for bona fide executive, administrative and professional employ-
ees, and in Rule 010.14-106(D) for employees of state and local government, 
including employees engaged in fire protection or law enforcement activities. 

  C. Recording working time 
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1. Differences between clock records and actual hours worked. 

Time clocks are not required.  In those cases where time clocks are used, employ-
ees who voluntarily come in before their regular starting time or remain after 
their closing time, do not have to be paid for such periods provided, of course, 
that they do not engage in any work. Their early or late clock punching may be 
disregarded. Minor differences between the clock records and actual hours 
worked cannot ordinarily be avoided, but major discrepancies should be discour-
aged since they raise a doubt as to the accuracy of the records of the hours actu-
ally worked. 

 
2. “Rounding” practices. It has been found that in some indus-

tries, particularly where time clocks are used, there has been the practice for 
many years of recording the employees' starting time and stopping time to the 
nearest 5 minutes, or to the nearest one-tenth or quarter of an hour.  Presuma-
bly, this arrangement averages out so that the employees are fully compensated 
for all the time they actually work.  

For enforcement purposes this practice of computing working time will 
be accepted, provided that it is used in such a manner that it will not result, over 
a period of time, in failure to compensate the employees properly for all the time 
they have actually worked. 

    010.14-103 Employment of Full Time Students at Sub-Minimum Wages 
 

  A. Conditions of employment 
 
1. An employer may pay a full-time student a sub-minimum wage 

of not less than eight-five percent (85%) of the applicable minimum wage rate, 
provided the following conditions are met: 

 
 a. The employer has, in advance of employment at less 

   than the applicable minimum wage rate, a full-time 
   student certificate issued by the department; 

 
 b. The full-time student attends an accredited institu-

   tion of education within the State of Arkansas on a 
   full-time basis in accordance with the institution’s 
   definitions; 

 
 c. The employer does not employ the student more 

   than twenty (20) hours per week during times school 
   is in session and not more than forty (40) hours per 
   week during times school is not in session; and 
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 d. Notwithstanding paragraph (c) above, the employer 

   does not employ the student in violation of any ap-
   plicable child labor laws. 

 
2. A full-time student retains that status during the student’s 

Christmas, summer and other vacations. 
 
3. Notwithstanding paragraph 1(b) above, a full-time student 

residing in a border town may attend an accredited institution of education 
within the border sister state on a full-time basis and qualify for the sub-
minimum wage allowed by this rule provided the student is otherwise qualified.    B. Full-time student certificates 

 
1. An application for a full-time student certificate shall be made 

on a form approved by the department and shall require submission of verifica-
tion from an accredited institution of education within the State of Arkansas 
that the student is a full-time student in accordance with the institution’s defini-
tion of same. 

 
2. A full-time student certificate will be issued for a period of 

one year and shall not be valid upon its expiration. 

 
3. A full-time student certificate issued by the U. S. Department 

of Labor pursuant to 29 C.F.R. 519 is acceptable in lieu of one issued by the 
Arkansas Department of Labor, however the employer is responsible for comply-
ing with the other conditions of employing full-time students at a sub-minimum 
wage rate provided in Rule 010.14-103(A) above, including payment of wages at 
not less than eighty-five percent (85%) of the minimum wage established by Ark. 
Code Ann. § 11-4-210. 

    010.14-104 Student Learners, Learners and Apprentices 
  An employer may employ a learner, a student learner, or an apprentice at a 

sub-minimum wage, provided:  
  A. For learners and apprentices, the employer has current and valid certifi-

cation from the U. S. Department of Labor to employ learners and apprentices 
at a sub-minimum wage pursuant to 29 C.F.R. 520.400 through 520.412 and 
pays wages to such learners and apprentices at a rate of not less than eighty-five 
percent (85%) of the minimum wage rate established by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
210(a); and 
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  B. For student learners, the employer has current and valid certification 

from the U. S. Department of Labor to employ student learners at a sub-
minimum wage pursuant to 29 C.F.R. 520.500 through 520.508 and pays wages 
to such learners and apprentices at a rate of not less than eighty-five percent 
(85%) of the minimum wage rate established by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210(a). 

    010.14-105 Employment of Workers With Disabilities 
  A worker with a disability may be employed at a special minimum wage rate 

pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-214, by obtaining either certification and 
authorization for such employment from the U. S. Department of Labor or from 
this division. 

  A. Federal certification 
  A worker with a disability may be employed at a special minimum wage rate 

pursuant to a special certificate issued for workers with disabilities by the U. S. 
Department of Labor pursuant to 29 C.F.R. Part 525, provided the worker with 
a disability is actually paid as authorized by the U. S. Department of Labor. 

  B. State certification 
  The division will issue a state certificate of authorization to employ a worker 

with a disability at a special minimum wage rate under the same terms and con-
ditions as the U. S. Department of Labor and for such purpose the provisions of 
29 C.F.R., Part 525 (July 2005) are adopted by reference and incorporated here-
in.   

    010.14-106 Coverage and Exemptions 
  A. Employer coverage and exemption from minimum wage and over-

time 
 
1. The Act defines “employer” to include “any individual, part-

nership, association, corporation, business trust, the State, any political subdivi-
sion of the State, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly 
in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee”.  Ark. Code Ann. § 
11-4-203(4)(A). 

   a. An entity, including an individual, partnership, asso-
   ciation, corporation, business trust, governmental 
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   agency, or any person or group of persons, acts indi-
   rectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an 
   employee when such entity or entities conduct re-
   lated activities, either through unified operations or 
   common control.   

   b. Such related activities need not occur in the same 
   establishment or facility.  

 
2. The Act defines “employer” to exclude any individual, part-

nership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person or group of per-
sons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an 
employee for any workweek in which fewer than four (4) employees are em-
ployed.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(4)(B). 

   a. Employees who are exempt from the Act pursuant to 
   Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3) or Rule  010.14-
   106(B) shall be counted as employees for the purpose 
   of determining whether an employer employs fewer 
   than four (4) employees. 

  B. Employee exemptions from minimum wage and overtime 
 
1. The Act does not apply to any individual employed in a bona 

fide executive, administrative or professional capacity or as an outside commis-
sion-paid salesperson who customarily performs his or her services away from his 
or her employer’s premises taking orders for goods or services.  Ark. Code Ann. 
§ 11-4-203(3)(A). 

 
 a. For the purpose of defining and delimiting this ex-

   emption, the director adopts by reference and incur-
   porates herein 29 C.F.R. Part 541 (July 1, 2005). 

 
 b. For the purposes of this exemption, computer em-

   ployees covered by 29 C.F.R. 541.400 through .402 
   are hereby defined as “professional employees”. 

 
 c. For the purposes of this exemption, highly compen-

   sated employees covered by 29 C.F.R. 541.601 are 
   hereby defined as an executive, administrative or 
   professional employee if the employee customarily 
   and regularly performs any one or more of the ex-
   empt duties or responsibilities of an executive, ad-
   ministrative or professional employee. 
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 d. For the purposes of this exemption, executive or 

   administrative employee includes any individual 
   who: 

 
  (i) holds public elective office in this state; 

    or 
 
  (ii) is selected by the elected official to be a 

    member of his personal staff and is di-
    rectly supervised by the elected official; or 

 
  (iii) is appointed by the elected official to 

    serve on a policymaking level; or 
 
  (iv) is an immediate adviser to the elected 

    official with respect to the constitutional 
    or legal powers of his office; 

 
 e. Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 010.14-

   106(B)(1)(a) above, the salary level test of 29  
   C.F.R. 541.100(a)(1) (executive employees); 29 
   C.F.R 541.200(a)(1) (administrative employees); 29 
   C.F.R. 541.300(a)(1) (professional employees); and 
   29 C.F.R. 541.400(b) (computer employees) as it 
   applies to charitable and religious organizations, 
   and employers who have gross annual sales of less 
   than $500,000 per year, shall be at a rate of at least 
   $360 per week on a salary or fee basis.   

   f. It is recognized that the primary duties of the fol-
   lowing legislative employees require the employees 
   to customarily and regularly perform tasks or work 
   involving the exercise of discretion and independ-
   ent judgment with respect to matters of signifi-
   cance in the course of assisting members of the 
   General Assembly, and they are professional, ex-
   ecutive, or administrative employees for the pur-
   pose of this exemption:  legislative attorneys, legis-
   lative auditors, legislative editors, and legislative 
   analysts.  Nothing in this provision limits the ap-
   plication of other exemptions to legislative employ-
   ees.  “Legislative employee” has the same meaning 
   as defined by Ark. Code Ann. § 10-2-129. 
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2. The Act does not apply to students performing services for 

any school, college, or university in which they are enrolled and are regularly 
attending classes.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(B). 

 
3. The Act does not apply to any individual employed by the 

United States government.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(C). 
 
4. The Act does not apply to any individual engaged in the activi-

ties of any educational, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization where the 
employer-employee relationship does not in fact exist or where the services are 
rendered to the organizations gratuitously.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(D). 

   a. This exemption does not apply to an individual per-
   forming services for an employer engaged in a for-
   profit enterprise in return, exchange or in anticipa-
   tion of a donation or compensation to the educa-
   tional, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organiza-
   tion. 

 
5. The Act does not apply to any bona fide independent contrac-

tor.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(E). 
 
6. The Act does not apply to any individual employed by an agri-

cultural employer who did not use more than 500 man-days of agricultural labor 
in any calendar quarter of the preceding calendar year.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
203(3)(F). 

 
7. The Act does not apply to the parent, spouse, child or other 

member of an agricultural employer’s immediate family.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-
4-203(3)(G). 

 
8. The Act does not apply to an individual who: 
   a. is employed as a hand-harvest laborer and is paid on 

   a piece-rate basis in an operation which has been, 
   and is customarily and generally recognized as having 
   been, paid on a piece-rate basis in the region of em-
   ployment; 

   b. commutes daily from his or her permanent residence 
   to the farm on which he or she is so employed; and 
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  c. has been employed in agriculture fewer than thirteen 

   (13) weeks during the preceding calendar year.   Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(H). 
 
9. The Act does not apply to a migrant worker who: 
   a. is sixteen (16) years of age or under and is employed 

   as a hand-harvest laborer; 
   b. is paid on a piece-rate basis in an operation which 

   has been, and is customarily and generally recognized 
   as having been, paid on a piece-rate basis in the re-
   gion of employment; 

   c. is employed on the same farm as his or her parent(s); 
   and 

   d. is paid the same piece-rate as employees over age 
   sixteen (16) years are paid on the same farm. Ark. 
   Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(I). 

 
10. The Act does not apply to any employee principally engaged 

in the range production of livestock.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(J). 
 
11. The Act does not apply to any employee employed in planting 

or tending trees, cruising, surveying or felling timber or in preparing or trans-
porting logs or other forestry products to the mill, processing plants or railroad 
or other transportation terminal if the number of employees employed by his or 
her employer in the forestry or lumbering operations does not exceed eight (8).  
Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(K). 

 
12. The Act does not apply to any employee employed by a non-

profit recreational or educational camp that does not operate for more than 
seven (7) months in any calendar year.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(3)(L).   

 
13. The Act does not apply to an employee of a nonprofit child 

welfare agency who serves as a houseparent who is: 
   a. directly involved in caring for children who reside in 

   residential facilities of the nonprofit child welfare 
   agency and who are orphans, in foster care, abused, 
   neglected, abandoned, homeless, in need of supervi-
   sion or otherwise in crisis situations that lead to out-
   of-home placements; and 
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   b. compensated at an annual rate of not less than thir-

   teen thousand dollars ($13,000) or at an annual rate 
   of not less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) if the 
   employee resides in the residential facility and re-
   ceives board and lodging at no cost.  Ark. Code Ann. 
   § 11-4-203(3)(M). 

 
14. The Act shall not apply to any employee employed in connec-

tion with the publication of any weekly, semiweekly, or daily newspaper with a 
circulation of less than four thousand the major part of which circulation is 
within the county where published or counties contiguous thereto.  See 29 
U.S.C. 213(a)(8). 

 
15. The Act shall not apply to any employee employed on a casual 

basis in domestic service employment to provide babysitting services or any em-
ployee employed in domestic service employment to provide companionship 
services for individuals who (because of age or infirmity) are unable to care for 
themselves.  See 29 U.S.C. 213(a)(15).  For the purposes of defining these terms 
and in order to implement, administer and enforce this exemption, the director 
adopts by reference and incorporates herein 29 C.F.R. Part 552 (July 1, 2005). 

 
16. The Act shall not apply to any employee engaged in the deliv-

ery of newspapers to the consumer.  See 29 U.S.C. 213(d). 
 
17. The Act shall not apply to any home worker engaged in the 

making of wreaths composed principally of natural holly, pine, cedar or other 
evergreens (including the harvesting of the evergreens or other forest products 
used in making such wreaths).  See 29 U.S.C. 213(d). 

  **C. Employee exemptions from overtime only 
 
1. The following employees are exempt from the overtime provi-

sions of Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211(a): 
   a. any employee of an agricultural employer;   
  
 b. any employee with respect to who the U.S. Secretary 

   of Transportation has power to establish qualifica-
   tions and maximum hours of service pursuant to 49 
   U.S.C. 31502; 

**  See inside cover for important update 
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   c. any employee of an employer engaged in the opera-

   tion of a rail carrier subject to 49 U.S.C. part A of 
   subtitle IV; 

   d. any employee of a carrier by air subject to the provi-
   sions of title II of the federal Railway Labor Act; 

   e. any individual employed as an outside buyer of pou-
   ltry, eggs, cream, or milk in their raw or natural state; 

   f. any employee employed as a seaman; 
   g. any employee employed as an announcer, news edi-

   tor, or chief engineer by a radio or television station 
   the major studio of which is located 

    (i) in a city or town of one hundred thousand 
    population or less, according to the latest 
    available decennial census figures as com-
    piles by the U. S. Bureau of the Census, 
    except where such city or town is part of a 
    standard metropolitan statistical area, as 
    defined and designated by the U. S. Office 
    of Management and Budget which has a 
    total population in excess of one hundred 
    thousand, or 

    (ii) in a city or town of twenty-five thousand 
    population or less which is part of such an 
    area but is at least 40 airline miles from the 
    principal city in such an area; 

   h. any salesman: 
    (i) partsman, or mechanic primarily engaged in 

    selling or servicing automobiles, trucks, or 
    farm implements, if he is employed by a 
    non-manufacturing establishment primarily 
    engaged in the business of selling such vehi-
    cles or implements to the ultimate pur-
    chaser; or 
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  (ii) primarily engaged in selling trailers, boats, 

    or aircraft, if he is employed by a non-
    manufacturing establishment primarily en-
    gaged in the business of selling, trailers, 
    boats, or aircraft to the ultimate purchaser; 

   i. any employee employed as a driver or driver’s helper 
   making local deliveries, who is compensated for such 
   employment on the basis of trip rates, or other deliv-
   ery payment plan; 

   j. any employee employed in connection with the op-
   eration or maintenance of ditches, canals, reservoirs, 
   or waterways, not owned or operated for profit, or 
   operated on a sharecrop basis, and which are used  
   exclusively for supply and storing of water at least 
   ninety percent (90%) of which was ultimately deliv-
   ered for agricultural purposes during the preceding 
   calendar year; 

   k. any employee employed in connection with livestock 
   auction operations, provided such employee is pri-
   marily employed during the week by the same em-
   ployer in agriculture and is paid for his employment 
   in connection with such livestock auction operations 
   at a rate not less than the minimum wage rate pre-
   scribed by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210(a); 

   l. any employee employed within the area of produc-
   tion by an establishment commonly recognized as a 
   country elevator, including such an establishment 
   which sells products and services used in the opera-
   tion of a farm if no more than five employees are 
   employed in the establishment in such operations; 

   m. any employee engaged in the processing of maple sap 
   into sugar (other than refined sugar) or syrup; 

   n. any employee engaged: 
    (i) in the transportation and preparation for 

    transportation of fruits and vegetables, 
    whether or not performed by the farmer, 
    from the farm to a place of first processing 
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    or first marketing within the state; or 

    (ii) in transportation, whether or not per-
    formed by the farmer, between the farm 
    and any point within the state of persons 
    employed or to be employed in the harvest-
    ing of fruits or vegetables; 

   o. any driver employed by an employer engaged in the 
   business of operating taxicabs; 

   p. any employee of a public agency who in any work
   week is employed in fire protection activities or any 
   employee who in any workweek is employed in law 
   enforcement activities (including security personnel 
   in correction institutions or jails), if the public 
   agency employs during the workweek less than five 
   (5) employees in fire protection or law enforcement 
   activities, as the case may be;  

   q. any employee who is employed in domestic service in 
   a household and who resides in such household; 

   r. any employee of an amusement or recreational estab-
   lishment located in a national park or national forest 
   or on land in the National Wildlife System if such 
   employee: 

    (i) is an employee of a private entity engaged in 
    providing services or facilities in such loca-
    tion, and 

    (ii) receives compensation for employment in 
    excess of 56 hours in any workweek at a rate 
    not less than one and one-half (1 ½) times 
    the regular rate at which he is employed;  
    and 

   s. a criminal investigator who is paid availability pay 
   under 5 U.S.C. 5545a. 

  D. Partial overtime exemptions—public agencies 
 
1. In lieu of overtime compensation, Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
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211(g) provides that the State or any political subdivision of the State may award 
compensatory time off at a rate of not less than one and one-half (1 ½ ) hours 
for each hour of employment for which overtime compensation would otherwise 
be required.  The compensatory time off may be provided only: 

 
 a. (i) Pursuant to applicable provisions of a col-

    lective bargaining agreement, memorandum 
    of understanding or other agreement be-
    tween the public  agency and representa-
    tives of such employees; or 

 
  (ii) In the case of an employee not covered by 

    Rule 010.14-106(D)(1)(a)(i) above, an agree
    ment or understanding arrived at between 
    the employer and the employee before the 
    performance of the work; and 

 
 b. If the employee has not terminated employment and 

   has not accrued compensatory time in excess of the 
   following: 

 
  (i) Four hundred eighty (480) hours for police, 

    firefighters, emergency response personnel 
    and employees engaged in seasonal active
    ties; or 

 
  (ii) Two hundred forty (240) hours for any pub-

    lic employee not otherwise exempt or cov-
    ered by Rule 010.14-106(D)(1)(b)(i) above.   

 
2. Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211(f) provides that no public agency 

shall be deemed to have violated the overtime provisions of the Act with respect 
to the employment of any employee in fire protection activities or in law en-
forcement activities, including security personnel in correctional institutions, 
provided that the public agency pays overtime pay in compliance with 29 U.S.C. 
207(k) as it exists on March 1, 2006. 

 
3. In order to implement, administer and enforce the provisions 

of Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211(f) and(g), as well as Rule 010.14-106(D)(1) and(2) 
above, the director adopts by reference and incorporates herein 29 C.F.R. Part 
553 (July 1, 2005). 

    010.14-107 Wage Payments 
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A. Generally 
 
1. Payment of wages for minimum wage or overtime shall be 

made in currency, check drawn on an account with sufficient funds or by elec-
tronic deposit into an employee’s account in compliance with Ark. Code Ann. 
§11-4-402. 

 
2. Payment of wages shall be made free and clear and must be 

paid finally and unconditionally.   
 
3. Special rules apply for tipped employees whose employer takes 

a credit against the minimum wage; employees who receive board, lodging or 
other facilities for which an employer takes credit against the minimum wage; 
and for public employees who receive compensatory time off in lieu of overtime 
pursuant to these Rules and the Act. 

 
B. Deductions from minimum wage 

 
1. An  employer may not make deductions from the minimum 

wage and overtime wages required by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-210 and -211 
except those authorized by the Rules, deductions authorized or required by law, 
and deductions not otherwise prohibited which are for the employee’s benefit 
and authorized by the employee in writing. 

 
2. An employer may not make deductions from the applicable 

minimum wage rate for such items, including but not limited to the following:  
spoilage or breakage; cash or inventory shortages or losses; and fines or penalties 
for lateness, misconduct, or quitting by an employee without notice.  

  C. Payments to third persons 
 
1. Taxes.  Taxes which are assessed against the employee and 

which are collected  by the employer and forwarded to the appropriate govern-
mental agency are included as wages paid to the employee.  No deduction may 
be made for any tax or share of a tax which the law requires to be borne by the 
employer. 

 
2. Court order.  Where an employer is legally obliged by order of 

a court of competent jurisdiction to pay a sum for the benefit or credit of the 
employee to a creditor, trustee, or other third party, such as a wage garnishment, 
wage attachment, income withholding order for child support, or bankruptcy 
proceeding, payment to the third person is equivalent to payment to the employ-
ee, provided that neither the employer nor any person acting in his behalf or in 
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his interest derives any profit or benefit from the transaction. 

 
3. Wage assignments.  Where an employer is directed by a volun-

tary wage assignment or order of the employee to pay a sum for the benefit of 
the employee to a third party, payment to the third person is equivalent to pay-
ment to the employee, provided that neither the employer nor any person acting 
in his behalf or in his interest derives any profit or benefit from the transaction.  
This includes sums authorized by the employee in writing for such items as U.S. 
savings bonds, charitable contributions, insurance premiums (paid to independ-
ent insurance companies where the employer is under no obligation to supply 
the insurance and derives, directly or indirectly, no benefit or profit from it), 
and union dues.   

  D.  Allowance for board, lodging, apparel, or other items and services 
 
1. An employer of an employee engaged in any occupation in 

which board, lodging, apparel or other items and services are customarily and 
regularly furnished to the employee for his or her benefit shall be entitled to an 
allowance against the minimum wage for the reasonable value of board , lodg-
ing, apparel or other services in an amount not to exceed thirty cents (30¢) per 
hour.  This allowance shall not be included in the wages for hours worked in 
excess of forty (40) hours per workweek. 

 
2. Board, lodging, apparel or other items and services are not 

“furnished” to the employee unless the employee receives the benefit and his 
acceptance is voluntary and uncoerced.  For example, an allowance can not be 
taken for meals not actually eaten.   

 
3. It does not matter whether the employer calculates the allow-

ance as additions to or deductions from wages. 
 
4. If it is necessary to determine “reasonable value”, the division 

will follow the provisions of determining “reasonable cost” within the meaning 
of 29 C.F.R. 531.33 (July 1, 2005).  “Reasonable value” does not include a profit 
to the employer and is not more than the actual cost to the employer of the 
board, lodging, apparel or other item or service.   

 
5. The employer is not entitled to an allowance for the cost of 

board, lodging, apparel or other items and services furnished to the employee, 
but primarily for the benefit of the employer.  Apparel that has a company or 
business logo shall be considered primarily for the benefit of the employer. 

 
6. The employer is not entitled to an allowance for the cost of 

board, lodging apparel or other items and services that are required by the em-
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ployer as a condition of employment.  For example, if an employer requires as a 
condition of employment, that the employee reside on the employer’s premises, 
a lodging allowance is unavailable to the employer. 

  E. Tipped employees 
 

 *1. Every employer of an employee engaged in any occupation in 
which gratuities have been customarily and usually constituted and have been 
recognized as a part of remuneration for hiring purposes shall be entitled to an 
allowance for gratuities as part of the hourly wage rate provided in Ark. Code 
Ann. § 11-4-210 in an amount not to exceed 58% of the minimum wage rate 
established by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210, provided that the employee actually 
received that amount in gratuities and that the application of the gratuity allow-
ance results in payment of wages other than gratuities to the tipped employees, 
including full-time students subject to the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
210, of no less than 42% of the minimum wage rate.  If the minimum wage rate 
is $6.25, then the tip credit is $3.63 and the cash wage is $2.62. 

   2. Conditions for taking the tip credit.   
    a. The tip credit is only available for those occupation 

   in which tips have been “customarily and usually” 
   recognized as part of the remuneration for hiring 
   purposes.  This includes waiters, waitresses, bellhops, 
   beauty operators, and barbers, provided they actually 
   receive and retain tips.  For any other occupation, it 
   will be “customarily and usually” recognized as part 
   of the remuneration for hiring purposes if the em-
   ployee actually receives tips in excess of $20 per 
   month. 

    b. The tip credit may be taken only for hours worked by 
   the employee in an occupation in which he qualifies 
   as a “tipped employee”. 

     i. Under employment agreements or practices 
    requiring tips to be turned over or credited 
    to the employer to be treated by him as part 
    of his gross receipts, the employer must pay 
    the employee the full minimum hourly 
    wage rate because the employee is not a 
    “tipped employee”. 

*  See inside cover for important update 
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     ii. Dual jobs.  Whenever an employee is re-

    quired to work twenty minutes or more in 
    any occupation in which gratuities have not 
    been recognized as part of the remuneration 
    for hiring purposes, the rate for the entire 
    hour shall be at least the applicable mini-
    mum wage rate without an tip credit. 

   3. Payments which constitute tips. 
    a. A tip is a sum presented by a customer as a gift or 

   gratuity in recognition of some service performed.  It 
   is to be distinguished from payment of a charge, if 
   any, made for the service.   A compulsory charge for 
   service, such as 10% of the amount of the bill, im-
   posed on a customer by an employer’s establishment, 
   is not a tip and, even if distributed by the employer 
   to his employees, cannot be counted as a tip. 

    b. In addition to cash, sums presented by customer 
   which an employee keeps as his own, tips received by 
   an employee include, within the meaning of the Act, 
   amounts paid by bank check or other negotiable 
   instrument payable at par and amounts transferred 
   by the employer to the employee pursuant to direc-
   tion from credit customers who designate amounts 
   to be added to their bills as tips.  Special gifts in 
   forms other than money or its equivalent as above 
   described, such as tickets, passes or merchandise, are 
   not counted as tips. 

    c. Tip pooling.  Where employees practice tip splitting, 
   as where waiters give a portion of their tips to the 
   busboys, both the amounts retained by the waiters 
   and those given the busboys are considered tips of 
   the individual employees who retain them.  Simi-
   larly, where an accounting is made to an employer 
   for his information only or in furtherance of a pool-
   ing arrangement whereby the employer redistributes 
   the tips to the employees upon some basis to which 
   they have mutually agreed among themselves, the 
   amounts received and retained by each individual as 
   his own are counted as his tips.   
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   4. The tip credit is in addition to any credit for board, lodging, 

apparel or other items or services pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-213 and 
Rule 010.14-107(D).   
   *5. Overtime payments.  When overtime is worked by a tipped 
employee, his regular rate of pay is determined by dividing his total remunera-
tion for employment in any workweek by the total number of hours actually 
worked by him in that workweek.  A tipped employee’s regular rate of pay in-
cludes the amount of tip credit taken by the employer (not in excess of 58% of 
the minimum wage rate); any allowance taken by the employer for board, lodg-
ing, apparel or other items and services as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-
213 and Rule 010.14-107(D); and the cash wages paid including commissions 
and certain bonuses or other payments paid by the employer.  Any tips received 
by the employee in excess of the tip credit need not be included in the regular 
rate of pay for determining overtime payments. 

   6. Failure to maintain tip records.  It is the employer’s obligation 
to maintain tip records as required by Rule 010.14-102(B)(3) if the employer 
utilizes a tip credit or allowance.  If the employer fails to maintain such records, 
the employer is not entitled to a tip credit or allowance against the minimum 
wage unless the employer can prove that the employee against who a tip credit 
or allowance is sought actually received and retained each workweek tips in an 
amount equal to or greater than the tip credit or allowance claimed. 

  F. Effect of collective bargaining agreements 
  Allowances as part payment of the applicable minimum wage for gra-

tuities, board, lodging, apparel or other items and services shall not be permitted 
to the extent such deductions from cash wages are not permitted under the 
terms of a collective bargaining agreement applicable to an employee.  

    010.14-108 Hours Worked 
  A. Employees “suffered or permitted” to work 
   1. Work not requested but suffered or permitted is work time. 

For example, an employee may voluntarily continue to work at the end of the 
shift. He may be a pieceworker, he may desire to finish an assigned task or he 
may wish to correct errors, paste work tickets, prepare time reports or other rec-
ords. The reason is immaterial. The employer knows or has reason to believe 

*  See inside cover for important update 
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that he is continuing to work and the time is working time. 

 
  2. The rule is also applicable to work performed away from the 
premises or the job site, or even at home. If the employer knows or has reason to 
believe that the work is being performed, he must count the time as hours 
worked. 

   
3.  In all such cases it is the duty of the management to exercise 

its control and see that the work is not performed if it does not want it to be 
performed. It cannot sit back and accept the benefits without compensating for 
them. The mere promulgation of a rule against such work is not enough. Man-
agement has the power to enforce the rule and must make every effort to do so. 

  B. Waiting Time  
 

 1.  Generally.  Whether waiting time is time worked under the 
Act depends upon particular circumstances. The determination involves a scruti-
ny and construction of the agreements between particular parties, appraisal of 
their practical construction of the working agreement by conduct, consideration 
of the nature of the service, and its relation to the waiting time, and all of the 
circumstances. Facts may show that the employee was engaged to wait or they 
may show that he waited to be engaged.  

 
  2.  On duty.   A stenographer who reads a book while waiting for 
dictation, a messenger who works a crossword puzzle while awaiting assignments, 
fireman who plays checkers while waiting for alarms and a factory worker who 
talks to his fellow employees while waiting for machinery to be repaired are all 
working during their periods of inactivity. The rule also applies to employees 
who work away from the plant. For example, a repair man is working while he 
waits for his employer's customer to get the premises in readiness. The time is 
worktime even though the employee is allowed to leave the premises or the job 
site during such periods of inactivity. The periods during which these occur are 
unpredictable. They are usually of short duration. In either event the employee 
is unable to use the time effectively for his own purposes. It belongs to and is 
controlled by the employer. In all of these cases waiting is an integral part of the 
job. The employee is engaged to wait.  

 
3.  Off duty.  Periods during which an employee is completely 

relieved from duty and which are long enough to enable him to use the time 
effectively for his own purposes are not hours worked. He is not completely re-
lieved from duty and cannot use the time effectively for his own purposes unless 
he is definitely told in advance that he may leave the job and that he will not 
have to commence work until a definitely specified hour has arrived. Whether 
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the time is long enough to enable him to use the time effectively for his own 
purposes depends upon all of the facts and circumstances of the case. 

 
4.  On-call time.  An employee who is required to remain on call 

on the employer's premises or so close thereto that he cannot use the time effec-
tively for his own purposes is working while “on call”. An employee who is not 
required to remain on the employer's premises but is merely required to leave 
word at his home or with company officials where he may be reached is not 
working while on call. 

 
C. Rest and meal periods 
 

1.  Rest periods of short duration, running from 5 minutes to 
about 20 minutes, are common in industry. They promote the efficiency of the 
employee and are customarily paid for as working time. They must be counted 
as hours worked. Compensable time of rest periods may not be offset against 
other working time such as compensable waiting time or on-call time. 

 
2.  Bona fide meal periods are not worktime.  Bona fide meal 

periods do not include coffee breaks or time for snacks. These are rest periods. 
The employee must be completely relieved from duty for the purposes of eating 
regular meals. Ordinarily 30 minutes or more is long enough for a bona fide 
meal period. A shorter period may be long enough under special conditions. 
The employee is not relieved if he is required to perform any duties, whether 
active or inactive, while eating. For example, an office employee who is required 
to eat at his desk or a factory worker who is required to be at his machine is 
working while eating.  It is not necessary that an employee be permitted to leave 
the premises if he is otherwise completely freed from duties during the meal 
period. 

 
D. Sleeping time and certain other activities 
 
 1.  Under certain conditions an employee is considered to be 
working even though some of his time is spent in sleeping or in certain other 
activities. 
 
 2.  Less than 24-hour duty.  An employee who is required to be 
on duty for less than 24 hours is working even though he is permitted to sleep 
or engage in other personal activities when not busy.  A telephone operator, for 
example, who is required to be on duty for specified hours is working even 
though she is permitted to sleep when not busy answering calls.  It makes no 
difference that she is furnished facilities for sleeping.  Her time is given to her 
employer.  She is required to be on duty and the time is worktime. 
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 3.  Duty of 24 hours or more. 
 
   a. Where an employee is required to be on duty for 24 
    hours or more, the employer and the employee may agree 
    to exclude bona fide meal periods and a bona fide regu-
    larly scheduled sleeping period of not more than 8 hours 
    from hours worked, provided adequate sleeping facilities 
    are furnished by the employer and the employee can 
    usually enjoy an uninterrupted nights sleep.  If sleeping 
    period is of more than 8 hours, only 8 hours will be cred-
    ited.  Where no expressed or implied agreement to the 
    contrary is present, the 8 hours of sleeping time and 
    lunch periods constitute hours worked. 
 
   b. Interruptions of sleep.  If the sleeping period is inter-
    rupted by a call to duty, the interruption must be  
    counted as hours worked. If the period is interrupted to 
    such an extent that the employee cannot get a reasonable 
    night's sleep, the entire period must be counted. If the 
    employee cannot get at least 5 hours' sleep during the 
    scheduled period the entire time is working time. 

 
4.  Residing on the employer’s premises or working at home. 
  An employee who resides on his employer's premises on a permanent basis or 

for extended periods of time is not considered as working all the time he is on 
the premises. Ordinarily, he may engage in normal private pursuits and thus 
have enough time for eating, sleeping, entertaining, and other periods of com-
plete freedom from all duties when he may leave the premises for purposes of 
his own. It is, of course, difficult to determine the exact hours worked under 
these circumstances and any reasonable agreement of the parties which takes 
into consideration all of the pertinent facts will be accepted. This rule would 
apply, for example, to the pumper of a stripper well who resides on the premises 
of his employer and also to a telephone operator who has the switchboard in her 
own home. 

 
E. Lectures, meetings and training programs 
 
Attendance at lectures, meetings, training programs and similar activities need 
not be counted as working time if the following four criteria are met: 

 
1.  Attendance is outside of the employee's regular working 

hours; 
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2.  Attendance is in fact voluntary; 
 
3.  The course, lecture, or meeting is not directly related to the  

employee's job; and 
 
4.  The employee does not perform any productive work during 

such attendance. 
 

F. Traveltime 
 
1.  Home to work; ordinary situation. 
 

An employee who travels from home before his regular workday and returns to 
his home at the end of the workday is engaged in ordinary home to work travel 
which is a normal incident of employment. This is true whether he works at a 
fixed location or at different job sites. Normal travel from home to work is not 
worktime. 

 
2.  Home to work in emergency situations. 
  There may be instances when travel from home to work is overtime.  For ex-

ample, if an employee who has gone home after completing his day's work is 
subsequently called out at night to travel a substantial distance to perform an 
emergency job for one of his employer's customers all time spent on such travel 
is working time. The Divisions are taking no position on whether travel to the 
job and back home by an employee who receives an emergency call outside of 
his regular hours to report back to his regular place of business to do a job is 
working time. 

 
3.  Home to work on special one-day assignment in another city. 
  A problem arises when an employee who regularly works at a fixed location in 

one city is given a special 1-day work assignment in another city. For example, an 
employee who works in Washington, DC, with regular working hours from 9 
a.m. to 5 p.m. may be given a special assignment in New York City, with instruc-
tions to leave Washington at 8 a.m. He arrives in New York at 12 noon, ready 
for work. The special assignment is completed at 3 p.m., and the employee ar-
rives back in Washington at 7 p.m. Such travel cannot be regarded as ordinary 
home-to-work travel occasioned merely by the fact of employment. It was per-
formed for the employer's benefit and at his special request to meet the needs of 
the particular and unusual assignment. It would thus qualify as an integral part 
of the “principal” activity which the employee was hired to perform on the work-
day in question; it is like travel involved in an emergency call (described in Rule 
010.14-108(F)(2)), or like travel that is all in the day's work (see Rule 010.14-
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108(F)(4)).  All the time involved, however, need not be counted. Since, except 
for the special assignment, the employee would have had to report to his regular 
work site, the travel between his home and the railroad depot may be deducted, 
it being in the “home-to-work” category. Also, of course, the usual meal time 
would be deductible. 

 
4.   Travel that is all in the day’s work. 
 

Time spent by an employee in travel as part of his principal activity, such as trav-
el from job site to job site during the workday, must be counted as hours 
worked. Where an employee is required to report at a meeting place to receive 
instructions or to perform other work there, or to pick up and to carry tools, the 
travel from the designated place to the work place is part of the day's work, and 
must be counted as hours worked regardless of contract, custom, or practice. If 
an employee normally finishes his work on the premises at 5 p.m. and is sent to 
another job which he finishes at 8 p.m. and is required to return to his employ-
er's premises arriving at 9 p.m., all of the time is working time. However, if the 
employee goes home instead of returning to his employer's premises, the travel 
after 8 p.m. is home-to-work travel and is not hours worked. 
 
 5.  Travel away from home community. 

 
Travel that keeps an employee away from home overnight is travel away from 
home. Travel away from home is clearly worktime when it cuts across the em-
ployee's workday. The employee is simply substituting travel for other duties. 
The time is not only hours worked on regular working days during normal work-
ing hours but also during the corresponding hours on nonworking days. Thus, if 
an employee regularly works from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. from Monday through Friday 
the travel time during these hours is worktime on Saturday and Sunday as well 
as on the other days. Regular meal period time is not counted. As an enforce-
ment policy the Divisions will not consider as worktime that time spent in travel 
away from home outside of regular working hours as a passenger on an airplane, 
train, boat, bus, or automobile. 

 
6.  When private automobile is used in travel away from home 

community. 
  If an employee is offered public transportation but requests permission to 

drive his car instead, the employer may count as hours worked either the time 
spent driving the car or the time he would have had to count as hours worked 
during working hours if the employee had used the public conveyance. 

 
7.  Work performed while traveling. 
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  Any work which an employee is required to perform while traveling must, of 

course, be counted as hours worked. An employee who drives a truck, bus, auto-
mobile, boat or airplane, or an employee who is required to ride therein as an 
assistant or helper, is working while riding, except during bona fide meal periods 
or when he is permitted to sleep in adequate facilities furnished by the employ-
er.  

    010.14-109 Overtime Compensation 
  A. For the purposes of determining and calculating overtime pay require-

ments and what constitutes an employee’s “regular rate” of pay, the agency 
adopts and incorporates herein the provisions of 29 C.F.R. 778 (July 1, 2005) as 
applicable. 

  B. Hospitals and residential care facilities 
  Hospitals and residential care facilities shall be deemed in compliance with 

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211 provided they comply with the provisions for com-
puting overtime pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 207 (j) and 29 C.F.R. 778.601 (July 1, 
2005), which are adopted and incorporated herein.  

  C. Local enterprise engaged in the wholesale or bulk distribution of pe-
troleum products. 

  An independently owned and controlled local enterprise engaged in the whole-
sale or bulk distribution of petroleum products shall be deemed in compliance 
with Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211 provided it complies with the provisions of 
determining overtime pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 207(b) and 29 C.F.R. 794.101 
through 794.144 (July 1, 2005), which are adopted and incorporated herein. 

  D. Employers subject to collective bargaining agreement covered by 29 
U.S.C. § 207(b). 

  Employers subject to collective bargaining agreement covered by 29 U.S.C. § 
207(b) shall be deemed in compliance with Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211 provided 
they comply with the provisions of determining overtime pursuant to 29 U.S.C. 
§ 207(b) and 29 C.F.R. 778.602, which are adopted and incorporated herein.  

  E. Employment necessitating irregular hours of work.     
  Employers who pay overtime for work covered by the provisions of 29 U.S.C. 

§ 207(f) shall be deemed in compliance with Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-211 provid-
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ed they comply with the provisions of 29 U.S.C. § 207(f) and 29 C.F.R. 
778.402 through 778.421 (July 1, 2005) which are adopted and incorporated 
herein.  

  F. Employment at piece rates. 
  Employers who pay on a piece rate basis for overtime pursuant to the provi-

sions of 29 U.S.C. § 207(g) shall be deemed in compliance with Ark. Code 
Ann. § 11-4-211 provided they comply with the provisions of 29 U.S.C. § 
207(g) and 29 C.F.R. Part 548 (July 1, 2005), which are adopted and incorpo-
rated herein.  

   G. Retail or service establishment whose employees are compensated 
principally by commissions. 

  Retail or service establishments shall be deemed in compliance with Ark. 
Code Ann. § 11-4-211 provided they comply with the provisions of 29 U.S.C. 
§ 207 (i) and 29 C.F.R. 779.410 through 779.421 (July 1, 2005), which are 
adopted and incorporated herein.  

    010.14.110 Joint Employment 
  A. A single individual may stand in the relation of an employee to two 

or more employers at the same time since there is nothing in the Act which 
prevents an individual employed by one employer from also entering into an 
employment relationship with a different employer.  A determination of 
whether the employment by the employers is to be considered joint employ-
ment or separate and distinct employment for purposes of the Act depends 
upon all the facts in the particular case. If all the relevant facts establish that 
two or more employers are acting entirely independently of each other and are 
completely disassociated with respect to the employment of a particular em-
ployee, who during the same workweek performs work for more than one 
employer, each employer may disregard all work performed by the employee 
for the other employer (or employers) in determining his own responsibilities 
under the Act.  On the other hand, if the facts establish that the employee is 
employed jointly by two or more employers, i.e., that employment by one em-
ployer is not completely disassociated from employment by the other employ-
er(s), all of the employee's work for all of the joint employers during the work-
week is considered as one employment for purposes of the Act.  In this event, 
all joint employers are responsible, both individually and jointly, for compli-
ance with all of the applicable provisions of the Act, including the overtime 
provisions, with respect to the entire employment for the particular workweek.  
In discharging the joint obligation each employer may, of course, take credit 
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toward minimum wage and overtime requirements for all payments made to the 
employee by the other joint employer or employers. 

 
 B. Where the employee performs work which simultaneously benefits two 
or more employers, or works for two or more employers at different times dur-
ing the workweek, a joint employment relationship generally will be considered 
to exist in situations such as: 

 
1.  Where there is an arrangement between the employers to 

share the employee's services, as, for example, to interchange employees; or 
 
2.  Where one employer is acting directly or indirectly in the in-

terest of the other employer (or employers) in relation to the employee; or 
 
3.  Where the employers are not completely disassociated with 

respect to the employment of a particular employee and may be deemed to share 
control of the employee, directly or indirectly, by reason of the fact that one 
employer controls, is controlled by, or is under common control with the other 
employer. 

    010.14-111 Enforcement    A. Employee Claims 
 
1.  An employee may file a claim with the Director charging that 

an employer has violated Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-210 or -211 with respect to 
minimum wage and overtime as to the complaining employee or other person.  
Such claim shall be on a form  or process approved by the division. 

 
2.  The division shall promptly investigate each claim and at the 

conclusion of such investigation shall issue a “Notice of Assessment” pursuant 
to Rule 010.14.111(B) or a letter advising the employer and the employee that 
no violation was found. 

 
3.  The name of any employee identified in a claim shall be kept 

confidential until the director issues a Notice of Assessment.  The Notice of 
Assessment is an “administrative complaint” within the meaning of Ark. Code 
Ann. § 11-4-220. 

  B. Notice of Assessment 
 
1.  Whenever the Administrator determines that there has been a 

violation of the Act or these Rules, 010.14-100 et seq., the Administrator shall 
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issue a Notice of Assessment, which shall include the following: 

    a. the dates of any violations; 
    b. the statute or Rule violated; 
    c. the amount of any back wages assessed; 
    d. the amount of any civil money penalty assessed and the 

    reasons for such a penalty; 
    e. the amount of any liquidated damages assessed and the 

    reasons for such an assessment; 
    f. the name(s) of any employees on whose behalf back 

    wages are assessed;  
    g. a statement of how to contest the assessment and obtain 

    an administrative hearing; and 
    h. a statement that the failure to contest the assessment will 

    result in the Administrator’s decision becoming the final 
    administrative determination.   

 
2.  A Notice of Assessment may be issued as a result of investiga-

tions initiated by a claim filed by an employee, as well as a result of investiga-
tions initiated by the division. 

 
3.  A Notice of Assessment shall be delivered to the employer by 

certified mail.  Where service by certified mail is not accepted or unclaimed by 
the party, notice shall be deemed received on the date of attempted delivery.  
Where service is not accepted or unclaimed, the Administrator may exercise 
discretion to serve the Notice of Assessment by regular mail.  

  C. Civil Money Penalties 
 

1.   The Administrator may issue a civil money penalty for the 
following: 

     a. willfully hindering or delaying an investigation under the 
    Act or these Rules or willfully hindering or delaying any 
    representative of the Director in the performance of his 
    duties in the enforcement of the Act or these Rules; 
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   b. willfully failing to make, keep, or preserve any record 

    required by the Act or these Rules or willfully falsifying 
    such records; 

    c. willfully refusing to make any record accessible to the 
    division upon demand or willfully refusing to furnish a 
    sworn statement of the record or any other information 
    required for the proper enforcement of the Act and these 
    Rules; 

    d.  willfully failing to post a summary of the law as required 
    by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-216;  

    e. paying or agreeing to pay wages at a rate less than re-
    quired by the Act;  

   
  f. otherwise willfully violating any provision of the act or 

    any Rule issued thereunder; and 
    g. willfully discharging or in any other manner willfully 

    discriminating against any employee because the em-
    ployee has: 

     i. made a complaint to his or her employer or  
     to the director or his authorized representative re-
     garding compliance with the Act or these Rules; 

     ii. instituted or is about to institute any proceeding 
     under or related to this Act; or 

     iii. testified or is about to testify in any proceeding un-
     der or related to this Act. 

 
2.  The amount of any civil money penalty shall be between $50 

and $1000 for each violation.  Each violation shall constitute a separate offense.  
For the purposes of Rule 010.14-111(C)(1)(g), each day the violation continues 
shall constitute a separate offense.  

 
3.  In determining the amount of a civil penalty, the Administra-

tor shall consider the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of the business 
and the gravity of the violation. 

    a. Matters which indicate that the gravity of the matter justi-
    fies maximum civil penalty assessments are: 
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     i. multiplicity of violations; 
     ii. recurring violations; 
     iii. falsification and/or concealment of information or  

    records; and 
     iv. failure to assure future compli-   

     ance. 
    b. The size of the business includes the number of employees 

    and the gross volume of sales. 
 
4.  Assessment of a civil money penalty shall be made no later than 

three (3) years from the date of the occurrence of the violation. 
  D. Liquidated damages 
  The Administrator may assess liquidated damages to be paid an employee in an 

amount up to but not greater than the back wages assessed on behalf of the em-
ployee.  Liquidated damages shall be assessed for willful violations of the Act or 
these Rules. 

  E. Contesting an assessment 
 

1.  An employer may contest an assessment made by the Adminis-
trator by filing a written request for a hearing with the Director of Labor, 10421 
West Markham, Little Rock, AR  72205.  The written request must be made 
within fifteen (15) days after the employer’s receipt of the Notice of Assessment 
or the assessment will become final. 

 
2.  A written request for a hearing shall be referred to a hearing 

officer designated by the Director and shall be handled as an adjudicative matter 
pursuant to Rule 010.14-007. 

    010.14-112 Interpretation And Application of Rules 
  The department may rely on the interpretations of the U. S. Department of 

Labor and federal precedent established under the Fair Labor Standards Act in 
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interpreting and applying the provisions of the Act and Rule 010.14-100 
through -113, except to the extent a different interpretation is clearly required. 

    010.14-113 Repealer,  Severability, Effective Date and History 
  A. All previous rules and regulations of the Arkansas Department of La-

bor regarding the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 et 
seq. are hereby repealed. 

  B. If any provision of these Rules or their application to any person or 
circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not effect other provisions or 
applications which can be given effect without the invalid provision or applica-
tion, and to this end the provisions of these Rules are declared to be severable. 

  C. The effective date of these Rules is January 26, 2007. 
  D. History. 
  The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 et seq. was 

initially passed in 1968.  25 Ark. Acts 1968 (1st Ex. Session).  The Labor Board 
of the State of Arkansas promulgated administrative regulations effective Sep-
tember, 1979.  These regulations were repealed and emergency rules were adopt-
ed effective October 1, 2006.  The emergency rules were replaced by these rules 
effective January 26, 2007 

  Note:  The Labor Board was abolished and all its functions, powers, and duties 
transferred to the Director of the Department of Labor by Act 536 of 1989. 
 
 
   


