
 
 

BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, 
LABOR STANDARDS DIVISION      PETITIONER 
 
Vs.     CASE NO. WH2009-009 
 
PINNACLE CAR SERVICES, INC.      RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on July 15, 2009. Pinnacle 

Car Services has appealed the finding of the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas 

Department of Labor (hereafter referred to as the “Agency”) that Pinnacle violated Arkansas 

Code Annotated §§ 11-4-210 (Supp. 2007) and 11-4-211(a)(Supp. 2007) and 11-4-217 by 

failing to pay some of its employees the State minimum wage, failing or refusing to pay some of 

its employees for work in excess of forty (40) hours in a work week at the statutorily required 

rate,  and failing to keep wage and hour records as required by administrative regulations and 

applicable statutory law.  

 The Agency was represented by the Honorable Daniel Faulkner. Pinnacle Car Services 

was represented by its owner/operator, the Honorable Jeff Wright. The Agency presented five 

live witnesses, including Connie French, a former driver for Pinnacle, Jennifer Wallingford, 

Pinnacle’s former dispatcher and client service manager, and Ryan Biggs, a former driver and 

fleet manager. Heidi Massey, an ADOL investigator and Tom Hudson, ADOL’s Labor Standards 

Supervisor also testified on behalf of the agency. Jeff Wright, the owner and operator of 

Pinnacle Car Services, Inc., and Jessie Flowers, Pinnacle’s Operations Manager, appeared as 

witnesses on the respondent’s behalf.  

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Pinnacle Car Services, Inc. is a transportation and limousine company that started in 
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2005 with one automobile and one employee. The business expanded to approximately 5 

vehicles in 2006, and eventually grew to 30-35 “associates” or employees. The agency received 

a complaint regarding Pinnacle’s payment policies for its employees, and an investigation was 

commenced by the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor. Although 

Pinnacle denied any intentional underpayments or other violations, the agency issued a Notice 

of Violation to Pinnacle on January 30, 2009, which determined that Pinnacle had underpaid 45 

of its employees a total of $7,407.22 in minimum wages and four (4) other employees 

$2,667.30 in overtime wages, and assessing a penalty of $2,450.00. Pinnacle filed a timely 

request for an administrative appeal of the determination and Notice.  

The parties have stipulated that, at all relevant times, Pinnacle Car Services had a 

written policy that required its payroll personnel to deduct a 30 minute lunch break period from 

the pay for all employees scheduled to work at least 6 hours and to deduct 1 hour for 

employees scheduled to work 8 or more hours. The parties also stipulated that the written 

policy was not applicable when an associate provided Jessie Flowers with specific notice that an 

associate was not able or allowed to actually take the required lunch break.   

The Agency established through the testimony of its live witnesses and supporting 

documents that the nature of the employees’ work required that the employees work 6-8 hour 

shifts without a lunch break, and that Pinnacle routinely refused to pay these employees for a 

full 6-8 hour shift per the company’s written policy.  The agency made a prima facie showing 

that through these improper deductions Pinnacle reduced the wages of a total of 48 of its 

employees to below the minimum wage. This showing by the agency shifted the legal burden to 

Pinnacle to come forward with evidence of the precise amount of work actually performed by 

each employee for the wage that was paid, or with some other evidence to negative the 

reasonableness of the inference to be drawn from the employee’s evidence. Id.  
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 With regard to the overtime claims of Jennifer Walingford and Ryan Biggs, there is no 

dispute that both employees were paid based on at least a 50-hours work week, and that 5 

hours pay was automatically deducted for lunch breaks. The agency presented Pinnacle’s own 

payroll records as well as the testimony of investigator Heidi Massey and that of both 

Walingford and Biggs to prove that the two were not paid overtime for the hours they worked 

in excess of 40 hours, shifting the burden to Pinnacle to show some legal justification for failing 

or refusing to pay the overtime wages. See Fife v. Harmon, 171 F.3d 1173, 1176 (8th Cir. 1999).  

Pinnacle presented some evidence suggesting that Walingford and Biggs were “salaried 

employees” for whom no overtime pay was required.    

Similarly, investigator Massey testified that Pinnacle employees Anthony Fine and Larry 

Simrell, who both served as car and limousine drivers, were not properly compensated for 

overtime hours. Ms. Massey testified and produced some documentary evidence that Pinnacle 

Car Services did not keep any record of the actual hours worked by its limousine drivers, and 

that she was forced to calculate limousine hours from “trip sheets” which showed only the only 

pickup and drop-off times for limousine customers. Ms. Massey identified several weeks in 

which combined car and limousine hours for Mr. Fine and Mr. Simrell exceeded 40 hours for the 

work week.  

 Finally, the agency made a prima facie showing that Pinnacle underpaid employees 

Jason Ashford by $54.69, Joshua Griffith $75.56, “Jakey” the sum of $635.94, Richard Kennedy 

by $503.39, John Saunders by $196.91, and Candace Wright by $300.00. These 

calculations/amounts are based on the observation by Heidi Massey, an investigator for the 

DOL, of time sheets for these employees that were not accompanied by any corresponding pay 

stub records. Although Pinnacle failed to produce any pay records during the DOL investigation 

or at the hearing, it did introduce some testimony that these employees were actually paid for 
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the time they worked, and requested permission to provide post-hearing documentation to 

substantiate this claim.  

 The agency successfully established that Pinnacle owes a total of 45 of its employees 

$7407.22 in minimum wage underpayments, $2667.30 in overtime back wages, and a penalty 

of $2,450.00 for all violations.  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Because the overtime claims presented here are in the nature of work performed for 

which inadequate compensation was made, the issue may be resolved by resorting to case law 

interpreting the federal Fair Labor Standards Act upon which our State minimum wage law is 

based. See ADL Regulation 010.14-112. Federal law provides that an employee has carried his 

burden of proving he has worked hours without proper compensation if he produces evidence 

to show the amount and extent of his work as a matter of “just and reasonable inference.” 

Anderson v. Mt. Clements Pottery Co.,  328 U.S. 680, 66 S.Ct. 1187, 90 L.Ed 1515 (1946). The 

evidence then shifts to the employer to come forward with evidence of the precise amount of 

work performed or with evidence to negative the reasonableness of the inference to be drawn 

from the employee’s evidence. Id.  

As previously noted, the agency made a prima facie showing Pinnacle made improper 

deductions for lunch breaks that were not actually taken by its workers, thereby reducing some 

of the employees’ wages to below the minimum wage. Although Pinnacle presented some 

evidence that it did not deduct for a lunch break in those instances in which an employee 

provided Pinnacle’s Operations Manager, Jessie Flowers, with notice that the employee had 

been unable to take his lunch break, this evidence was not sufficient to meet the employer’s 

burden of proving the precise amount of work actually performed by each affected employee. 

Pinnacle also failed to produce sufficient evidence to negative the reasonableness of the 
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inference to be drawn from the employees’ testimony and other evidence that the lunch break 

was always deducted. Id.    See Fife v. Harmon, 171 F.3d 1173, 1176 (8th Cir. 1999).  

 To rebut the inference raised by the agency’s proof that Pinnacle failed to pay 

employees Jennifer Walingford and Ryan Biggs for hours the employees worked in excess of 40 

hours per week, the employer was required to prove that Pinnacle was somehow exempt from 

overtime pay. Pinnacle presented some evidence suggesting that Walingford and Biggs were 

“salaried employees” for whom no overtime pay was required.  This evidence, which consisted 

of the testimony of Jeffrey Wright and a letter stating that Biggs would become a flat-rate 

salaried employee on August 7, 2007, was not sufficient to carry Pinnacle’s burden of proving 

that either Biggs or Walingford was employed in a “bona-fide administrative, executive or 

professional capacity that falls within the state minimum wage exemption found at A.C.A. 11-4-

203(3)(A) and ADL Regulation 010.14.106(b)(1). On the contrary, the testimony of Walingford 

and Biggs demonstrated that neither of the exemptions would apply. 

The agency also successfully proved that Pinnacle employees Anthony Fine and Larry 

Simrell were not paid for hours in excess of 40 hours per work for combined car and 

limousine service the two men provided for the company. To rebut the overtime claim, 

Pinnacle would have had to prove the precise amount of work performed by Fine and Simrell, 

or come forward with concrete evidence to negative the reasonableness of the inference to 

be drawn from the “trip sheets” showing limousine “pick-ups” and “drop-offs” in addition to 

the hours the two men worked while driving the company’s other vehicles. Anderson v. Mt. 

Clements Pottery Co.,  328 U.S. 680, 66 S.Ct. 1187, 90 L.Ed 1515 (1946).  Pinnacle failed to 

produce any timesheet or other simultaneous record documenting actual hours worked by its 

limousine drivers to rebut the agency’s claim.   
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discovery of time sheets for some employees that were not accompanied by any 

corresponding pay stub records,  Pinnacle also failed to carry its shifted burden of proof at the 

hearing.  However, despite the fact that Pinnacle did not produce any records  during the DOL 

investigation or at the hearing to prove it paid its employees as alleged by the agency,  

Pinnacle did offer testimony at the hearing that these employees were actually paid for the 

time they worked. Pinnacle was allowed to supplement its proof by exhibits appended to its 

post-hearing brief, which was received in the office of the DOL on July 23, 2009. These 

records show that Pinnacle paid the following amounts to the following persons during the 

relevant time period, which is January 2007 - May 2008:   

   “Rich” Kennedy was paid $247.50 on February 14, 2007, 
    $367.50 on March 2, 2007; 
    $355.00 on March 14, 2007; and 
    $52.13 on May 24, 2007.  
   

Under A.C.A. 11-4-218, an employer who fails to pay minimum wage to an employee is 

liable to the affected worker for only the full amount of wages less any amounts actually paid 

by the employer.  Because Pinnacle has successfully demonstrated it actually did pay wages 

to some of the employees named in the Agency’s preliminary findings,  the law will not 

require it pay these amounts again.  Accordingly, the amount of back wages Pinnacle is 

required to pay is reduced by $1194.02.   

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the employer, Pinnacle Car Services shall 

be liable for a total sum of  eleven thousand three hundred thirty dollars and thirty two cents 

($11,330.50). Payment drafts  in the form of company checks in the amount of $6,213.20 for 

minimum wage back wages, and $2,667.30 for overtime back wages shall be issued payable to 

the affected employees, and forwarded to the Arkansas Department of Labor, Labor Standards 

Division within ten (10) days of receipt of this Order. An additional check in the amount of 
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$2,450.00, made payable to the Arkansas Department of Labor shall also be issued and 

received by the Department of Labor within ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order.  

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      James E. Salkeld 
      Director of Labor   
 
 
 
     BY:        
      Danny R. Williams, Administrative Law Judge 
      Arkansas Department of Labor 
      10421 West Markham Street 
      Little Rock, AR 72205 

     Date:  August 21, 2009    
 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

SHELBY STANTON        CLAIMANT 
 
Vs.     CLAIM NO.  WC209-0012 
 
FOREST PARK MEDICAL CLINIC      RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 
 

 This claim was heard August 4, 2009 at 11:00 a.m. The Claimant, Shelby Stanton 

appeared in person and represented himself. The Respondent  appeared by its Executive 

Director, Ernie Dodson.  

 
FINDINGS OF FACTS 

 
 This wage claim results from a “last paycheck” dispute between the Claimant, Shelby 

Stanton and the Respondent, Forest Park Medical Clinic after Mr. Stanton’s employment 

relationship with the Respondent ended on February 28, 2009. Mr. Stanton had previously been 

paid at the rate of $11.00 per hour. Mr. Stanton filed his wage claim for $217.25 in unpaid 

wages on April 8, 2009, to which Forest Park responded on May 4, 2009. Mr. Stanton’s claim 

was for compensation for 19.75 hours he claimed he worked from February 26th -28th, 2009. 

After the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor had reviewed the wage 

claim and the response and had fully investigated the facts and circumstances that led to the 

dispute, Investigator Gloria Armas issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order finding that 

the Claimant is not entitled to any additional compensation on his claim. Mr. Stanton requested 

an administrative appeal. 

At the hearing on the claim, the Claimant testified that he began working for Forest Park 

Medical Clinic on Jun 9, 2008 in the collections department, and that he resigned on Friday, 

February 25, 2009, after working February 22, 23, and 24th. He stated that he received a final 

check of $.76 for 19.75 hours of work and that his check stub indicated $129.00 was deducted 



from his pay and sent to the Office of Child Support Enforcement. Mr. Stanton was unable to 

substantiate which other employees worked on Friday, February 27, 2009 and admitted that he 

did not take any cash receipts or telephone messages that day, and did not offer any other 

manner in which his attendance at work could be verified.  

Forest Park produced three witnesses, Veronica Bland, the office manager for Forest 

Park,  Fretonzia Hickman, assistant office manager, and Ernie Dodson, the Executive Director of 

the business who all testified that the Claimant did not work on Wednesday, February 25, 2009, 

that he returned to work on February 26th, and that he worked his last day, a ½ day after 

receiving his paycheck on Friday, February 27, 2009. Ernie Dodson also testified and produced 

documentary evidence that  Forest Park  deducted $129.00 from Mr. Stanton’s final check and 

forwarded a check for that amount to the Arkansas Child Support Clearinghouse pursuant to a 

Wage Withholding Order directing Forest Park to withhold $79.20 “per weekly pay period,”  or 

$158.40 “every two weeks.” 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Federal law provides that an employee has carried his burden of proving he has worked 

hours without proper compensation if he produces evidence to show the amount and extent of 

his work as a matter of “just and reasonable inference.” Anderson v. Mt. Clements Pottery Co.,  

328 U.S. 680, 66 S.Ct. 1187, 90 L.Ed 1515 (1946). The evidence then shifts to the employer to 

come forward with evidence of the precise amount of work performed or with evidence to 

negative the reasonableness of the inference to be drawn from the employee’s evidence. Id.  

Whether the Claimant is entitled to any additional compensation in this case depends on 

whether he has produced enough evidence on his own behalf to lead a reasonable person to 

believe he worked 19.75 hours between February 26th and February 28, 2009. Because the 

record shows that February 28, 2009 was a Saturday, and a day on which Mr. Stanton would 



not have been working, Mr. Stanton, himself testified at the administrative hearing that he 

worked the 19.75 hours from February 22-February 25, 2009, and Mr. Stanton was unable to 

identify any co-workers who were present or any verifiable work functions he performed during 

the period of time he stated in his Wage Claim Form, Mr. Stanton has not carried his burden of 

proving “the amount and extent of his work.”  

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the claim of Shelby Stanton against 

Forest Park Medical Clinic for unpaid wages shall be dismissed, with prejudice, forthwith.  

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      James E. Salkeld 
      Director of Labor   
 
 
     BY:        
      Danny R. Williams, Administrative Law Judge 
      Arkansas Department of Labor 
      10421 West Markham Street 
      Little Rock, AR 72205 

 
     Date:  August 18, 2009    
 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

JULIO GONZALES 
 
vs.         CASE NO.  2009-0019 
 
TIM POOR dba QUALITY CONSTRUCTION AND CLEANUP 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter comes for hearing on this Tuesday, August 18, 2009 at the offices of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor.  The hearing was set for 9:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at 

approximately 9:30 a.m.  Neither party has appeared for the hearing.  The Claimant in this matter 

carries the burden of proof and his appearance is necessary to prevail.   

 THEREFORE, this matter is hereby dismissed without prejudice; however refilling will 

only be accepted under proof of good cause. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
                 BY:_______________________________ 
       Danny R. Williams 
       Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

EZEQUIAL ZAMORA 
 
vs.         CASE NO.  2009-0020 
 
TIM POOR dba QUALITY CONSTRUCTION AND CLEANUP 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter comes for hearing on this Tuesday, August 18, 2009 at the offices of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor.  The hearing was set for 10:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at 

approximately 10:38 a.m.  Neither party has appeared for the hearing.  The Claimant in this 

matter carries the burden of proof and his appearance is necessary to prevail.   

 THEREFORE, this matter is hereby dismissed without prejudice; however refilling will 

only be accepted under proof of good cause. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
                 BY:_______________________________ 
       Danny R. Williams 
       Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

JAMES EUGENE MORRIS, JR.       CLAIMANT 
 
Vs.     CASE NO.  WC2009-0015 
 
CL SMALL ENTERPRISES, 
D/B/A/ PLATINUM BENEFITS            RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 
 

This claim was heard July 30, 2009 at 2:00 p.m. The Claimant, James Eugene Morris, Jr. 

appeared in person and represented himself. The Respondent  appeared by telephone, and was 

represented by Chris Small.  

 
FINDINGS OF FACTS 

 
 The Respondent, CL Small Enterprises, LLC is a foreign limited liability company doing 

business in the State of Arkansas under the fictitious name, Platinum Benefits. Platinum Benefits 

offers “a variety of Health Benefit choices to the consumer.” Employees of Platinum Benefits, 

such as the Claimant solicited insurance sales, by telephone at the employers place of business.  

Claimant began working for Platinum Benefits as a sales associate pursuant to an 

employment agreement he signed on January 12, 2009. Under the terms of the parties’ 

agreement, the first week of on-the-job training would be unpaid unless the new “sales 

associate” sold at least $199.00 in benefits during that week. If the associate successfully sold a 

$199.00 benefit plan or more, the associate would be paid for 40 hours work plus a $25 –per- 

sale commission. During the second week of work, the associate was required to sell two 

$199.00 benefits plan in order to be paid for the hours worked during the second week. It is 

undisputed that an associate would not be paid for his 40 hours work during the first or the 

second week unless he met the agreed-upon sales quota for the week. 



Claimant worked for Platinum Benefits during the period from January 12, 2009 through 

January 29, 2009. Mr. Morris filed his wage claim on February 19, 2009. Platinum Benefits filed 

its response on March 16, 2009. Platinum Benefits relied on its contract for its response, and 

does not dispute that the Claimant has not been paid for 97.5 hours of work. The Labor 

Standards Division entered a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on May 4, 2009, 

determining that Platinum Benefits failed to pay the Claimant $780.00 gross wages, pursuant to 

the parties contract and the provisions of Arkansas Code Annotated Section 11-4-303. Platinum 

Benefits requested an appeal. 

At the hearing on Platinum Benefits appeal, the Morris admitted he signed a 

commission-only agreement before he started working for Platinum Benefits, and testified that 

he worked 110 hours during a three-weeks period for which he was never paid.  Chris Small, 

owner of CL Small Enterprises, LLC and Platinum Benefits did not dispute that Morris worked for 

three weeks without pay, and relied on the parties contract for the business’ defense. Small 

produced evidence that Morris worked 97.5 hours during the period of his employment and that 

Morris knowingly agreed to the minimum-sale requirement in the parties contract.  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, A.C.A. Section 11-4-201 et seq., requires most 

employers to pay nonexempt employees a minimum wage of not less than $6.25 per hour and 

overtime at 1/12 times the regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per work 

week. A.C.A. Sec. 11-4-210 and 211. The right to be paid at least minimum wage is a statutory 

right that may not be waived, released or contracted away. See Brooklyn v. O’Neil, 324 U.S. 

697, 707 (1945)(applying federal minimum wage law); ADL Labor Standards Regulation 010.14-

112.  



 While it is true that the Claimant did not meet the sales quotas required to trigger 

payment of hourly wages under the parties contract, it is not true that  CL Small Enterprises, 

LLC d/b/a Platinum Benefits is not liable to Mr. Morris for the work Mr. Morris actually 

performed. In the State of Arkansas, only salespersons “involved in outside sales” are exempt 

from the requirement that employers pay the State minimum wage. A.C.A. 11-4-

203(1)(A)(definition of “Employee” does not include an individual “employed  . . . as an outside 

commission-paid salesperson who customarily performs his or her services away from his or her 

employer’s premises taking orders for goods or services.”).  Because Mr. Morris did all his on-

the-job training at the place of business of the employer, he cannot be said to have been 

engaged for “outside sales” within the meaning of the statute.  Under the provisions of A.C.A. 

Sec. 11-4-210 and 211, the Claimant is entitled to compensation in the amount of $607.37 for 

his 97.5 hours of work at $6.25 per hour, the prevailing minimum wage. 

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the employer, CL Small Enterprises, LLC, 

d/b/a Platinum Benefits shall issue payment for the sum of six hundred seven dollars and thirty 

seven cents ($607.37). Payment drafts shall be issued to James Eugene Morris, Jr., and mailed 

to the Department of Labor. Payment  shall be issued within ten (10) days of the receipt of this 

Order.  

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      James E. Salkeld 
      Director of Labor   
 
 
     BY:       
      Danny R. Williams, Administrative Law Judge 
      Arkansas Department of Labor 
      10421 West Markham Street 
      Little Rock, AR 72205 

 
 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

CLAUDE McMAHON                    CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO.  2009-0016 
 
RTT REFRIGERATION                    RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Tuesday, August 4, 2009.  

RTT Refrigeration has appealed any agency order that one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) in 

unpaid wages is owed to Claude McMahon.  McMahon appeared on his own behalf.  RTT 

Refrigeration did not appear. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 McMahon filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas 

Department of Labor on January 26, 2009.  He claimed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) in 

unpaid wages earned between December 1, 2008 and December 8, 2008.  After investigation, the 

Labor Standards Division issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on May 13, 2009, 

finding that McMahon is owed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  RTT Refrigeration filed an 

appeal of this finding on May 15, 2009. 

 The hearing was set for 9:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 9:20 a.m.  The 

Claimant appeared, and the Respondent, appeared not.  Therefore, judgment is entered for the 

Claimant in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  The Respondent is directed to issue 

a check payable to Mr. McMahon in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) within ten 

(10) days of the receipt of this Order and mailed to the Department of Labor. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 

       BY:_______________________________ 
       Danny R. Williams 
       Administrative Law Judge 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

LISA McMAHON                    CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO.  2009-0017 
 
RTT REFRIGERATION                    RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Tuesday, August 4, 2009.  

RTT Refrigeration has appealed any agency order that one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) in 

unpaid wages is owed to Lisa McMahon.  McMahon appeared on her own behalf.  RTT 

Refrigeration did not appear. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 McMahon filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas 

Department of Labor on January 26, 2009.  She claimed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) in 

unpaid wages earned between December 1, 2008 and December 8, 2008.  After investigation, the 

Labor Standards Division issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on May 13, 2009, 

finding that McMahon is owed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  RTT Refrigeration filed an 

appeal of this finding on May 15, 2009. 

 The hearing was set for 10:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 10:00 a.m.  

The Claimant appeared, and the Respondent, appeared not.  Therefore, judgment is entered for 

the Claimant in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  The Respondent is directed to 

issue a check payable to Ms. McMahon in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) within 

ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order and mailed to the Department of Labor. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 

       BY:_______________________________ 
       Danny R. Williams 
       Administrative Law Judge 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
DATE:      
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BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, 
LABOR STANDARDS DIVISION      PETITIONER 
 
Vs.     CASE NO. WH2009-2007 
 
LEWIS BROTHERS SERVICES INC. 
d/b/a LEWIS TOWING       RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on June 3, 2009. Lewis 

Towing has appealed the finding of the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of 

Labor (hereafter referred to as the “Agency”) that Lewis Towing violated Arkansas Code 

Annotated §§ 11-4-210 (Supp. 2007) and 11-4-211(a)(Supp. 2007)  by failing to pay some of 

its employees the State minimum wage, and  by failing or refusing to pay some of its 

employees for work in excess of forty (40) hours in a work week at the statutorily required rate.  

The Agency was represented by the Honorable Denise Oxley. Lewis Towing was represented by 

the Honorable Lorraine Hatcher. The Agency presented evidence in the form of testimony by 

Gloria Armas, a Labor Standards Division investigator, Aywon Hart and Michael Abrams former 

employees of the Respondent, and Tom Hudson the Administrator of the Labor Standards 

Division. Don Adams, Larry Lewis, Michael Broussard, Wayne Lewis and Ken Lewis testified for 

the Respondent. The following exhibits were identified by the Agency prior to the hearing and 

were offered and accepted as evidence on the record:  1)Administrative Regulations of the 

Agency; 2)Business Profile Report of Lewis Towing; 3) Secretary of State Certificate of Good 

Standing  for Lewis Brothers Services, Inc.; 4) Lewis Towing Employee Lists for 2006-2007 

[redacted version of list]; 5)Lewis Towing Pay Records for October 2006 – October 23, 2008; 

and 6) September 24, 2008 Inspection Report of Gloria Armas with attachments.  The 

respondent did not respond to the prehearing questionnaire that was mailed out to the parties, 
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but did offer the following exhibit(s) that were offered and accepted as evidence on the record:

 1) Independent Contracting Agreement signed by Donald Adams. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Lewis Towing is an automobile towing business which is physically located at 123 S.A. 

Jones Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas. On or about September 4, 2008 Nathan Butler, an 

investigator for the Agency, received an overtime complaint from a former employee of Lewis 

Towing and called Lewis Towing to request payroll records from the period October 2006 

through July 2008. The responded provided Mr. Butler with a “payroll journal,” “payroll 

adjustment journal” and “electronic time sheet from Paychex.1” Mr. Butler assigned the case to 

investigator Gloria Armas, who commenced an investigation and inspection that same day.  

Ms. Armas conducted telephone interviews with Lewis Towing former employees Aywon 

Hart and Mike Abrams, and also called Lewis Towing by telephone on September 4, 2008 and 

spoke with Ken Lewis. Mr. Lewis stated in response to questioning at that time “all employees 

are salaried” and that Lewis Towing “does not have any time sheets.” Ken Lewis agreed to send 

the agency “whatever he had” in the nature of employee time records showing the actual hours 

each Lewis Towing employee worked by September 8, 2008, and later extended the period to 

include September 12, 2008. No additional employee records were received by the agency until 

September 22, 2008, when the respondent forwarded an April 5, 2001 Help Wanted Ad and an 

undated document entitled “Salary Package” that was included with another copy of the records 

that had already been provided to the agency on September 4, 2008.  

On October 29, 2008 Ms. Armas accompanied her co-worker, Nathan Butler to the 

premises of Lewis Towing where she and Mr. Butler both spoke with Mr. Ken Lewis and Mr. 

                                            
1 Apparently,  the “Electronic Timesheet from Paychex” recorded the cumulative hours worked during 
each workweek, and did not contain any record or notation of which hours or days any of the employees 
actually worked. 
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Lewis’ brother, Wayne Lewis concerning the investigation. Ken Lewis told the investigators that 

Lewis Towing has an “honor system” whereby each employee orally reports the number of 

hours he or she worked, which Mr. Ken Lewis in turn submitted to Paychex for calculation of the 

wages due each employee. Mr. Ken Lewis also stated that Lewis Towing pays the “same salary 

regardless of hours worked,”’ and that the drivers for the company get a salary plus commission 

ranging from $10-$12-$20/ per call. After Ms. Armas and Mr. Butler pointed out that Lewis 

Towing employee Don Adams salary varied from week to week, Mr. Lewis explained the 

discrepancy between the records on Don Adams and the statement concerning salary and 

commissions by stating that Adams is a “commission only” worker. Mr. Lewis also confirmed 

that there were no time sheets showing which days and hours Don Adams actually worked. The 

respondent agreed to provide the agency a sworn statement of the employee’s work 

agreements and an approximation of the number of hours worked by each employee for the 

past two years by December 2, 2008.2 

The Agency eventually found that Lewis Towing failed to compensate Mr. Aywon Hart a 

total of $1,707.11 for overtime hours worked between the dates October 26, 2006 and April 30, 

2008, failed to compensate Michael Abrams in the amount of $344.95 for overtime hours 

worked from October 5, 2006 and  August 16, 2007, and failed to compensate James Works, III 

$715.60 for overtime hours worked between February 20, 2008 and October 22, 2008.                                                                                                                                         

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Because the overtime claims presented here are in the nature of work performed for 

which inadequate compensation was made, the issue may be resolved by resorting to case law 

interpreting the federal Fair Labor Standards Act upon which our State minimum wage law is 

                                            
2 It appears from the record and exhibits provided that this sworn statement was not provided to the 
Agency. 
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based. See ADL Regulation 010.14-112. Federal law provides that an employee has carried his 

burden of proving he has worked hours without proper compensation if he produces evidence 

to show the amount and extent of his work as a matter of “just and reasonable inference.” 

Anderson v. Mt. Clements Pottery Co.,  328 U.S. 680, 66 S.Ct. 1187, 90 L.Ed 1515 (1946). The 

evidence then shifts to the employer to come forward with evidence of the precise amount of 

work performed or with evidence to negative the reasonableness of the inference to be drawn 

from the employee’s evidence. Id.  

At the June 3, 2009 hearing, the Agency made out a prima facie case of overtime 

violations as to Aywon Hart, Michael Abrams and James E. Works, III through the testimony of 

investigator Gloria Armas and other evidence presented at the hearing. This evidence includes 

Michael Abrams’ own testimony and a June 22, 2007 fax from Lewis Towing reflecting Abrams’ 

hours to be 7:30 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. 

on alternating Saturdays at a rate of $50/Saturday. This amounts to a minimum of  47.5 hours 

and 54 hours on successive alternating weeks in which no overtime compensation was paid to 

Abrams.  

Aywon Hart’s hours were from 8:00 a.m. through 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, 

and 10:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. on Saturdays after his pay was converted from hourly to 

salary, consistent with the undated , generic “Salary Package” submitted by the respondent as 

evidence of how it paid its salaried employees3. Mr. Hart worked alternating weeks of 47.5 and 

54 hours for which overtime payments were required, but not paid.  

James E. Works, III normally worked 7:00 a.m. through 4:45 p.m. with a 30 minute 

lunch break. This amounts to a  46.25 hour workweek, for which 6.25 hours overtime 

compensation is required.  
                                            
3 The agency also introduced a specific “salary package” whereby Michael Abrams would work Monday 
through Friday from 7:30 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. with a 30 minute lunch, and 10:00 a.m. through 5:00 
p.m. on alternating Saturdays, in addition to after hour calls, starting June 22, 2007. Agency Exhibit 6. 
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 Although there is much finger pointing and accusations of fraudulent billing by the 

affected employees (specifically Aywon Hart), the employer did not identify which hours were 

falsified or “unauthorized” or what dates or times the employees missed and were 

compensated for. The lack of specificity amounts to a failure by the employer to carry its 

burden of proving the precise amount of work performed by Hart and the other employees. 

Lewis Towing also failed to come forward with sufficient evidence to negate the 

reasonableness of the inference that the employees worked the hours contained in the 

employer’s own “Salary Package” that was presented as a business record of Lewis Towing.  

Also, the fact that Hart may have taken some after hour calls that were unauthorized 

by Lewis Towing, is insufficient to carry the employer’s burden of proof once a prima facie  

case of improper compensation is made. Under Arkansas Code Annotated § 11-4-203(2), an 

employee includes one who not only is hired to work, but also those who are “permitted or 

suffered” to work. See also ADL Regulation 010.14-108 (The employer has a duty to make 

sure the work is not performed if it is not to be performed).  The fact that Hart actually did 

the after hours work and was paid some amount by the employer for the work is evidence 

that the employer, at the very least “suffered” the work to be done by Hart and received 

some benefit from the work. Because Lewis Towing failed to make the required evidentiary 

showing, damages may be awarded to the employees, even if is an approximate or imprecise 

amount. Id.  

The formula utilized by the agency to calculate overtime is derived from ADL Regulation 

010.14-109, which adopts and incorporates by reference, the provisions of 29 CFR § 778.109.  

In determining an employee’s “workweek” as a basis for overtime compensation, under 29 CFR 

§ 778.109, all hours worked by the employee . . . during the workweek must be totaled in 

determining the number of hours to be compensated. 29 CFR § 778.103. The regular rate of 
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pay or “base rate,” cannot be based on a declaration of the parties, but must be based on what 

actually happens under an employment agreement. 29 CFR § 778.108. The employer must 

include “all remuneration for employment paid to, or on behalf of the employee, unless 

precluded by some statutory exception.” 29 CFR § 778.108. The regular hourly rate of pay of an 

employee is determined by dividing his total remuneration for employment during a given 

workweek by the total number of hours actually worked. All compensation received during the 

workweek must be included as a matter of law. 29 CFR § 778.108. Even when after hours 

compensation is paid on a commission basis, the amount of the commission must be included in 

the regular rate and divided by the number of hours worked to arrive at the base  rate of pay 

for overtime. 29 CFR §§ 778.117-778.118. The agency complied with these principals and 

provisions in determining the respondent’s liability for unpaid overtime compensation in this 

case.  

The respondent has taken the position that Don Adams was not an employee of the 

respondent for which recordkeeping was required and that the agency lacked jurisdiction over 

any Lewis Towing employees  during weeks in which the company employed only three other 

persons, besides Adams.   

While it is true that Donald Adams signed a written document entitled Independent 

Contracting Agreement dated December 12, 2006 which requires that Adams “shall be 

responsible for providing all tools and materials required for performance of the tasks agreed to  

and that Adams would be responsible for payment of all federal, state and local income taxes, it 

is the actual working arrangement of the parties that is controlling. ConAgra Foods, Inc. v. 

Draper, 372 Ark. 361, 276 S.W.3d 244 (2008)( although a written contract creates the relation 

of employer and independent contractor, such relation may be destroyed by conduct of the 

employer); Blankenship v. Overholt, 301 Ark. 476, 786 S.W.2d 814 (1990). 
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In spite of this agreement Don Adams testified that Lewis Towing did, in fact, pay all 

federal, state and local income taxes on Adams’ behalf, and that Lewis Towing provided all the 

tools and equipment Adams utilized on Lewis Towing jobs. Adams also testified that he 

performed the same services for Lewis Towing in the same manner as other persons who are 

admittedly bona fide employees of Lewis Towing, and that he never understood that the 

agreement he signed was intended to make him an independent contractor as opposed to an 

employee. Under these circumstances, even if the written agreement introduced by the 

respondent effectively created an independent contractor relationship when it was signed, the 

actual conduct of Lewis Towing thereafter is not consistent with the agreement and indicates 

that Adams was, in fact, an employee of Lewis Towing.  

From the testimony presented by the parties and the written records provided to the 

agency, it is a just and reasonable inference that Mr. Hart was underpaid for 404.25 overtime 

hours between the dates October 26 2006 and April 30, 2008 at amounts ranging from 

$4.00/overtime hour to $4.90/overtime hour. The total amount of compensation owed to Mr. 

Hart is $1,734.37.  Michael Abrams was underpaid for 110 overtime hours in amounts ranging 

from $3.88/hour to $4.64/hours, and is owed $374.95. James Works, III is owed $715.60 for 

underpayment of overtime for 65 hours in amounts ranging from $3.89 to $5.50.  

 Finally, the agency has assessed a fine of $900 against the respondent, which breaks 

down to a $150 fine for each of 3 separate minimum wage violations, and 3 overtime violations 

for which a prima facie case was made out by the agency and not rebutted by the respondent. 

Because Arkansas Code Annotated § 11-4-206(a)(1) does not require a showing that the 

violations were willful, it is irrelevant that the respondent acted in good faith toward its 

employees and that it relied on Paychex systems to report any noncompliance with the 

applicable wage and hour laws in this case.  These amounts are reasonable in light of the fact 
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that the respondent is a small business, the violations are not severe or wanton, and the 

authorized range of monetary penalty ranges from $50/day - $1,000/day.  

Lewis Towing does not dispute the fact that it failed to pay minimum wage to employees 

as charged by the agency, and therefore will be ordered to pay the $115.27 due along with the 

3 separate fines of $150 each assessed by the agency for each minimum wage violation. 

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the employer, Lewis Towing shall issue 

payment for a total sum of three thousand, eight hundred twelve dollars and ninety-three cents 

($3,812.93). Payment drafts shall be issued to the employees in the following amounts and 

mailed to the Department of Labor: $374.95 to Michael Abrams; $66.63 to Kenneth E. Harris; 

separate checks of $27.26 and $1,707.11 to Aywon Hart ; $21.38 to Tiffany Lewis; $715.60 to 

James E. Works, III, and $900 to the Arkansas Department of Labor. Payment  shall be issued 

within ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order.  

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

      James E. Salkeld 
      Director of Labor   
 
 
     BY:       
      Danny R. Williams, Administrative Law Judge 
      Arkansas Department of Labor 
      10421 West Markham Street 
      Little Rock, AR 72205 

 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

LUIS ZEPEDO                     CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO.  2009-0021 
 
TIM POOR dba QUALITY CONSTRUCTION AND CLEANUP         RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Tuesday, August 18, 

2009.  Tim Poor has appealed any agency order that six hundred twenty-seven dollars ($627.00) 

in unpaid wages is owed to Luis Zepedo.  Zepedo did not appear.  Tim Poor and Carl Brown 

appeared on behalf of Tim Poor dba Quality Construction and Cleanup. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Zepedo filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas 

Department of Labor on February 17, 2009.  He claimed five hundred seventy dollars ($570.00) 

in unpaid wages earned between December 5, 2008 and December 13, 2008.  After investigation, 

the Labor Standards Division issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on June 1, 2009, 

finding that Zepedo is owed six hundred twenty-seven dollars ($627.00).  Tim Poor filed an 

appeal of this finding on June 14, 2009. 

 The hearing was set for 11:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 11:05 a.m.  

The Respondent appeared, the Claimant appeared not.  Therefore, judgment is entered for the 

Respondent. 

 

IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 



       BY:_______________________________ 
       DANNY R. WILLIAMS 
       ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

Tracy Harris                                CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO.  2009-004 
 
West Conway Mini Storage                    RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Monday, April 20, 2009.  

West Conway Mini Storage has appealed any agency order that one hundred seventy-eight 

dollars and sixty-six cents ($178.66) in unpaid wages is owed to Tracy Harris.  Harris appeared 

on her own behalf.  West Conway Mini Storage did not appear. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Harris filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department 

of Labor on November 18, 2008.  She claimed one hundred seventy-eight dollars and six cents 

($178.06) in unpaid wages and one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) in unpaid commissions 

earned between October 27, 2008 and November 9, 2008.  After investigation, the Labor 

Standards Division issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on January 26, 2009, finding 

that Harris is owed one hundred seventy-eight dollars and sixty-six cents ($178.66).  West 

Conway Mini Storage filed an appeal of this finding on February 6, 2009. 

 The hearing was set for 10:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 10:23 a.m.  

The Claimant appeared, and the Respondent, appeared not.  Therefore, judgment is entered for 

the Claimant in the amount of one hundred seventy-eight dollars and sixty-six cents ($178.66).  

The Respondent is directed to issue a check payable to Ms. Harris in the amount of one hundred 

seventy-eight dollars and sixty-six cents ($178.66) within ten (10) days of the receipt of this 

Order and mailed to the Department of Labor. 
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IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 

       BY:_______________________________ 
       Mark A. Martin 
       Appointed Hearing Officer 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

MICHAEL HEARING                               CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO. 2009-010 
 
NIGHTHAWK VACUUM SERVICES                RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Thursday, May 28, 2009.  

Nighthawk Vacuum Services has appealed an agency finding that unpaid wages in the amount of 

one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) are due to Mr. Hearing.  Mr. Hearing appeared in person on his 

own behalf.  Nighthawk Vacuum Services was represented by Diana Winkfield and Mary Ella 

Duplantis, who appeared by telephone.  Claimant exhibit number one (Vendor Quick Report) 

and Claimant exhibit number two (untitled document detailing vehicle allowance) were offered 

and received into the record; however are already found within the Agency file. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Michael Hearing, employee, filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor on November 10, 2008.  He claimed one thousand dollars 

($1,000.00) in unpaid vehicle allowance earned during his employment spanning from April 28, 

2008 through October 28, 2008.  The Labor Standards Division, after an investigation, issued a 

Preliminary Wage Determination Order on April 2, 2009, finding that Hearing was owed one 

thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  Nighthawk Vacuum Services filed an appeal of this finding on 

April 13, 2009.   

 Mr. Hearing testified he began his employment with Nighthawk Vacuum Services 

on or about April 28, 2008.  His vehicle was used for his employment, and the untitled document 

previously referred to as Claimant’s exhibit two shows his “personal vehicle in service date” as 



April 28, 2008.  His employment ended on or about October 28, 2008.  Claimant exhibit number 

one (Vendor Quick Report) indicates that Mr. Hearing was paid four Auto Allowance payments, 

beginning on July 28, 2008, and paid on the 28th day of the following three months.  Mr. Hearing 

testified that the basis of his claim is for the auto allowance of May and June at five hundred 

dollars ($500.00) per month for a total of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), although the 

documentation in the claim file indicates an established allowance of six hundred fifty dollars 

($650.00) per month.  Ms. Duplantis directed questions to Mr. Hearing regarding the execution 

of the document.  Mr. Hearing acknowledged that the document was signed by his supervisor, 

Adam Grimes, and by Lou Anders in July, but backdated with an effective date of April 28.   

Nighthawk Vacuum Services representative, Mary Ella Duplantis, offered testimony 

indicating all vehicle allowances are subject to final approval by her, and that her approval of the 

allowance was not effective until July 8, and that payments were made thereafter.  She further 

testified that she had no knowledge of the allowance beginning in the amount of five hundred 

dollars ($500.00).   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1.    Upon application of either an employer or employee, the Director of the Department of 

Labor or any person authorized by the director shall have authority to inquire into, hear, and 

decide disputes arising from wages earned and shall allow or reject any deduction from wages.  

Ark. Code Ann. 11-4-303(a). 

 2.    After final hearing by the director or person appointed by him, a copy of findings and facts 

and any award shall be filed in the office of the Department of Labor.  Ark. Code Ann. 11-4-

303(b). 
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 3.    The amount of the award of the director shall be presumed to be the amount of wages, if 

any, due and unpaid to the employee.  Ark. Code Ann. 1-4-303(c). 

 4.    The wage claimant carries the burden of proof for any claim of unpaid wages. 

 5.    The employer carries the burden of proof for any set-off or affirmative defense. 

 6.     In the present case, the documents in the record, which were provided by the Respondent,  

indicate Mr. Hearing was approved for a vehicle allowance in the amount of six hundred fifty 

dollars ($650.00) per month, beginning on April 28, 2008.  The Respondent has not provided 

documentation or evidence disputing the approved beginning date for this allowance.  Payments 

did not commence until July 28, 2008, leaving the May and June allowance unpaid. 

THERFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERD that judgment is entered for the 

claimant for two (2) months of vehicle allowance payments in the amount of five hundred dollars 

($500.00) each as claimed, for a total of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  The Respondent is 

directed to issue a check payable to Mr. Hearing in the amount of one thousand dollars 

($1,000.00) within ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order and mailed to the Department of 

Labor. 

        
James L. Salkeld 

       Director of Labor 
 
        

BY: _______________________________ 
       Danny R. Williams 
       Administrative Law Judge 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
DATE:       Little Rock, AR  72205 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

PAMELA STEWART                           CLAIMANT 
 
vs.         CASE NO. 2009-0002 
 
DANIELLE N. HOOVER, INC. d/b/a/             RESPONDENT 
AESTHETIQUE SKIN CARE CENTER 
POOL OF BETHESDA DAY SPA 
 

ORDER  
 

 This matter came for hearing on Wednesday, February 4, 2009 in the offices of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor.  The hearing was set for 11:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at 

approximately 11:15 a.m.  The Respondent appeared and was represented by Ginger Amaral.  

The Claimant appeared not.  The Claimant contacted the office of the Department of Labor at 

approximately 8:30 a.m. on this day and notified the Administrative Services Division that she 

was not prepared to appear and would most likely not be present.  As of the time the hearing 

commenced, no additional contact was made by the Claimant.   THEREFORE, this matter is 

hereby dismissed with prejudice. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
                 BY:_______________________________ 
       MARK MARTIN 
       APPOINTED HEARING OFFICER 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 
 

DON BIRCH        CLAIMANT 
 
vs.    CASE NO. WC2008050020 
 
SCHUMACHER HOMES OF ARKANSAS, INC.  RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Friday, September 12, 

2008 at 10:00 a.m.  The claimant appeared in person and the employer appeared by telephone 

and was represented by Brenda Renicker, Human Resource Manager. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Don Birch was employed by Schumacher Homes of Arkansas, Inc. as a New Home 

Consultant.  He began work on December 17, 2007 and his last day of employment was Monday, 

April 14, 2008.  On April 22, 2008, the claimant filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards 

Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor.  He claimed that he was owed $940.01 in net 

wages for work performed March 29, 2008 through April 14, 2008.  The Labor Standards 

Division investigated the claim and issued a Preliminary Wage Determination Order on June 2, 

2008 finding that Mr. Birch was owed wages in the amount of $230.84.   

 The Labor Standards investigator determined that Mr. Birch had not been paid minimum 

wage and overtime for 86 hours of work from March 29 through April 14, 2008 in the amount of 

$556.28.  The investigator deducted from this amount the gross amount of $325.44 which was 

paid by Schumacher Homes to Mr. Birch on April 25, 2008 as payment of accrued vacation. 

 The respondent tendered to the Department of Labor and to the order of Mr. Birch a 

paycheck in the gross amount of $230.84.  Mr. Birch timely appealed the Preliminary Wage 

Determination.   



 Mr. Birch signed a contract at the time of hire which set out the terms of his employment, 

including his compensation.  Specifically, the contract provided that he was to be paid a base or 

guaranteed salary of $577 per week for 13 weeks, or a total of $7500.00.  The salary was to be 

paid on a bi-weekly basis.  The salary was to cease “[b]eginning on Day 91” and Mr. Birch was 

to be compensated solely on commissions. 

 The respondent paid the claimant gross wages of $577 per week for 13 weeks.  Mr. Birch 

continued to work for 4 weeks and one day, March 16, 2008 through April 14, 2008.  While 

there was some discussion between the parties about whether Mr. Birch would continue to 

receive a salary for some additional time, his written contract was never formally revised.  On 

April 14, 2008 Mr. Birch was advised that he would not receive any additional compensation.  

He terminated his employment after 2 hours of work that day.  He received no compensation for 

the period of work from March 16, 2008 through April 14, 2008.  

 After filing his wage claim, Mr. Birch was paid on April 25, 2008, the sum of $325.44 for 

accrued vacation. 

 The evidence from the parties conflicts with respect to the exact number of hours Mr. 

Birch worked from March 16, 2008 through April 14, 2008.  The evidence is clear, however, that 

Mr. Birch’s regular schedule of work was 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, for a total of 40 

hours per week.  Sunday and Wednesday were his days off.  Mr. Birch worked 162 hours from 

March 16, 2008 through April 14, 2008 for which he has not been compensated. 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 1. Upon application of either an employer or employee, the Director of the 

Department of Labor, or any person authorized by the director, shall have authority to inquire 
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into, hear, and decide disputes arising from wages earned and shall allow or reject any deduction 

from wages. Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-303(a). 

 2. The wage claimant carries the burden of proof for any claim of unpaid wages.  

 3. The employer carries the burden of proof for any set-off or affirmative defense. 

 4. In the present case, the employer paid the claimant all wages due under the 

written employment contract.  The only issue is whether the employer is obligated to pay Mr. 

Birch minimum wage. 

 5. The Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-20 et seq., requires 

most employers to pay nonexempt employees a minimum wage of not less than $6.25 per hour 

and overtime at 1 ½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 

hours per workweek.  Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-210 and -211.   

 6. In the present case, the respondent has not claimed any exemption, but merely 

relies on the signed contract.  The right to payment of minimum wage is a statutory right that can 

not be waived or released or contracted away.  Brooklyn Sav. Bank v. O’Neil, 324 U. S. 697, 707 

(1945)(applying the federal minimum wage law).  See also ADL Labor Standards Regulation 

010.14-112 which provides “The department may rely on the interpretations of the U. S. 

Department of Labor and federal precedent established under the Fair Labor Standards Act in 

interpreting and applying the provisions of the [state] Act.” 

 7. Commission salespersons are exempt from payment of minimum wage only if 

they are involved in outside sales.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-203(1)(A) excludes from the 

definition of “Employee” for purposes of the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, any individual 

employed as “an outside commission-paid salesperson who customarily performs his or her 

services away from his or her employer’s premises taking orders for goods or services.”   
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 8. In the present case, the claimant was employed by Schumacher Homes as a New 

Home Consultant working in the employer’s “design center”.  In fact, part of his job 

responsibility was to ensure that the design center was neat and clean.  There is no evidence that 

he was an outside sales employee.  “The outside sales employee is an employee who makes sales 

at the customer’s place of business or, if selling door-to-door, at the customer’s home.”  29 

C.F.R.  541.502, adopted by ADL Labor Standards Regulation 010.14-106(B)(1)(a).   

 9. The respondent owes the claimant for 162 hours of work from March 16, 2008 

through April 14, 2008 at minimum wage, or a total of $1012.50 in gross wages. 

 IT IS THEREFORE CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that Schumacher Homes of 

Arkansas, Inc. shall pay Don Birch wages in the gross amount of $1012.50. 

 

      JAMES L. SALKELD 
      DIRECTOR OF LABOR 
 
 
 
      By:__________________________________ 
      C. J. Acklin, Administrative Law Judge 
      Arkansas Department of Labor 
      10421 West Markham 
      Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
DATE:_____________________ 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

VIRGINIA SCOTT         CLAIMANT 
 
vs.         CASE NO.  2008-020024 
 
A TASTE OF ITALY             RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  
 

 The record in this case indicates that the case was originally set for hearing on October 

13, 2008 and subsequently continued due a medical emergency on the part of the Respondent.  

This matter was reset for final hearing on this Friday, November 21, 2008 at the offices of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor.  Both parties were duly notified of the resetting via certified mail 

with return receipt requested, along via regular mail, to the permanent addresses listed in the file.  

The hearing was set for 1:00 p.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 1:15 p.m.  Neither 

party has appeared for the hearing.  The Claimant in this matter carries the burden of proof and 

her appearance is necessary to prevail.  Extensive efforts have been made to contact the 

Claimant.  All telephone calls have gone unanswered and unreturned, and all Certified Mailings 

have been returned as unclaimed. 

 THEREFORE, this matter is hereby dismissed with prejudice. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
                 BY:_______________________________ 
       Don Cash 
       Appointed Hearing Officer 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
CASE NO. WH2008-005 

 
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR                           AGENCY 
 
vs.         Case No. WH2008-006 
 
McDONALDS OF HARRISON                            RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER 
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on September 18, 2008.  

McDonalds of Harrison (hereafter referred to as “McDonald’s”) has appealed the finding of the 

Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of Labor (hereafter referred to as the “LS 

Division”) that they are in violation of Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210 (Minimum Wage).  The 

Agency was represented by the Honorable Daniel Faulkner.  McDonalds was represented by the 

Honorable James D. Sprott.  Kathy Dilbeck, Labor Standards Investigator, and Tom Hudson, 

Labor Standards Administrator, testified on behalf of the LS Division.  Jay Herrin testified on 

behalf of McDonald’s.  Agency Exhibit number one (Administrative Regulations Pertaining to 

the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, June 2007), Agency Exhibit number two (inspection report 

completed by Kathy Dilbeck), Respondent Exhibit number one (list of employee charges), 

Respondent Exhibit number two (proposed revision of amounts owed) and Respondent Exhibit 

number three (copy of McDonald’s policies) were offered and accepted into the record. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

McDonald’s of Harrison is a fast food chain restaurant, owned by Herrin Land Company, 

which operates at 1314 North Main Street in Harrison, Arkansas.  On or about May 12, 2008, Labor 

Standards Investigator Kathy Dilbeck performed a routine inspection of McDonald’s by inspecting 

payroll and time records.  Ms. Dilbeck testified that her inspection included records from October 1, 2006 

through May 2, 2008 and that her determination was that McDonald’s was in violation of Ark. Code Ann. 



§ 11-4-210.  Ms. Dilbeck testified that it was her finding that employee meal charges were being deducted 

from wages and, as a result of those deductions, the final paycheck after those deductions reflected a 

wage rate that, averaged over the number of hours worked, calculated to be less than five dollars and 

ninety-five cents ($5.95) per hour.  The record reflects that the investigator allowed credit of thirty cents 

($0.30) per hour according to the allowance set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-213.  The total calculation 

by the investigator for these violations is four thousand, two hundred fifty-nine dollars and four cents 

($4,259.04) for fifty seven employees.  Labor Standards Administrator Tom Hudson offered testimony 

consistent and comparable to that of Ms. Dilbeck.   

Jay Herrin testified the practice of McDonald’s prior to the investigation was to allow employees 

to “charge” food that they chose to purchase for personal meals.  As outlined in Respondent Exhibit 3 

(McDonald’s policy), employees’ meals are discounted by fifty percent, regardless of whether or not they 

are purchased during a shift, and that the meal may be charged and withheld from the employee’s 

paycheck.  These charges were documented by within a handwritten spreadsheet which shows rate of pay, 

hours worked and total food deductions.  Mr. Herrin also provided a revised calculation that he proposed, 

in the event that the Administrative Law Judge found that the employees in question were underpaid.  

This calculation, labeled Respondent Exhibit Number two, appears to be a figure arrived to by deducting 

employee charges made off duty, in addition to an adjustment to minimum wage for student employees.  

However, no student eligibility certificates were offered as evidence, and furthermore, the student rate 

was not being paid to those employees.   

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 The employer herein did withhold more than the allowable amount pursuant to A.C.A. § 11-4-

213, although there was no willful intent to violate the code by the employer.  However, in 

accordance with Administrative Regulations of the Labor Standards Division, Rule Number 010.14-112, 

“the department may rely on the interpretations of the U.S. Department of Labor and federal precedent 

established under the Fair labor Standards Act in interpreting and applying provisions of the Act and Rule 



010-14-100 through -113.”  It has long been recognized that the protection afforded by the Fair Labor 

Standards Act may not be waived by agreement between employer and employee.  Brooklyn Bank v. 

O'Neil, 1945, 324 U.S. 697, 65 S. Ct. 895, 89 L. Ed. 1296.   

THEREFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the employer, McDonald’s, shall issue 

payment for a total sum of four thousand, two hundred fifty-nine dollars and four cents ($4,259.04).  

Payment drafts shall be issued to the employees in the respective amounts as detailed on page two (2) and 

three (3) of Agency exhibit two (2) and mailed to the Department of Labor.  Payment shall be issued 

within ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order. 

 

IT IS SO ORDERED 

        James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
        

BY: _______________________________ 
       C.J. Acklin, Administrative Law Judge 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
DATE:       Little Rock, AR  72205 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
CASE NO. WH2008-005 

 
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR              PETITIONER 
 
vs. 
 
J.L.S. & K. INC., and LYN’S DARI-DELITE, INC.           RESPONDENT 
d/b/a DARI-DELITE 
 

ORDER 
 

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on September 18, 2008.  

J.L.S. & K. Inc. and Lyn’s Dari-Delite, Inc. d/b/a Dari-Delite (hereafter referred to as “Dari 

Delite”) has appealed the finding of the Labor Standards Division of the Arkansas Department of 

Labor (hereafter referred to as the “LS Division”) that they are in violation of  Ark. Code Ann. § 

11-4-210 (Minimum Wage).  The LS Division was represented by the Honorable Daniel 

Faulkner.  Dari Delite was represented by owner Lyn Warden, appearing on her own behalf.  

Kathy Dilbeck, Labor Standards Investigator, and Tom Hudson, Labor Standards Administrator, 

testified on behalf of the LS Division.  Melissa Jones and Doris Davis testified on behalf of Dari 

Delite.  Agency Exhibit number one (Administrative Regulations Pertaining to the Arkansas 

Minimum Wage Act, June 2007), Agency Exhibit number two (Administrative Regulations 

Pertaining to the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act, September, 1979), Agency Exhibit number 

three (inspection report completed by Kathy Dilbeck), Agency Exhibit number four (minimum 

wage poster, June 2007), Respondent Exhibit number one (Statutes Regulating Wages and Hours 

in Arkansas, October 2006), and Respondent Exhibit number two (verification of enrollment for 

employed students) were offered and accepted into the record. 

 

 



FINDINGS OF FACT 

 Lyn Warden is the owner of Dari Delite, a restaurant operating at 1315 East Walnut 

Street, Paris, Arkansas.  Dari Delite was previously incorporated under the name of “J.L.S. & K. 

Inc.”  Following a divorce involving Ms. Warden on or about January 2006, J.L.S. & K. Inc. was 

dissolved, and the business was purchased and incorporated under Lyn’s Dari-Delite, Inc.   

 Dari Delite customarily employs young adults as well as minors.  On or about March 4, 

2008, Labor Standards Investigator Kathy Dilbeck performed an inspection following the receipt 

of a complaint alleging wage and hour violations.  Ms. Dilbeck testified her inspection of records 

included those dating from the purchase of the business in January 2006 through January 2008 

and her determination was that Dari Delite was in violation of Child Labor Regulation 2.6 and 

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210.   

Ms. Dilbeck testified it was her finding that proper records were not being maintained, as 

the time cards were relinquished to the employees along with the corresponding paycheck.  A 

record of the hours worked was not being kept as required by Arkansas Administrative 

Regulations Pertaining to Child Labor, Section 600, section 2.6.  Although the record-keeping 

violation was noted in the investigation, no penalty was assessed for the infraction. 

Ms. Dilbeck further testified Dari Delite was paying employees who were students at a 

reduced minimum wage rate as allowable by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210 (b).  However, she also 

found that while the reduced rate was being paid, the employer failed to obtain certificates of 

eligibility as required by Administrative Regulation 010.14-103 (A)(1)(a).  The employer 

acknowledged that she had not obtained the certificates, but in an effort to support her position 

that payment of the reduced rate was proper, provided verification that the students in question 

were, in fact, enrolled on a full-time basis at one of two high schools in the area (Paris High 



School and Scranton High School).  Ms. Warden’s testimony was that it was her understanding 

that the reduced rate was allowable on the basis that the employees in question were students, 

and she was unaware of a regulation requiring she obtain a certificate of eligibility prior to 

adjustment being made to the wage rate.  

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 The purpose of the Department of Labor shall be to foster, promote, and develop the 

welfare of the wage earner of Arkansas, to improve their working conditions, and to advance 

their opportunities for profitable employment.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-2-101.   The Director shall 

have the power to make, modify, or repeal such rules, or changes in rules, as he may deem 

necessary to carry out the provisions of this subchapter.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-2-110 (b).  The 

rules of the director shall have the force and effect of law, and shall be enforced by the director 

in the same manner as the provisions of this subchapter.  Ark. Code Ann. § 11-2-110 (d).  

Further regulatory authority in minimum wage is granted the Director pursuant to Ark. Code 

Ann. § 11-2-209. 

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210, prior to October 1, 2006, mandated Arkansas minimum 

wage to be $5.15 per hour.  Minimum wage, beginning October 1, 2006, became $6.25 per hour.  

Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-210 subsection (b) allows an employer to pay full-time students at a rate 

equal to but not less than 85% of the minimum wage. The student rate would be $4.38 per hour 

prior to October 1, 2006 and $5.32 per hour thereafter.  Former Administrative Regulation 11 

required an employer to, “…obtain authorization from the Director to employ any full-time 

student at less than the applicable minimum wage…evidenced by a certificate of eligibility to be 

issued by the Director.”     Administrative Regulation 11.1 and 11.2.   Current Administrative 

Regulation 010.14-103 requires, “The employer has, in advance of employment at less that the 



applicable minimum wage rate, a full-time student certificate issued by the department.”  

Administrative Regulation 010.14-103 (a.). 

All parties agree the employees herein were full-time students as defined by the Code.  

All parties agree the employer did not procure either a “certificate of eligibility” or a “student 

certificate” as required by the Regulation.   The employer is in compliance with Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 11-4-210.  The employer is not in compliance with Administrative Regulation 010.14-103.  

There were forty-eight employees paid as students.  The employer is a small business in a small 

town with minimal employees and income.  The A.L.J. finds the employer has violated the 

regulation forty-eight times, there being forty-eight students without certificates.  The employer 

is required to pay the minimum fine of fifty dollars ($50.00) per violation for a total fine of 

twenty-four hundred dollars ($2,400.00).   

Additionally, while reviewing the Department’s Exhibit 3 it is evident the following 

employees were paid below the minimum allowable rate.  To wit: 

Brittany Baumgartner $5.98 Rebecca Becker $4.84 Mikka Berg $6.85 

Marcus Brown $0.39 Molly Bunch $2.89 Kelby Chambers $1.75 

Amanda Cordell $6.37 Ashley Coy $2.29 Brandi Forst $1.10 

Christopher Hayden $0.34 Tiffany Hill $3.65 Catlin Huber $2.20 

Nick Hughes $6.80 Alaina Kaelin $4.76 Christin Kampmann $4.25 

Dylan Lowe $2.94 Ryan Nicholas $1.95 Lisa Ralph $0.80 

Danny Wilks $2.85 



WHEREFORE the employer is ordered to submit funds to the Department in the sum of 

$62.00 to be paid to these employees.  Payment shall be issued within ten (10) days of the receipt 

of this Order.   

FURTHER the employer is ordered to make arrangements with the Department within 

ten (10) days for the payment of the civil penalty in the amount of $2,400.00 

The motion of the Agency to correct the style of the case is granted. 

IT IS SO ORDERED 

        James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
        

BY:_______________________________ 
       C.J. Acklin, Administrative Law Judge 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
DATE:       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

SARAH CAPLE         CLAIMANT 
 
vs.         CASE NO.  2008-018 
 
RK COLLECTIONS              RESPONDENT 
  

ORDER  
 

 The record in this case indicates that the case was originally set for hearing on November 

21, 2008 and subsequently continued at the request of the respondent due to a medical 

emergency.  This matter was reset for final hearing on this Monday, December 15, 2008 at the 

offices of the Arkansas Department of Labor.  Both parties were duly notified of the resetting.  

The claimant was notified via certified mail with return receipt requested to the permanent 

addresses listed in the file and the respondent was notified via confirmed facsimile and US Mail.  

The hearing was set for 9:00 a.m.  The hearing convened at approximately 9:30 a.m.  Neither 

party has appeared for the hearing.  The Claimant in this matter carries the burden of proof and 

her appearance is necessary to prevail.   

 THEREFORE, this matter is hereby dismissed without prejudice. 

 IT IS SO ORDERED. 

       James L. Salkeld 
       Director of Labor 
 
                 BY:_______________________________ 
       MARK MARTIN 
       APPOINTED HEARING OFFICER 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
       Little Rock, AR  72205 
 
 
 
DATE:      



BEFORE THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 

JOHN WINEMILLER                               CLAIMANT 
 
vs.     CASE NO. 2008-0046 
 
STEPHEN’S JEWELERS                  RESPONDENT 
 

ORDER  

 This matter came before the Arkansas Department of Labor on Monday, January 5, 2009.  

Stephen’s Jewelers has appealed an agency finding that unpaid wages are due to Mr. John 

Winemiller.  Mr. Winemiller appeared in person on his own behalf.  Stephen’s Jewelers was 

represented by Stephen Kirsch, who appeared by telephone.  No exhibits were offered at the time 

of the hearing.  The claim file was accepted into the record with no objections. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 John Winemiller, employee, filed a wage claim with the Labor Standards Division of the 

Arkansas Department of Labor on July 9, 2008.  He claimed four hundred dollars ($400.00) in 

unpaid vacation time earned during his employment spanning from May 8, 2006 through May 

31, 2008.  The Labor Standards Division, after an investigation, issued a Preliminary Wage 

Determination Order on September 19, 2008 finding that Winemiller was owed four hundred 

dollars ($400.00).  Stephen’s Jewelers filed an appeal of this finding on September 22, 2008.   

 Mr. Winemiller’s testimony was that he was claiming one week of unused 

vacation time that was earned after completion of his second year of employment at Stephen’s 

Jewelers.  He indicated that he had earned two weeks of vacation time and had taken one week 

off prior to his termination.  He stated that his contention was that he was entitled to the second 

week of vacation time.   



Stephen’s Jewelers representative, Stephen Kirsch, offered testimony congruous to the 

employer response in the claim file, stating that the position of the employer is that vacation is 

prorated after termination and that Stephen’s Jewelers did not owe any unpaid time to Mr. 

Winemiller.  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1.    Upon application of either an employer or employee, the Director of the Department of 

Labor or any person authorized by the director shall have authority to inquire into, hear, and 

decide disputes arising from wages earned and shall allow or reject any deduction from wages.  

Ark. Code Ann. 11-4-303(a). 

 2.    After final hearing by the director or person appointed by him, a copy of findings and facts 

and any award shall be filed in the office of the Department of Labor.  Ark. Code Ann. 11-4-

303(b). 

 3.    The amount of the award of the director shall be presumed to be the amount of wages, if 

any, due and unpaid to the employee.  Ark. Code Ann. 1-4-303(c). 

 4.    The wage claimant carries the burden of proof for any claim of unpaid wages. 

 5.    The employer carries the burden of proof for any set-off or affirmative defense. 

 6.     In the present case, the documents in the record indicate Stephen’s Jewelers had a policy in 

effect regarding vacation time.  The policy states “After two years of service, the employee is 

granted two weeks of paid vacation.  If an employee resigns or is terminated vacation pay will be 

prorated.”  After review of the handbook language, the policy in effect clearly states that two 

weeks of paid time is awarded upon completion of two years of service.  It is the opinion of the 

Hearing Officer that the language regarding proration of vacation time applies solely to years of 

service that had not been fully completed.  The Hearing Officer further concludes that Mr. 
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Winemiller had completed two years of service and should have been granted two weeks of paid 

vacation in accordance with the handbook.   

THERFORE, IT IS CONSIDERED AND ORDERD that judgment is entered for the 

claimant for 40 hours of vacation time at ten dollars ($10.00) per hour.  The Respondent is 

directed to issue a check payable to Mr. Winemiller in the amount of four hundred dollars 

($400.00) within ten (10) days of the receipt of this Order and mailed to the Department of 

Labor. 

        
James L. Salkeld 

       Director of Labor 
 
        

BY: _______________________________ 
       Mark Martin, Appointed Hearing Officer 
       Arkansas Department of Labor 
       10421 West Markham 
DATE:       Little Rock, AR  72205 


